Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 15:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How do I share my internet connection?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2005, 14:45    Post subject:    

Really i am the root.. thanks
So i want to share my internet connection, how can i do it easy?
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2005, 20:59    Post subject:  

Dialup? Broadband? Router modem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 05 Jun 2005, 21:52    Post subject:  

What is your set-up? (What systems connected to what)

e.g.

"I have a home network. Right now the Computer running pupy is connected to the modem. I want to share that connection with the computer running <whatever> OS"

or

"I just have two disconnected computers, one running Puppy the other running <wathever>. I only have dial-up"

or something like that.

There are several ways to share a connection. Some easier, some cheaper. some more convinient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4759
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 00:20    Post subject: A small ethernet  

Could we try the usual, small network with dial-up, usually using 192.168.0.1 as gateway. To skip the Windows interconnection problem, let us assume the other PCs are using Puppy, too.
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 04:41    Post subject:  

Puppy has a masquerade client, which is for internet sharing -- you'll find it in the network menu, but I know nothing about to use it.
ummm, it does need a masqeurade server on the PC that has the Internet connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RobertB


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Big D

PostPosted: Wed 13 Dec 2006, 22:45    Post subject:  

I've looked through all the topics that seem related to this question, but I haven't found a simple answer to the question -- how do I share an Internet connection from Puppy?

Here's my setup:

On the heavy-as-a-safe old PC:
* Puppy 2.10
* Dialup internet connection (internal modem on /dev/ttyLT0)
* Ethernet card

On the laptop:
* Puppy 1.09
* Ethernet port (known to work with other networks)

The block-of-lead PC is able to connect to the Internet (I'm using it now). When I connect the two with a crossover cable, each one sees the network as active.

What do I need to do to the PC to allow the Laptop to share its Internet connection? It seems like I need to have a DHCP server on the PC -- I'll eventually make it the "router" in a wireless network setup.

By the way, my setup would be ideally suited to Coyote Linux -- that's what I've set up on another installation. But this PC doesn't play well with Coyotes, because I haven't figured out how to configure Coyote to use the the internal modem and I can't seem to find the right NIC identifier. Besides, this gives me a chance to learn a little more networking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10948
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 00:01    Post subject:  

Puppy's networking wizard doesn't yet make this most basic connection as easy as connecting to the internet, but here and here are a few threads in the forum that might help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertB


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Big D

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 13:28    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Puppy's networking wizard doesn't yet make this most basic connection as easy as connecting to the internet, but here and here are a few threads in the forum that might help.

I'll try setting the laptop's IP address statically, if there's not an easy way to have the desktop assign one to it dynamically. Neither of those threads seems to address sharing the internet connection... but maybe it will just automagically work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10948
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 16:13    Post subject:  

I'm sorry, Robert; I didn't read your question carefully. Embarassed I guess you need a router, which I know can be implemented in Linux. I don't know how easy it is to do though. A standalone router would certainly be simpler. Maybe you can find a used one cheap, from someone who is upgrading to a faster wireless router for instance. Wireless routers seem to include ports for wired ethernet, which can be used without the wireless part.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RobertB


Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Location: Big D

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 16:54    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I'm sorry, Robert; I didn't read your question carefully. Embarassed I guess you need a router, which I know can be implemented in Linux. I don't know how easy it is to do though. A standalone router would certainly be simpler. Maybe you can find a used one cheap, from someone who is upgrading to a faster wireless router for instance. Wireless routers seem to include ports for wired ethernet, which can be used without the wireless part.

Of course it would be simpler, but what would I learn from that? Smile

I'll be able to run Coyote Linux just fine, once I figure out the name for the NIC and get an external modem. But if I can have two Puppys playing together on an Ethernet leash, it would be pretty cool.

Cheap is my middle name, by the way... the home network that I set up with Coyote Linux is an 802.11a wireless network -- because I got a great deal on "a" access points and bought four for less than 20 bucks including shipping. At least I don't have to worry about wardrivers! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 21:16    Post subject:  

Just to share my experience.
I have struggled with the same issue and wasn't able to find a software solution (as I had on my XP machine) for Internet Connection Sharing. Some firewall claimed they could do it, but I couldn't figure it out how.

Just by chance I got hold of a Philips ADSL Modem Multiservices which I use for testing Digital TV over ADSL. (after the test I may keep the modem)
The multiservices consist of a ADSL Modem, DHCP server, router, Firewall and wireless access point.

In a snap I could connect two machines at the same time to the internet, wheither they were both XP, both Puppy or one Puppy and one XP.

So the router way is certainly the easiest way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 14 Dec 2006, 22:43    Post subject: Internet connection sharing  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=9024

I had these same problems. IMHO puppy is missing this part and could serve an important role as a firewall and ICS machine, with a webbrowser and full computer suite built in! Firestarter seems ideal and follows puppy's user friendly ideology. If only I could get it to work!

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri 15 Dec 2006, 15:35    Post subject:  2 ways to try  

I'm able to connect to my good old zoom usb 56k connection in Puppy 2 ways. The first is by simply using the Linux-Firewall Wizard provided in Puppy 2.12. If you go thru the custom setup there's a yes/no page to enable internet sharing.
The second is by following the instructions here:
http://www.linuxforum.com/linux_tutorials/5/1.php
In both instances I use a static IP setup on my net card and make sure I can access my other computers thru LinNeiborhood before I enable internet sharing.
Some pages wouldn't load on my remote computer but I was checking it with my trusty Ipaq pocket pc {wireless}. Some pages just don't like WinCE. I got good throughput on the pages that did load. I'll hook my laptop tomorrow to try that.
I'm a complete noob to linux and Puppy so you guys try this stuff and see.
Athlon xp1700+
768 megs ram
AOpen AON325 10/100
netopia wireless router

Compaq Ipaq 3670
SanDisk 128 meg combo wireless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 00:21    Post subject:  

Thanks bobbyok

That is a great link, thanks. When we tried it we set it up as dhcp using the firewall wizard. This was with puppy 1.09cd so things may have been fixed since then Will test with a static IP shortly and report back. Im very nearly a newb myself (especially with networking). I think it would make a very important wizard to have in puppy (XP has it!!) that wouldnt take up much space.

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
bobbyok

Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon 18 Dec 2006, 03:42    Post subject: Internet Connection sharing  

Hey Ecomoney,
One thing I forgot to mention..on the pocket pc I had to look up and enter the primary and secondary dns numbers of my ISP.
I just double checked both methods and they work fine. I stumbled across an even easier way to set it up without a fire wall {like in the link I provided}. Just enter these 2 lines in /etc/rc.d/rc.local :
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o ppp0 -j MASQUERADE
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
It works everytime. I boot up, dial in and my connection sharing is good to go. Supposedly if you have cable or DSL you can substitute eth0 {or whatever eth your cable or dsl is connected to} for the ppp0 entry.
I'm going to go hook up my laptop now so I can check it out in XP. Will post results later.
Athlon xp1700+
768 megs ram
AOpen AON325 10/100
netopia wireless router

Compaq Ipaq 3670
SanDisk 128 meg combo wireless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0839s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]