Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 03:11
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy's fstab + ntfs-3g = error
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 17:20    Post_subject:  Puppy's fstab + ntfs-3g = error  

OK, I wanted to put my /dev/sda5 (ntfs) partition in fstab so it mounts on startup and i can mount/umount it without long cli mount options, I can still have it mounted in rc.sysinit or in ~/Startup but i think we should solve this, even if fstab is not used through puppy users (yes, click on drive icon works, and yes mounting from cli works).

So I put in fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 ntfs-3g auto,rw 0 0

Then, when I try mount command:

Code:

# mount /dev/sda5
ntfs-3g: Unknown option '-n'.
Please type '/sbin/mount.ntfs-3g --help' for more information.
#



If I change ntfs-3g to ntfs it mounts read-only
I'm doing this on dpup 477, but this happens on 4.21 also and possibly other puppy versions too

_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
dio444

Joined: 20 Nov 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 17:42    Post_subject: yup  

I duplicated this in 4.21, and 4.30. Something in puppy is passing a -n to ntfs-3g automatically when mounting from fstab. Looked around some and can't find it so far, but my wife is on my ass, I gotta go do some things. Maybe I'll look at it more later.

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 17:56    Post_subject:  

It would be nice to have a little GUI-based app to enable auto-mounting of selected (detected) partitions / drives on startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
diaeresis

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Fri 23 Oct 2009, 14:33    Post_subject:  

second, third and fourth that. It would make life soooo much easier. Please, please, please.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 08:20    Post_subject:  

Anyone has solution for fstab issue yet?
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
diaeresis

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Wed 25 Nov 2009, 14:56    Post_subject:  

on bugtracker
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
hexdef101

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 18:08    Post_subject:  

I don't know if this has been solved yet but instaid of using fstab edit .xinitrc
add ntfs-3g (drive location) (mount point) just above the line
#exec currentwm
this will do the same thing as editing fstab
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 18:13    Post_subject:  

Thanks hexdef101 I know that I said I could put it in rc.sysinit ot .xinitrc or /root/Startup but this is bug with fstab.
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
hexdef101

Joined: 13 Sep 2009
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 18:26    Post_subject:  

oops sorry i just scanned your post. have you tried the ntfs-3g-2009.4.4-p4.pet from http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4. thats where i got mine but as i don't use fstab for this i cannot say if it has been fixed or not
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 07:12    Post_subject:  

@dejan
if i remember right, mount is a script. look at /usr for it. i think it's a wrapper for busybox's mount, so maybe this causes your problems.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2720
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 07:26    Post_subject:  

thanks, I'll take a look.
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0558s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0037s) ][ GZIP on ]