Make Puppy recover automatically from improper shutdowns

How to do things, solutions, recipes, tutorials
SilverPuppy

Make Puppy recover automatically from improper shutdowns

#1 Post by SilverPuppy »

I do computers for a living, and using Puppy to make computers usable that most people think are landfill anchors is very fun to me. I started on that kick last winter (I live in a seasonal area and winter is really dead....) and I continue with it to this day. This posting is coming to you from a computer running Puppy 4.1.2 using Firefox 3.5.3.....all on a Pentium II-350mhz w/ 160mb RAM. It's a full HD installation. It runs so well that once I get on it, I'm just zipping along, doing this, clicking that, and I often forget that it's actually not my main computer until the internet hangs up, since it comes through my main computer and is shared from there.

Anyway, I get these computers all snazzed up and ready to play ball, and then pawn them off on old people who want in on this computer thing. More often than not, sooner or later, something doesn't go as expected and they freak out and just turn them off. Stock, Puppy doesn't recover from this well. It'll hem and haw in the driver initialization phase, then end at a # bash prompt and await user intervention. Invariably that user intervention is a phone call to me. :shock: I wanted to put an end to that little problem.

Actually, under 4.1.2 (my all-time favorite Puppy so far) this creates several problems. First of all, it leaves them X-less, and computer-illiterate people don't like the absence of a GUI so well. Second, if you type "startx" to coax X back to life, some things won't work right until it's rebooted again, such as USB. Third, it would be a good idea to do a "fsck" to make sure that nothing got its feathers ruffled by being dumped in a pile, but that's not easy to do safely without a LiveCD.