Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 11:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
dpup-482beta testing
Moderators: BarryK, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 19 of 63 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 13:25    Post_subject:  

Hi boys,

I have this kernel panic error at boot using VMWare and dpup-482 beta3.

I can boot with RAM only parameter and create my pupsave file at shutdown. I also can access to dpup, choose the created pupsave file and work but after a new boot I get this error:

Any idea?

Greetings,
clarf
dpup_482-beta3-boot_error.gif
 Description   dpup crash at boot - init kernel panik
 Filesize   27.32 KB
 Viewed   285 Time(s)

dpup_482-beta3-boot_error.gif


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 13:35    Post_subject:  

re.Abiword 2.8

This is what I get on opening an .odt file (Open Office 3.0).

Also a similar jumble when I open a .doc file generated by Open Office 3.
Abiw2-6Odt.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.5 KB
 Viewed   785 Time(s)

Abiw2-6Odt.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Here's a test of Abiword vs Microsoft Word 2000.

The document was created in Abiword and opened in Word.

The line made of underline characters in Abi breaks and wraps when viewed in Word.

Table column widths are not consistent in Abi after a save and re-open -they were originally all the same width. Word does show them as the same width.

Typestyles are not preserved -- even for the simplest translation of serif to serif font -- as web browsers do when unable to locate an exact font match.

I do technical writing and occasional resumes for people. This kind of thing will wreak havoc with document formatting when carried through several pages of carefully prepared documentation.

Unfortunately such documents are all handled electronically now, so the sender is unaware of the impression he/she has created in the recipient. The recipient is unaware that the document was prepared on a non-MS word program. They just assume it's a mess. People lose job opportunities over this kind of thing. And they don't even know why.

Unfortunately all non-Microsoft generated .doc programs have these problems -- Open Office, too. They simply cannot be used for the purpose of sending .doc files in any professional or publications setting -- even though .doc compatibility is a major drawing point for the software.

I had hoped Abiword would have solve this in the latest version. I hope the same for every OO version as well. But even basic text formatting has never been really compatible.

I think that with things the way they are, a copy of the latest version of Wine is of great value to any serious word processing professional, much as I wish that wasn't true, so compatible documents can be generated for publishing.

I put Wine on my puplet MediaPup, and I wonder if any official Puppy will ever carry it as well?

This is the only area where I think Linux cannot replace MS. Unless OO or someone else really makes the effort.
abi-msword.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.71 KB
 Viewed   796 Time(s)

abi-msword.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 17:56    Post_subject:  

Hmmm.

Run action for a *.jpg file is set to "defaultpaint". Can we change that to "defaultimageviewer" by default? And while on the topic, "defaultimageviewer" is set to "gview", can we change that to "fotox"? (I have Smile )

Another thing, /etc/puppyversion is still the old "476". Barry says it is deprecated, but I still find it useful. To create (ie update) it run..
Code:
grep "DISTRO_VERSION=" /etc/DISTRO_SPECS | cut -d "=" -f2 | awk '{print $1}' > /etc/puppyversion
in a terminal.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 855
Location: SE

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 19:48    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
I have fixed this problem in beta5..I think, at least it doesn't do it for me anymore....add the following to /etc/profile

Quote:
LC_ALL=C
export LC_ALL


Hope that fixes that...
What if one sets the locale? Haven't tried, just wondering ...
There was a similar LC-issue with 214X, a few months back.

Cheers Smile/
MHHP

_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 21:13    Post_subject:  

Ok, having a play with a wbar gui, this is only the start... just for testing and some feedback.

Extract the folder where ever you like and click "wbar-setup" script. The gui will appear with options to change wbars position and properties. By clicking apply, wbar will be restarted with your new settings.

Note:::: Icon changing has not been implemented yet! So no need to ask!!! It will be Smile

Cheers
wbarstuff.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  wbarstuff.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.4 KB 
Downloaded  207 Time(s) 
wbargui.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.87 KB
 Viewed   787 Time(s)

wbargui.jpg

wbarstuff.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   8.66 KB
 Viewed   716 Time(s)

wbarstuff.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 21:50    Post_subject:  

Nice, 01micko! You might convince me yet to use it.

But how about an option to turn it off, as well? Right now that requires script editing, and filename editing or deletion.


New different problem:

EPDF Viewer

In PDF Viewer 0.1.6 the pdf viewer gets stuck in upper left of my screen with the upper bar offscreen so I can't minimize or close it with the mouse, Worse, right clicking at the top doesn't bring up the Send To, Resize, Close, Kill menu. Possibly because the cursor can't make it to the top bar of the window. I can't seem to move it in any way.

However, I am able to right click on its tab in the bottom screen bar, then click "Move" and then get it away from the top of the screen. After that, when I open the program, it opens wherever I last left it, which is fine.

But if the initial position is where it first opens when Puppy is installed, or when first run off the CD, then it will confuse a lot of new users.

I can't be sure that's where it was on first use -- it is possible I somehow maneuvered it up there, but I don't think that was the case. Anyway, maybe a thing to check is where it opens on a new install and if possible correct that behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 22:02    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
Well guys, i've just finished compiling Abiword 2.8 in beta5, and I have got to say, I think they've got it right. It's smaller, faster and have not had a single GTK error all afternoon.


I've played around with it using a MS Word 2003 doc of over 100 pages and it passed with flying colors.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 22:10    Post_subject:  

Reading genuine MSWord docs is usually not a problem for any of these WP programs.. It's the writing where they spring up. Make some changes to the Word doc in abiword -- move some margins, type some new text into it, add a table. Then save it, and open it in MSWord, and compare the results. Sometimes even doing nothing, but re-saving a document changes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 29 Oct 2009, 23:39    Post_subject:  

vtpup,

In your Abiword tests, were you using the same fonts in both, and do you have the MS fonts installed, in my testing, having the MS fonts installed makes a world of difference.

On the epdf viewer problem, that is my fault, wherever I opened it in testing is where it was saved...ooops...i'll have to go through that and make sure the initial opening points are desktop central...

Mick

Quote:
Run action for a *.jpg file is set to "defaultpaint". Can we change that to "defaultimageviewer" by default? And while on the topic, "defaultimageviewer" is set to "gview", can we change that to "fotox"? (I have Smile )

Another thing, /etc/puppyversion is still the old "476". Barry says it is deprecated, but I still find it useful. To create (ie update) it run..

Fixed in beta5 Mick, thanks...and yes the wbar config gui would be a great addition...

Oh, and Mick the configure I used for Abiword is below:
Quote:

./configure --prefix=/usr --enable-plugins="sdw mswrite kword bmp wmf pdf openwriter"


Cheers
Guy

PS. Are there any more outstanding fixes we need to do.

_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1171
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 00:43    Post_subject:  

gposil wrote:
vtpup,
In your Abiword tests, were you using the same fonts in both, and do you have the MS fonts installed, in my testing, having the MS fonts installed makes a world of difference.


I used Times New Roman from msttcorefonts in abiword for the test below. It helped with the underline breaking, but nothing else. Notice the difference in column widths in the table, and also the row 4 height. Also notice that the Abiword shows bold text on the second entry, while MSWord doesn't.

I also just tried the same document in Open Office with Times New Roman and it exactly agrees with the MSWord interpretation, not Abiword's.

It actually looks like Abiword is misrendering its own document, since column widths were created uniform in width when the doc was written in Abiword, but when opened later showed variation in width.

Oh, well -- this isn't really your problem, as it is an app bug, not dpup's.
TNRDocTest.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.2 KB
 Viewed   890 Time(s)

TNRDocTest.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 01:43    Post_subject:  

Ok thanks for the config options Guy.

The wbar gui is coming along, it should be quite configurable, although a little complex, (so many options Rolling Eyes Laughing ). I added a button to kill wbar if you desire (ty vtpup Wink ) and I have to handle it with a few different guis,,, way to messy otherwise, I will include a detailed help file, it should not end up bigger than 10k compressed (I hope). Does anyone use wbar on the side? I didn't think so, so top and bottom are it!!



I hope to have an alpha (complete) out over the weekend for testing, so I can't see it being ready until beta 6.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2717
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 02:45    Post_subject:  

For turning wbar on/off, maybe just make startup script executable or non executable...
_________________
Dpup 487 | Puppy Gallery | My photo gallery | mtPaint works
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 05:28    Post_subject:  

Hi Dejan

My script actually deletes and replaces the startup script, so, what I plan to do is delete it, and then it is easily replaced next time if you want it back. So far it is working, just some problems with the /root/.wbar config file which will be ironed out. Wink

So far it is only 18k installed, with not much code left to go in, mostly now bugfixing. I will easy beat 10k compressed Smile .

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 30 Oct 2009, 07:08    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the work on wbar-config Mick...

New for beta5 will be a remote desktop client, for logging onto other network machines using rdp protocol...screenshot below
rdp.jpg
 Description   rdp
 Filesize   46.76 KB
 Viewed   869 Time(s)

rdp.jpg

rdp2.jpg
 Description   rdp
 Filesize   20.51 KB
 Viewed   849 Time(s)

rdp2.jpg


_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 63 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 5.x
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1060s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]