Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 23:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
-edit-
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
Tamao

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Thu 08 Oct 2009, 07:42    Post subject:  -edit-  

-edit-
Last edited by Tamao on Tue 08 Apr 2014, 16:55; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2009, 00:46    Post subject:  

Assuming the linux driver for your video card supports that resolution, you can probably just edit /etc/X11/Xorg.conf, then restart X.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!

Last edited by disciple on Sat 10 Oct 2009, 06:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 04:58    Post subject:  

I tried this to get 1152 x 864 but now the machine has a scrolling message saying in part " This will start X for you".

I assume that I am now running Xorg not Xvesa as previously.

I thought "Simple enough. Just use the 3.01 CD and edit the file (on hda1 - it is a full install) back to the original resolution."

Wrong! I now get a message saying something like "Getting a DCHP address (Time out 60 sec) .....

The machine then just hangs with a blinking cursor.

Given the above what do I need to do to bring the configuration back to the one I had previously?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 06:17    Post subject:  

I wouldn't have thought that editing Xorg.conf would do anything if you are running Xvesa... if I am correct then your problem should be unrelated.

FWIW I think Xvesa stores its settings in /etc/videomode.

Quote:
The machine then just hangs with a blinking cursor.

Is that with all the other text still on the screen, or is the screen blank otherwise, like it has tried to start X, but something is wrong?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 06:28    Post subject:  

Have you tried typing Ctrl-Alt-Backspace, then running xorgwizard?
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 04:16    Post subject:  

I eventually ran xorgwizard - took a while to find the correct commands!

Tried to reboot without the CD but received a couple of error messages and then the usual "Trying to get ... " message.

Reboot using the CD and ran e2fsck /dev/hda1. Many corrections required.

Reboot without CD and start up goes normally until:

Executing personal config script /etc/rc.d/rc.local ...

# Trying to get IP address from DHCP server (60sec timeout) ...

and then blinking cursor with all the normal boot messages still on the screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 05:22    Post subject:  

Update.

There was one thing different in my Puppy system. I changed the USB mouse back to a PS/2 unit because the other operating system on the other hard drive does not support USB - well easily anyway!

Like everything it takes a while to sink in but eventually changed back to the USB mouse and rebooted.

Success except that broad band was not working. Go through the setup wizard a couple of times - nothing.

As dinner was ready shut down the machine but thought what if?

From a cold boot everything is now working as it should - except - I am still in Xvesa! I would still like 1152x864 or similar resolution.

Given the trauma I have been through is there a "non destructive" way of changing from Xvesa to Xorg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 05:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
Given the trauma I have been through is there a "non destructive" way of changing from Xvesa to Xorg?

Running the xorgwizard to choose Xorg isn't destructive - if it doesn't work you should be able to go back to Xvesa, and it shouldn't change anything else. I have no idea what caused your problems.

But I don't know if you even did run Xorgwizard and choose Xorg...

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 99
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2009, 05:46    Post subject:  

Tamao
I have that problem with my monitor.
With xorg saying 1440x900 24 and the monitor displaying 1280x1024 or 1280x960.
What I do is after running xorgwizard, selecting 1440x900x24,done and starting Puppy
I then edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
I un comment the UseModes line(remove the # at start of line)
And I add the Modeline information.
You can get your modeline values in windows by using moninfo
or in Puppy by typing in the console
gtf horizontal vertical refresh
gtf 1440 900 60

Then save xorg.conf and restart Xserver.


Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize 400 250 # mm
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "NTS"
ModelName "M19W"
### Comment all HorizSync and VertRefresh values to use DDC:
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30.0-65.0
VertRefresh 55.0-71.0
UseModes "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option "PreferredMode" "1440x900"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
ModeLine "1440x900" 106.47 1440 1540 1692 1904 900 905 908 932 -hsync +vsync #modes0modeline0
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 12 Oct 2009, 02:51    Post subject:  

Very interesting.

I am now unable to run Xvesa wizard - I wanted to find out the current resolution.

/etc/videomode states 0x0123 1024x768x24 which sounds correct. No idea what the 0x0123 is ...

What have I done to the wizard?

If I edit the /etc/videomode will I be back in the land of trauma?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mercedes350se

Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2009, 05:31    Post subject:  

Kicked a goal!

Unplugged the hard drive and loaded 3.01 into RAM. Running the "Wizard Wizard" and then "Setup the X video" indicated that I was already running Xorg.

Following the instruction that said to exit X and drop to the command line I ran xorgwizard. To my satisfaction I was greeted with a screen that allowed resolution selection.

I chose 1024x768x24 and rebooted. Boot up was fine. I then edited /etc/X11/Xorg.conf as suggested by disciple to 1152x864.

Rebooted the machine to be greeted by the new resolution.

Lesson learned - you must be using xorg before editing /etc/X11/Xorg.conf

Shut down the CD session. Plugged in the hard drive and following the above steps I am now using xorg with 1152x864 resolution.

disciple thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0625s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]