Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 17:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Puppy Multiuser Support
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
sankarv

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 16:01    Post subject:  Puppy Multiuser Support
Subject description: Steps for tuning Puppy to provide multi root users support

Puppy Linux - Multiuser made easy
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have been using Puppy for long time over 4 years but this multiuser problem has made me quite concerned as it takes puppy as a complete os for all solutions.

Though i am not an expert on this are but still i just thought of giving it a try and i could come up with multi-user support where each user is just another root.

Yes its that way.

To state that this support is more with ICEWM window manager, so its better to have that installed by root initially.

And to mention i tried this with only harddisk installed pup.

Adding new user using:

adduser -u 1000 -G root -S -h /home/user -s /bin/bash user

Then i just edited the /etc/passwd file for the uid field of 'user' to 0, to avoid all permission conflicts.

Thats done infact.

However i do not have any window manager configurations or .xinitrc configs in my home folder for the user.

For that i copied .xinitrc file from /root to my /home/user folder.

Again on checking within the .xinitrc file in /home/user folder, i modified the same with the file/dir names to reside from /home/user instead of /root path.

For. eg. replaced /root/.xset.sh with /home/user/.xset.sh, etc.