Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 01:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3.1 -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 21 [303 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
purplebelly

Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 06:01    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:

No, I think it's fine. The double quotes on the outside won't be bothered by any doublequotes that are inside backticks. Bash is smart enough to sort that out on its own.


Thanks for that Pizzasgood. I've now dug out an old machine to run a 4.12 to 4.31 update again and it appears that the /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps directory does not get fully populated, perhaps because the desktop icon theme is not set to one of those available in 4.31? If so, this is a one-time-only problem, which can be fixed by copying globicons and running icon switcher, and rc.update should work fine in future. I can go back to convincing my sister that you don't need to be a software engineer to use Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 992
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 20 Nov 2009, 13:27    Post subject:
Subject description: Cannot format a floppy disk on pup 4.3.1 small
 

Hi,
on 4.3.1 small frugal
on 144MB MF-2HD floppies

Using menu/system/format floppy disk results systematically in a pink box telling:
Code:
ERROR creating msdos/vfat filesystem on the floppy bla bli bla...

trying Lo-level format gives the same result.

I tried this on several floppies (not yet used or fresh from carton box); some of them containing well readable datas on puppy.

cheers, charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3357
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 23 Nov 2009, 00:14    Post subject:  

On formatting those floppies.
Just two questions.
(1) Is the floppy write protected?
(2) Is the floppy mounted?

I have a box of floppies myself that I consider junk.
They are new, but even give errors trying to format them in Windows.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
asatbluesboy

Joined: 18 Nov 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 08:22    Post subject:  

Talking about floppy mounts, one has magically appeared in my flash installation this morning. It would be cool if I did have a floppy drive, which is not the case. Could it be the USB speakers I installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bill

Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 494

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 11:25    Post subject:  

Hi asatbluesboy,There for sure are applications that do not play well
with others.When things happen ,like has visited you,have you considered removing the suspected culprit,reboot and audit the results.
If after this,and nothing good happens,you will have an answer.It is always easy to reinstall.cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nassausky

Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 13:04    Post subject: Lost mouse pointer after restart x server
Subject description: Lost mouse pointer after restart x server
 

During a basic live boot of Puppy 4.3.1 after connecting to the ethernet card and going online and downloading x11vnc-server PET file. The install goes fine but in order to see the GUI listing in the network menu I had to restart X-server. After doing so I lost the mouse pointer. It actually does work but it's invisible. I was able to start up the gui and attach to the machine remotely and on the remote control side, I can see the host mouse pointer but it doesn't show up in that host Puppy 4.3.1 machine.

Thanks Smile

BTW a note off topic... If anyone builds an ISO with puppy 4.3.1 including a vnc server, samba & ssh give me a shout Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
asatbluesboy

Joined: 18 Nov 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 24 Nov 2009, 21:40    Post subject:  

bill wrote:
Hi asatbluesboy,There for sure are applications that do not play well
with others.When things happen ,like has visited you,have you considered removing the suspected culprit,reboot and audit the results.
If after this,and nothing good happens,you will have an answer.It is always easy to reinstall.cheers
Thanks for the response, Bill. Fortunately, it was simpler than I thought. I went to the desktop drive icons manager and found out it was set to show the floppy icon even if it weren't there... Shame on me. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Whitesnow


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 100
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 26 Nov 2009, 17:12    Post subject: Six sfs limit  

I have seen that bootmanager, like 4.3.0., boots not more than six sfs. Why? How to increase?

Thank you in advance. Smile

Bye.

_________________
*.* Snow *.* Wink
My repo: http://qualapinna.dyndns.org/repo
My blog: http://qualapinna.dyndns.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2009, 09:11    Post subject:  

Quote

I have seen that bootmanager, like 4.3.0., boots not more than six sfs. Why?

Unquote

Good question. That is what Barry used in Puppy 4.1.2 and carried forward to 4.3.x

Puppy 4.2.1 allows more.

How to increase? It needs a change to the init script in initrd.gz. If someone wants to address that problem then be my guest.

Other alternatives:

Use SFS Combiner to combine some sfs files so that you only have 6.

Use sfs linker
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47465

for a brand new way of using a large number of sfs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1077
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Fri 27 Nov 2009, 17:55    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:
"I have seen that bootmanager, like 4.3.0., boots not more than six sfs. Why?"

Good question. That is what Barry used in Puppy 4.1.2 and carried forward to 4.3.x


Nope. It was 3 sfs in 4.1.2 and is 6 .sfs in 4.3.1

Quote:
"How to increase? It needs a change to the init script in initrd.gz."

If someone wants to address that problem then be my guest.

Already done awhile ago. In fact, that's why 4.2 had it. See:

www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=36733
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 09:25    Post subject: Facebook Chat  

Hi, discovered facebook chat doesnt work. Seems to be a problem with Seamonkey 1.xx series (2.xx series does work).

Yes facebook chat is "an application for everyday use" Im afraid. Wink
facebook-chat-error.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  facebook-chat-error.png 
Filesize  146.53 KB 
Downloaded  539 Time(s) 

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 19:41    Post subject: Max connected sfs files is 5 not 6  

I just discovered this as before I didn't have the need to connect 6 sfs files at boot.
Altho 6 advertised in reality only 5 are taken into account.

Why not raise the figure of 6 to 10.
And yes I know I could combine sfs files now.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5218
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 02:17    Post subject:  

It appears that PREFLIST (or pup_event) is not working properly to set priority of one module over another, as reported by jemimah here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=367201#367201

Several other forum members have reported similar problems involving conflicting modules, but jemimah is the first to accurately report which particular module loads after setting up the PREFLIST configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1289
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 09:07    Post subject:  

vtpup

thanks for correcting me regarding the number of sfs allowed in 4.1.2. The thrust of my comment was the same however - 4.2.1 allowed more than 4.1.2 or 4.3.1.

As your link shows, modifying the initrd.gz was done for 4.1.2 and incorporated into 4.2.1 - however that task remains for 4.3.1 - so to help Whitesnow or Beem it would be necessary for someone to do this task. You cannot simply slot in a 4.1.2 (or 4.2.1) initrd.gz into a 4.3.1 system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
diaeresis

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 165

PostPosted: Mon 30 Nov 2009, 15:42    Post subject:  

sfs issue now on bug tracker.
(as is a lot of this thread, Thanks, your welcome)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 21 [303 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1146s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0342s) ][ GZIP on ]