Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 20:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Lighthouse Pup 4.43 Gu2 215M
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Author Message
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 16:46    Post_subject: 443a feedback  

Hi Taz,
I have set up 443 on a slower 1.4MHz desktop with KDE3 (KDE4 didn't run very well - no taskbar).
I set GTK theme to Stardust. I clicked on PCMan and got this error.

I think something's up becasue in a list of files the "already read" items appear so faint on the background that I cannot see them.

One other thing happens when I use the KDE menu editor for the first time.
I get an error box that says something about hot keys not being recognized. Click close and the editor opens OK and also OK on subsequent uses. Sorry no graphic as the error doesn't repeat.
B.
image.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   65.69 KB
 Viewed   2355 Time(s)

image.gif

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 22:44    Post_subject: Re: 443a feedback  

Barburo wrote:
Hi Taz,
I have set up 443 on a slower 1.4MHz desktop with KDE3 (KDE4 didn't run very well - no taskbar).
I set GTK theme to Stardust. I clicked on PCMan and got this error.
There is a small file missing. Open ROX-Filer to /root, create a new empty file called '.gtkrc.mine'. Open it with a text editor and paste the following:
Code:
gtk-icon-theme-name="LXDE"
Save it and close. Now PCManFM should open normally. This will be fixed for the next release.
Quote:
I think something's up becasue in a list of files the "already read" items appear so faint on the background that I cannot see them.
What app is that in? Still in KDE3? Stardust theme?
Quote:
One other thing happens when I use the KDE menu editor for the first time.
I get an error box that says something about hot keys not being recognized. Click close and the editor opens OK and also OK on subsequent uses. Sorry no graphic as the error doesn't repeat.
B.
Hmm, I couldn't reproduce that, though it sounds familiar. Thank you for finding the PCManFM bug.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Oct 2009, 22:54    Post_subject:  

Hi tazok,

I've tried installing this as a full hd installation, however the Puppy universal installer does not work. Although, it indicates that it is copying files, all that gets copied is a Boot directory.

Still enjoying it,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 13:28    Post_subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Hi tazok,

I'll be happy to create a fresh frugal installation and test out your ideas for correctng the nvideo problem. Sorry can't help with the code.

Thanks,
Jim
Hi Jim,
Yes, a LHP443a clean frugal would be a good way to test this nVidia 185 driver. Can you place this file in '/usr/local/graficsdrivers/', exit X and re-run xorgwizard, choosing 'nVidia latest'. This file is part of Mariner SFS, so if Mariner loads, you'll need to overwrite this file afterward.
http://lhpup.org/test/443/nvidia.tgz 13.4 MB

Re: Full hd install, thanks, I will look into that.
Update: I tried a full install in VirtualBox to an ext3 partition and the file copy seemed to work OK but booting from GRUB gave "Error 2, bad file or directory type" and I don't know how to fix that.
Code:
title Lighthouse Linux 4.43 (full on sda3)
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda3 pmedia=atahd
Thank you,
TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2009, 19:30    Post_subject:  

Hi tazok,

Your new nvidia.tgz worked fine.

Your LH has become my favorite which is why I was trying a full hd installation. However, I'll wait until you start working on the version that's based on Barry's new 431 to try another full hd installation. I believe that he had some installer problems that had to be corrected also.

Regardless, my frugal installation does what I want it to do.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 04:07    Post_subject: 443 feedback  

Here's that other error (image.gif). It occurs for first use of KDE Menu editor on each boot.

My other comment was difficult to view "grey-out" text when I was using the pan newsreader (image1.gif).

I think about it it's probably something to do with GTK Themes but no matter which one I choose - same result.

B.
image1.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   9.53 KB
 Viewed   2189 Time(s)

image1.gif

image.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   28.93 KB
 Viewed   2192 Time(s)

image.gif

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 13:36    Post_subject:  

Hi Barburo,
I d/l pan 0.14.2 and there is a Colors tab in Edit | Preferences. Click on the Header pane (read) button to change. Does that help? I don't have access to a newsreader server so couldn't try it myself.

I will look into the KDE Menu editor error.
-TazOC
Update: Can you try launching the editor by unlocking the panel and right-clicking on the 'K' icon | Menu Editor. That will launch the KDE3 version instead of KDE4. I will update the LookNFeel panel to check which v. of KDE is running and then launch the appropriate version.

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
chris

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Oct 2009, 23:58    Post_subject:  

jasmac wrote:
Hiya tazoc, nice work. Have a small problem with connecting via wireless, get the error as per attached. I am using a Linksys Usb adapter that uses the RT73usb driver. Am working on fixing it myself but any help appreciated.

cheers

Jason


I had the same problem with a D-Link PCI WiFi adaptor which worked out of the box with LHP 442, boxpup 412, standard edition 430 puppy ... yeh I'm checking out the dogs Wink

After plenty of googling and snooping around I found out that the kernel module for my device was rt61pci and it was being loaded properly and my hardware was found. But the network connection could not be made (the ifconfig wlan0 up command) because the device firmware was not found. So after using pfind a bit (what a cool tool that is) on this pup and an installation of boxpup I found that the firmware for my device exists in /lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00.tar.gz. The rt*.bin files stored within the archive need to be extracted to /lib/firmware/. Once I did this I fired up the network setup, scanned for my WiFi connection and voila ... I'm on-line.

Jasmac, perhaps this is all you need to do to get your rt73usb based WiFi connection going.

Tazoc, I don't know why the firmware was already extracted in all the other puppies. Is that part of installation or kernel module loading? Thanks for putting so much work into this puppy. Even if this one isn't the one I keep for life I appreciate the effort and will enjoy the distraction that comes with it. Smile

hth

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
chris

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 00:54    Post_subject:  

I wanted to report a success, a problem and also ask a couple of questions.

Success:

I tried the new nvidia driver archive you posted earlier. Works with my 8800GT after I added the kernel patch SFS.


Problem:

I downloaded LHP443-mariner iso since I wanted mariner anyway. I assumed this iso comes with mariner stuff already included. But I recall now that I did not see the nvidia-latest entry in the drivers list when I setup xorg. Then when I tried to add the Voyager SFS I got an error saying that I needed the Mariner SFS. So is Mariner included in the iso? Given the larger iso size I figured it was. Is this supposed to work as I was expecting or do I need to download LHP-base iso and Mariner SFS separately? Confused If I have to do this separately how to I go about changing my frugal install to hard disk from the lhp-mariner iso based download to the lhp-base iso download? I'm guessing its simply a matter of replacing the main sfs, vmlinuz and initrd files. Did I guess right?


Questions on settings etc:

The Office SFS gives me six desktop icons that overlap wbar. Where to I find the settings so I can change the location, remove them, or perhaps even add them to wbar?

I have 4 hard drives with lots of partitions so all these get mounted at boot time. How can I control which ones get both displayed as desktop icons and which are auto mounted?

How can I increase the number of SFS files I can mount from the limit of 8 specified in the boot manager?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 14:08    Post_subject: rt73usb, nVidia, Mariner ISO, Automount, desktop icons  

chris wrote:
Jasmac, perhaps this is all you need to do to get your rt73usb based WiFi connection going.

Tazoc, I don't know why the firmware was already extracted in all the other puppies. Is that part of installation or kernel module loading? Thanks for putting so much work into this puppy. Even if this one isn't the one I keep for life I appreciate the effort and will enjoy the distraction that comes with it. Smile

hth

Chris
Chris, thanks for the help, indeed. I will try to find out why the modules aren't extracting.

Jasmac, As Chris suggested extract '/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00.tar.gz' into 'lib/firmware' then reload rt73usb.
chris wrote:
I tried the new nvidia driver archive you posted earlier. Works with my 8800GT after I added the kernel patch SFS.
Glad to hear that it works. I wouldn't think the devx or kernel SFS would be needed, unless you're compiling the drivers directly from the nVidia website.
Quote:
Problem:

I downloaded LHP443-mariner iso since I wanted mariner anyway. I assumed this iso comes with mariner stuff already included. But I recall now that I did not see the nvidia-latest entry in the drivers list when I setup xorg. Then when I tried to add the Voyager SFS I got an error saying that I needed the Mariner SFS. So is Mariner included in the iso? Given the larger iso size I figured it was. Is this supposed to work as I was expecting or do I need to download LHP-base iso and Mariner SFS separately?
It sounds like the Mariner SFS didn't get copied from the Mariner ISO/CDR to /mnt/home. Right-click the Mariner ISO in ROX and choose 'Mount-virt-drive0' and the copy '5-LHP-Mar-4a_443.sfs' and if desired, '4-KDE-4.3.1a_443.sfs' to /mnt/home, then add them to the RH pane of BootManager: SFS files and reboot.
Quote:
Questions on settings etc:

The Office SFS gives me six desktop icons that overlap wbar. Where to I find the settings so I can change the location, remove them, or perhaps even add them to wbar?

I have 4 hard drives with lots of partitions so all these get mounted at boot time. How can I control which ones get both displayed as desktop icons and which are auto mounted?

How can I increase the number of SFS files I can mount from the limit of 8 specified in the boot manager?
I was mistaken about the limit of 8, it is actually 40 SFS so ignore the notices about 8. I don't know how to control drive display individually, but there is an option in Desktop | Settings | Desktop Drive Icons Mgr to uncheck 'Icon for each partition' so you'll just have one icon for each disk, not every partition. Click on Automount in /mnt to enable or disable automount for all drives. Mount specific drives by disabling Automount and then placing mount commands in /etc/rc.local, e.g.
Code:
mkdir /mnt/sda2
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/sda2
In JWM/IceWM you can drag desktop icons at will, or right-click | delete. There is also an option in the Settings menu to 'Show/Hide desktop icons'. (All or none). In KDE4 you'll need to unlock widgets and then move or delete one at a time.

To customize Wbar, open /root/.wbar (or .wbar_kde for KDE) in a text editor, save the file and right-click on Wbar to see your changes.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
chris

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 24
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 21:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
chris wrote:
I tried the new nvidia driver archive you posted earlier. Works with my 8800GT after I added the kernel patch SFS.
tazoc wrote:
Glad to hear that it works. I wouldn't think the devx or kernel SFS would be needed, unless you're compiling the drivers directly from the nVidia website.


just FYI - I have this rare problem with my Viewsonic monitor in which EDID data is not read and so xorg fails when it tries to find out the available monitor resolutions. On failure I get a default 640-480 display. To get my 1680x1050 display I have to edit in a customedid option to the display device settings in xorg.conf which points to a binary dump of the edid data off the monitor . So when I installed the driver as suggested earlier, edited the xorg settings and restarted X the settings failed. They only worked when I added the kernel patch so I figured that the driver file posted earlier in this thread was built with the kernel patch installed. I've made the mistake numerous times before Embarassed of building the NVIDIA drivers against a specified kernel and then installing on a different kernel. Perhaps that's happened again.

Thanks for the other tips.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jasmac


Joined: 03 Jun 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Canberra, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 18 Oct 2009, 03:39    Post_subject:  

Hi all,

Jasmac, As Chris suggested extract '/lib/modules/all-firmware/rt2x00.tar.gz' into 'lib/firmware' then reload rt73usb.

worked a treat, thanks, posting this from LHP now, again thanks

Cheers

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 12:00    Post_subject: firmware  

Excellent, Jasmac and thank you for the tip, Chris. For the next release, I plan to extract all '/lib/modules/all-firmware' archives into the main file as I couldn't determine why it isn't done automatically.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tazoc


Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 1157
Location: Lower Columbia Basin WA US

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 12:14    Post_subject: Updating the GIMP
Sub_title: Audacious & VLC updates problematic
 

Recently I received a PM about updates for GIMP, Audacious and VLC. Here's my reply in case others find it helpful:
Quote:
You can use Gslapt (in Setup Menu) to update GIMP to 2.6.7; click OK at the alsa-lib warning, it works anyway.

I tried to update Audacious to 2.1.1 from Debian. Unfortunately it seg faults every time. Slackware's latest is still 1.5.1 same as Lighthouse. This thread discusses v2.0 and possibly why no one I'm aware of has compiled it for Puppy: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=317162

I found a slackware vlc 1.02 by alien at videolan.org--but it refuses to run as root and gives a dbus error when run as a normal user.

Here's a vlc 0.9.9 pet I made from slackware, though I'm not happy with it because it won't open AVI, Quicktime, Real or Flash Video, and mp3 has glitches: http://lhpup.org/pet/443/vlc-0.9.9a-i686-3as.pet
Because VLC has these bugs I plan to remove it from LHP, posting a link to the pet. That will save 18M compressed from the base ISO. Audacious and GIMP work well for me, so I'll keep those in.
-TazOC

_________________
lhpup.org Lighthouse 64 6.02
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 Oct 2009, 13:22    Post_subject:  

Hi tazok,

I still have a problem with Amarok on this version also. It plays fine sometimes. I have narrowed down the problem to KDE/Amarok using a wrong driver. KDE shows a choice of HDA intel, ALC1200Digital (IEC958 (SPPDIF) Digital audio output), HDA Intel (ALC1200 Analog), and HDA Intel (ALC1200 Digital). Apparently, the HDA Intel (ALC1200 Analog) does not work but KDE/Amarok keeps defaulting back to it. I can go to a prompt and run alsaconf, and it works again but I have to do this daily.

Do you know where the drivers are placed? I'd like to rename the driver that doesn't work and try to get rid of it. I'm having no luck finding it.

Thanks,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 46 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 44, 45, 46 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1172s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]