Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 31 Aug 2014, 00:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 4.43 Gu2 215M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 13:45    Post_subject: Amarok audio devices  

Hi Jim,
In KDE4, System Settings | Multimedia | tick 'Show advanced devices' | select and Defer as desired | Apply.

If that doesn't work, make a backup copy of '/root/.kde/share/config/phonondevicesrc', then edit it directly. I think you can remove the desired device by changing 'initialPreference=30' to a lower? number or changing 'deleted=false' to 'deleted=true'.
Hope that helps,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 14:48    Post_subject:  

Hi tazok,

Using KDE4, System Settings | Multimedia | tick 'Show advanced devices' | select and Defer as desired | Apply is how I discovered the driver names. The selection hasn't worked for me.

I edited '/root/.kde/share/config/phonondevicesrc' as you suggested. It didn't work, so I went out to a prompt and ran alsaconf, when I returned to the desktop, it still didn't work. Checked '/root/.kde/share/config/phonondevicesrc' and discovered that it had been automatically reset so the manual edits didn't stay. I then changed the value from 30 to 20 and rebooted. It is now working, a recheck of '/root/.kde/share/config/phonondevicesrc' shows initialPreference=20 is still there.

Rebooted again, and now it doesn't work. This is weird because the welcome and exit audio is working. Somehow, Amarok continues to try to use the wrong driver. Still need to find the driver location so I can disable the incorrect driver.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 17:34    Post_subject: fix-phonon  

Jim, I looked at the Amarok configuration files, but couldn't find a solution there. I think the kernel module snd_hda_intel is used and you could try removing it in a terminal with 'rmmod snd_hda_intel' but I'm guessing that either won't help or will break all of your audio until you restart it with 'modprobe snd_hda_intel'.

If you succeeded in editing the phonondevicesrc file, why don't we make a copy of that working version, say phonondevicesrcFIXED, then use it to overwrite the original at startup by adding the following code to '/etc/rc.d/rc.local':
Code:
cd /root/.kde/share/config/
cp -f phonondevicesrcFIXED phonondevicesrc
If that doesn't take then KDE4 must be updating the file at logon so we could make a script in /Autostart with a delay. To do that just make a copy of another script like qps-tray, name it say 'fix-phonon', edit the contents like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
sleep 15
cd /root/.kde/share/config/
cp -f phonondevicesrcFIXED phonondevicesrc

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 13:56    Post_subject: KDE4 translations for non-English-US regions  

KDE4 Translations (aka l10n) add-on for non-English-US: ar-fy 112M ga-nds 71M nl-zhtw 75M region codes

Requires LHP 4.43 + Mariner SFS + KDE4 SFS
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 17:32    Post_subject: Wireless wlan iwlagn didnt work on lighthouse pup SOLVED  

I got it working by using puppy 4.3 drivers and changing them here:

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/. Get right drivers and change them:

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/iwl3945.ko

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/iwlagn.ko

Hope this help somebody else
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jur

Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 18:24    Post_subject:  

I installed the base final version but there are some problems.

The LXDE wm does seem to start when I select this in the JWM menu, but the panel doesn't show. Also, the background isn't that what is shown at the start of the thread. Wbar doesn't start either. The desktop doesn't look even close to the screen shots.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 19:11    Post_subject:  

pemasu wrote:
I got it working by using puppy 4.3 drivers and changing them here:

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/. Get right drivers and change them:

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/iwl3945.ko

/lib/modules/2.6.30.5/kernel/drivers/net/wireless/iwlwifi/iwlagn.ko
I compared Puppy 4.30 with LHP 4.43a and both have 3 modules in that folder and are the same versions dated 1 Sept 09. Can you clarify?

jur,
This thread is for LHP 4.43a, which has the new background by Jasmac and a fix for wbar in LXDE. (Edit /Startup/wbar, inserting '-above-desk' into the exec line like this:
Code:
exec /usr/bin/wbar -above-desk -jumpf 0 -pos top -nanim 3 -zoomf 1.5 -idist 7 -isize 42 -bpress -balfa 50 &
lxpanel should start with LXDE, have you tried 'lxpanel' in a terminal?
Please post questions about LHP 4.42f at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=276639#276639
Thank you,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jur

Joined: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue 20 Oct 2009, 21:39    Post_subject:  

tazoc wrote:

jur,
This thread is for LHP 4.43a, which has the new background by Jasmac and a fix for wbar in LXDE.
.
.

Thank you,
TazOC
Oh. Oops. Didn't see the difference. Back to downloading... Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Wed 21 Oct 2009, 02:14    Post_subject: Wireless Wlan iwlagn problem clarification  

I got constantly error getting wlan up. Iwconfig wlan up announced error all the time. I checked that I was using right driver. So I chanced drivers in the folder and after that wlan worked.

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 03:50    Post_subject:  

There is no icon for the recycle bin on the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2455
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 18:29    Post_subject: Re: fix-phonon  

tazoc wrote:
Jim, I looked at the Amarok configuration files, but couldn't find a solution there. I think the kernel module snd_hda_intel is used and you could try removing it in a terminal with 'rmmod snd_hda_intel' but I'm guessing that either won't help or will break all of your audio until you restart it with 'modprobe snd_hda_intel'.

If you succeeded in editing the phonondevicesrc file, why don't we make a copy of that working version, say phonondevicesrcFIXED, then use it to overwrite the original at startup by adding the following code to '/etc/rc.d/rc.local':
Code:
cd /root/.kde/share/config/
cp -f phonondevicesrcFIXED phonondevicesrc
If that doesn't take then KDE4 must be updating the file at logon so we could make a script in /Autostart with a delay. To do that just make a copy of another script like qps-tray, name it say 'fix-phonon', edit the contents like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
sleep 15
cd /root/.kde/share/config/
cp -f phonondevicesrcFIXED phonondevicesrc


Sorry about the delay in checking this out. Unfortunately nothing worked. The only way I've succeeded in getting sound with Amarok is to exit to a prompt, run alsaconf, and reboot. It will work properly until I reboot again. I believe that something is happening in the /etc/rc.d/rc.alsa start script to cause this.

Please don't spend any more time trying to help me solve this. Amarok is working.
Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 21:17    Post_subject:  

bignono1 wrote:
There is no icon for the recycle bin on the desktop.
You're right, I'll work on that for the next release. You can click on 'File System', then on the last icon, 'Trash'.

KDE has its own recycle bin, separate from ROX-Filer's. For KDE4, click K-Menu | Favorites | Dolphin, then on the left-hand pane, Trash.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 23 Oct 2009, 17:10    Post_subject: vlc media player with the base iso does not handle codecs ok  

VLC didnt open xvid packaged movies, so there is something wrong with the avcodecs. I installed vlc-1.0.0-rc4-i686.pet and the appropriate patch. After that new vlc worked ok. Xvid AVI:s opened nicely

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Fri 23 Oct 2009, 17:22    Post_subject: openoffice-3.1.1-sfs4.sfs  

I created from the previous openoffice-3.1.1 version sfs4 version for lighthousepup and it seems to work fine.

It installs from the bootup using the bootupmanager

Best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 23 Oct 2009, 17:35    Post_subject: Re: vlc media player with the base iso does not handle codecs ok  

pemasu wrote:
VLC didnt open xvid packaged movies, so there is something wrong with the avcodecs. I installed vlc-1.0.0-rc4-i686.pet and the appropriate patch. After that new vlc worked ok. Xvid AVI:s opened nicely

Best regards
Thank you pemasu, here is the thread with vlc-1.0.0-rc4-i686.pet: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=43728
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0892s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0088s) ][ GZIP on ]