Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 17:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
dpup-482beta testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 63 [938 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 12:55    Post subject:  

Hi gposil,

I want to report a little problem with the locale settings view, the description for all the es_xx data is wrong.

It says: es_AR: Mexican, Argentina; es_CO: Mexican, Columbia and so on. It´s wrong in Latin-America, Spain and other countries we speak "Spanish", then the correct description is es_AR: Spanish, Argentina.

Only people from Mexico speaks "Mexican".

Thank your for the attention pleased,
clarf.
es_error_locale_settings.jpg
 Description   Wrong locale description for all es_xx
 Filesize   137.81 KB
 Viewed   524 Time(s)

es_error_locale_settings.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 13:04    Post subject:  

About cutting off the fat in dpup.

I want to request the inclusion of tighvnc to the Network utilities Menu, It´s a basic Administrative tool that should be included for importance and small size. I think its package sieze is even smaller the actual VPN client included in dpup, also tightvnc as their name indicates use compressed connections that are lighter/tighter than conventional VNC connections.

I use Debian distributions mainly for old Server and it´s a basic tool that should be included in any Debian base, including this one.

Please, consider my request. The latest version is 1.3.10.

http://www.tightvnc.com/

Greetings,
clarf

Last edited by clarf on Sun 11 Oct 2009, 10:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 13:48    Post subject:  

clarf, believe it or not in mexico they speak spanish also.

gposil, i understand the request to have num lock automatically on b/c keyboards with number pads need it on but my laptop does not have a seperate number pad and so when numlock is on it uses my letter keys for numbers. is there any chance of making that a setup switch? thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 14:45    Post subject:  

I was finally able to get a full install with 482 Beta 3. Now for some tweaking and testing.....

gposil, thanks again for all of your hard work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 16:41    Post subject:  

482 b2 is really nice, but I predict people being confused by the CUPS thing. Firefox works really nicely and accepts updates, though there is the odd very tiny bug in the display rendering.
Pwidgets works fine with it, ttcorefonts also. Hpliplite package works. Open Office is fine and quite snappy though fonts display a little light in weight. Very clear though.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 00:47    Post subject:  

Been running 482 Beta 3 off and on all day and no real problems have reared their ugly heads yet. Everything is good so far. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 483
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 08:49    Post subject:  

Installed beta 3 on USB key and running on AAO netbook.
Great mouse and wifi support.
Problem: I cant turn off numlock (F11) not responding.
Also minor issue: Mplayer runs fine from the menu, but not form desktop icon.
So far, fast and stable, keep on the good job.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up ! http://pupitup.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 10:34    Post subject:  

sinc wrote:
clarf, believe it or not in mexico they speak spanish also.

Laughing , I know sinc, should explained better myself...

DaveS wrote:
Firefox works really nicely and accepts updates, though there is the odd very tiny bug in the display rendering.

Didn't notice any display rendering. Could you give more details please?.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 10:57    Post subject:  

Here is the correct display fro Puppies 4.3



This from dpup



See the kind of bright slightly ragged area under personal toolbar?

Hard to see at this res.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 11:06    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
This from dpup

See the kind of bright slightly ragged area under personal toolbar?

Hard to see at this res.

Hmmm, I see...

I don't have that problem, could be a FireFox theme related problem?. Very rear, do you have same problem with another resolution or color depth?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 11:11    Post subject:  

clarf wrote:
DaveS wrote:
This from dpup

See the kind of bright slightly ragged area under personal toolbar?

Hard to see at this res.

Hmmm, I see...

I don't have that problem, could be a FireFox theme related problem?. Very rear, do you have same problem with another resolution or color depth?


My guess is its theme related. All other display items are fine. Slight GTK mis-match?

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 18:38    Post subject:
Subject description: Synaptic doesn't work
 

Using full install of 482sp3 on an ext4 partition. Impressive speed and stability.

Have tried Synaptic which will not work for me. Regardless of package selected to install, after the download and as soon as package installation starts, I get an error "Could not perform immediate configuration (2) on libc6".

Another problem, when adding other repositories and their known good public key, I keep getting a notice that the Public key is not available.

Question, shouldn't the partition the full hd installation is on be mounted and remain mounted?

Good news for kde 3.5 enthusiasts, ppm installed kde 3.5.9 from the debian lenny repositories which appears to be working fine. It start normally by exiting to the prompt and entering "xwin startkde". However, the kde installation broke the reboot/shutdown code even when you go back to jdm, therefore, I need to wipe the installation and reinstall.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 20:58    Post subject:  

AFAIK, there should be a Synaptic patch being released soon. I ran into the same problems with 477 so I'll wait for the fix...... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 21:36    Post subject:  

Yes, i'll have the fixed Synaptic up soon, just finishing off the base install database...please be patient, it is a big job.

If you want to keep Firefox in theme with dpup's own theme, I suggest you get Chromifox Basic from the Firefox theme download area...this Firefox Theme will be the default on the next release.



Cheers
ffchrome.jpg
Description  New default FF theme
jpg

 Download 
Filename  ffchrome.jpg 
Filesize  42.62 KB 
Downloaded  498 Time(s) 

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 00:19    Post subject:  

I installed one of the best time-wasting applications of all time to 482 Beta 3......Gweled.

Clicked on the menu entry........no good. Used the terminal......no good. PPM had made a new directory at /usr/games/, moved contents to /usr/local/bin/ and Gweled launches from the menu.

Otherwise everything working well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 63 [938 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0913s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0161s) ][ GZIP on ]