Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3.1 -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 21 [303 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 16 Dec 2009, 02:30    Post subject: Re: Memory usage under Puppy 4.31  

RetroTechGuy wrote:


Mem: 286964 282380 4584 0 22700
Swap: 546200 0 546200
Total: 833164 282380 550784

That 5 M left really cramps my style.


Run "Top" and you'll find that much of the "used" ram is actually in
cache and buffer.

Running "Htop" would show your ram being used as something
like 35 / 286964 at desktop.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Dec 2009, 02:51    Post subject: Re: Memory usage under Puppy 4.31  

rjbrewer wrote:

Quote:
Run "Top" and you'll find that much of the "used" ram is actually in
cache and buffer.

Running "Htop" would show your ram being used as something
like 35 / 286964 at desktop.


Actually, the usage problem was that it persisted in loading the .sfs file to ram (even when pfix=noram was used, even after much fiddling with the init file). This was eating 100 MB that it didn't need to...

I have kludged a patch in, based on Pizza's post... Not pretty, but it left my memory free (and the computer is much more responsive already)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 16 Dec 2009, 03:01    Post subject: Memory usage under Puppy 4.31  

Quote:

Found it: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=267197#267197


Thanks Pizza, that at least got me to the correct location.

The changes above apparently don't fix the problem. I also added
Quote:
&& [ "$PNORAM" != "yes" ]

to the line above the one you referenced, (since it apparently also made decisions about "heaps of ram"). Unfortunately, neither of these actually fixed the problem.

I ended up commenting out the entire section from
Quote:
if [ "$COPY2RAM" = "yes" ];then

through the "else", and rebuilt initrd. That cured it... It's certainly not pretty, and not portable, but is temporarily patched, until I can track the problem further.

Thanks!

BTW, if anyone else is planning to tinker with this -- be aware that you need to run Pizza's commands on an ext2 partition, not a fat32...symbolic links won't correctly transfer to the fat32 (and you'll munge your files)

[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 22:44    Post subject: "Zombied" jwm  

I found this problem in pyppylinux 3.0X but it is still actual in newest version.
When some program starts in background from xinitrc script it causes one or more "zombi" jwm processes. (possibly bug?)
Suggestion:
Jwm parses the "StartupCommand" tag in it's configuration file. All programs
placed after this tag run automatically when jwm starts.
I remove programs (clean desk_icons,pup_event_frontend,delayedrun,etc...) from xinitrc and place them to jwm configuration file using this tag. Works fine, without "zombies".
Another problem:
When system is fully (no frugal) installed and runs with disabled eventmanager, (I don't use it)pmount can't mount the usb mass-storage drives because the usb-storage module is not loaded.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DetroitLibertyPenguin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 19 Dec 2009, 13:09    Post subject: Unable to boot Mulitsession  

Attempted to burn multisession CD-R (also tried CD-RW) the boot hangs at loading vmlnuz.

after 10 minutes or so, it gives some sort of error about trying to re-boot then the same issue happens.

Tried several CDs burnt at low speed

used the same procedure to burn multi session CD-R of 4.21 with no issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 20 Dec 2009, 10:27    Post subject: tgz2pet crashes  

tgz2pet says: "chmod: missing operand after +w".
Advise:
The 9-th string of this script "chmod +w $TARBALL" must be changed to
"chmod 755 $TARBALL".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 21 Dec 2009, 08:10    Post subject: Backlight brightness missing from 2.6.30.5 official Puppy  

Kernel 2.6.30.5 has dropped support to Acer Travelmate backlight brightness.
Previous Puppies/puplets/derivatives aka 4.12 and 4.21 has backlight brightness support through video module which was loaded automatically.

Now video module does not load backlight folders and files. Even Acer-wmi does not work. It creates folders and files ok but echo... console command does not change values.

I havent found cure to the problem. Brightness is randomly dim or something other or bright with every boot so something affects brighness.

Also other laptop owners has had samekind problems.

So If anybody knows cure without compiling kernel to Acer Travelmate 6592G models I would be very happy Puppy owner

All the best and Merry Christmas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 13:09    Post subject: Pudd doesn't do what it says on the tin  

4.3.1 bug?

The Pudd welcome screen says "This program will copy any drive, partition, or image-file to another drive, partition, or file." I tried to copy an image file, and Pudd refused, on the grounds that the file was not a directory.

Also, when copying to a USB stick, it does not show up on the drive/partitions list. So I click on the USB button (bottom left) and get a red screen saying that it can't be unmounted. It is necessary to mount it, so that Pudd can unmount it and stay happy.

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 23 Dec 2009, 13:33    Post subject:  

Sorry Pudd- it's not your fault! If I open a terminal, and use dd, then that won't copy image files either. If I put in a file name, it says "Oi! that's not a directory!"

gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 21:50    Post subject:  

Minor bugs:
1) /usr/local/apps/Wallpaper/AppRun
Crashes.
Incorrect use a "separator" tag.
Removing this tag solves problem.
(Knows GtkDialog such a tag?)
2)cfdisk.
Fails when starts without parameters. Puppy has "s" prefixed devices whereas
cfdisk tryes to open the "hda" device by default.
3) Monitor gamma correction button in Xorgwizard does nothing. It calls
"tkgamma" tool which is missing in 4.x releases. (Because tcl/tk was dropped).
I make simple replacement which is attached here:
xgamma-gui.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  xgamma-gui.pet 
Filesize  5.06 KB 
Downloaded  439 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 09:37    Post subject:  

I can confirm the four separate posts in this thread that GParted is indeed broken -- won't create a bootable FAT32 thumbdrive even if my life depends on it....

So, is there a fix for this?

Is there a GParted dot-pet available that will over-write the default / defective program in Puppy 4.31?

I will note, like the four previous posters, that previous Puppy versions did not seem to have this problem -- and add that Quirky 002 does not seem to suffer ill efects in this area, either.

Any help would be appreciated.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 12:47    Post subject:  

Serious bug:
I try to explain, step-by-step:
1)When original Puppy boots it (mean initrd's init) copies some own gzipped modules to new mounted root filesystem.
2)rc.sysinit checks directory /lib/modules/$KERNELVER/initrd. If it exists,
gunzips all modules placed there. At next step, if modules.dep file not exists or
has no "initrd" entries, runs depmod. After this operation, we have ungzipped (*.ko)
modules in /lib/modules/$KERNELVER/initrd/ and links to them in modules.dep
file
3)When Remasterpup creates new squashfs filesystem, it excludes /lib/modules/$KERNELVER/initrd/ but leaves modules.dep unchanged (!)
4) When remastered distro boots, it copies some own gzipped modules to new mounted root filesystem.
5)rc.sysinit checks directory /lib/modules/$KERNELVER/initrd/ , checks string
"initrd" in modules.dep file and because such a string is present, does nothing
(!)
6)In result, we have gzipped (*.gz) modules and strings in modules.dep file, linked
to ungzipped (*ko) modules. System can't "modprobe" them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 28 Dec 2009, 22:06    Post subject: Modules from initrd not gunzipped  

I was searching through this thread for a couple of bugs that I ran into after remastering the 4.3.1 CD. One bug was the problem with the modules from the initrd not being gunzipped, which I see that PANZERKOPF already reported on December 25th, and filed a better report than I probably would have, so I don't need to report that.

But I'll post my work-around:

I mounted pup-431.sfs from the remastered CD, and copied the filesystem to a new directory, /tmp/sfs/. Then I removed lib/modules/2.6.30.5/modules.* from /tmp/sfs, ran mksquashfs on it, ran isomaster on the remastered iso image, removing its pup-431.sfs and replacing it with the new one, then burnt a new CD with burn iso2cd. (More detailed steps available on request.)

It is probably enough to just remove modules.dep, but since (I think) modules.alias and modules.symbols are rebuilt at the same time that modules.dep is, I removed all three files.

Probably this could also be done by modifying pup-431.sfs before completing the remastering process by replacing the pup-431.sfs while it is still in the puppylivecdbuild directory, but I've not tried that.

Norm Pierce
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Mon 28 Dec 2009, 23:39    Post subject: Remastered CD doesn't prompt for language or time zone  

Because /usr/sbin/remasterpup2 includes the files under /usr/lib/locale/ in the new CDR, /usr/bin/locale prints a locale. Because this matches the value given for LANG in /etc/profile, /etc/rc.d/rc.country never calls /usr/sbin/chooselocale or /usr/sbin/timezone-set, so the user has to set these manually later or, perhaps, learn a new language and move to the US west coast.

This can be worked-around similarly to the work-around mentioned in my previous post, except that the subdirectory under /tmp/sfs/usr/lib/locale/ (e.g., en_US) is removed.

Again, that could probably be done before completing the remastering process by replacing the pup-431.sfs while it is still in the puppylivecdbuild directory. Or, possibly, the subdirectory could be temporarily removed from /usr/lib/locale before even starting the remastering process, then restored later. I've tried neither of those two ideas, so can't vouch for them.

Norm Pierce
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 12:50    Post subject: Re: Remastered CD doesn't prompt for language or time zone  

Also "chooselocale" dialog sometimes makes UTF locales even corresponding checkbox is unchecked.
Another theme:
I was changed (for my own needs) rc.sysinit script for solving some problems.
Added some procedures:
1) Checking root filesystem when system is installed in full mode.
2) Cleaning temporary files and other garbage.
3) Solving ungzip/depmod problem reported above. (Not perfect but better than nothing because (IMHO) coping modules from initrd to rootfs is bad idea, all modules should be placed in compressed filesystem.
Use at own risk. l labeled my changes as much as possible.
rc.sysinit.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc.sysinit.gz 
Filesize  8.15 KB 
Downloaded  392 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 21 [303 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0953s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]