Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 06:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
??
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue 06 Oct 2009, 10:53    Post subject:  ??  

??
Last edited by IsntThatAmusing on Tue 29 Apr 2014, 20:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 12:27    Post subject:  

Anyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 10:12    Post subject: ??  

??
Last edited by IsntThatAmusing on Tue 29 Apr 2014, 20:59; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2009, 10:27    Post subject: ??  

??
Last edited by IsntThatAmusing on Tue 29 Apr 2014, 21:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nickdobrinich

Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 77
Location: Cleveland OH USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 03:49    Post subject: truecrypt 6.2a
Subject description: weird mounting / dismounting
 

Well, here's something, not exactly useful.
When I followed your advice and unchecked Preferences > System Integration > Kernel Services > Do NOT use
truecrypt finally opened the volume after I chose slot 10.
I'm not using any key files.
Now we're getting somewhere, I thought.

By looking at the properties of slot 10, I saw it was connected to virtual device /dev/loop2 and that it was using mount directory /mnt/truecrypt10 (because I had chosen the 10th slot).

Copying a file to /mnt/truecrypt10 worked but it was not encrypted in any way once I dismounted the volume. However, that directory WAS empty after I rebooted and I could reopen the volume and get the file back, again from /mnt/truecrypt10

Of note, it appears that the truecrypt service does keep running in the background even after being told not to and exiting completely from the program.

Strange.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 12:38    Post subject:  

??
Last edited by IsntThatAmusing on Tue 29 Apr 2014, 21:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Oct 2009, 13:33    Post subject:  

Off the top of my head, no. But I did play around with this a couple years ago and had it working. If you search the forum enough, you might be able to turn up some posts from the 2.x and 3.x days where people like JohnDoe, PaulBx1, and kirk were monkeying around with this sort of thing.

I just got a new harddrive earlier this week, and I intend to look at setting up encrypted partitions and stuff sometime in the near future. So when I do I'll let you know anything I figure out.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
IsntThatAmusing

Joined: 03 Oct 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 20:21    Post subject:  

??
Last edited by IsntThatAmusing on Tue 29 Apr 2014, 21:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 22 Oct 2009, 20:25    Post subject:  

I'll try this weekend.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 15:46    Post subject:  

I got the same results. Not sure what's wrong. AFAIKS Puppy's kernel does have the crypto stuff enabled. Anyway, telling truecrypt to not use the kernel's routines should not weaken/disable the actual encryption, it just means that truecrypt itself will have to handle it rather than letting the kernel do it, thus the performance hit they mention. I doubt it's a very significant difference unless you're doing a lot of rapid file access within the volume (for example, installing an entire OS inside of one).


Maybe try asking Wolf Pup to see what his experiences are:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=26712


Here is a small patch to have it use rox by default, and to drop those two extra options.
Code:
diff -Nur truecrypt-6.3-source.orig/Main/UserInterface.cpp truecrypt-6.3-source/Main/UserInterface.cpp
--- truecrypt-6.3-source.orig/Main/UserInterface.cpp   2009-10-21 09:11:12.000000000 -0400
+++ truecrypt-6.3-source/Main/UserInterface.cpp   2009-10-25 17:57:24.000000000 -0400
@@ -813,12 +813,12 @@
 
       if (desktop == L"GNOME" || desktop.empty())
       {
-         args.push_back ("--no-default-window");
-         args.push_back ("--no-desktop");
+         //args.push_back ("--no-default-window");
+         //args.push_back ("--no-desktop");
          args.push_back (string (path));
          try
          {
-            Process::Execute ("nautilus", args, 2000);
+            Process::Execute ("rox", args, 2000);
          }
          catch (TimeOut&) { }
          catch (exception &e) { ShowError (e); }




Quote:
also, it seems that every time I want to make truecrypt work, I have to do a "make install" of fuse every time I reboot and then do modprobe fuse. It won't allow me to just do modprobe fuse, I actually need to make install it fresh each time I reboot.
Eh? You shouldn't need to do anything at all with regard to fuse. I was going to check that it still worked after I rebooted but forgot. I'll go do that now. But it should work fine. (But if you went and recompiled fuse anyway, then I don't know what effects that could have. I believe Puppy uses fuse for the SFS handling and probably includes some fuse stuff in initrd.gz, so that may be where those issues came from.)
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib


Last edited by Pizzasgood on Sun 25 Oct 2009, 17:32; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Oct 2009, 17:30    Post subject:  

Worked fine when I rebooted.

Also, about the not exiting thing - I didn't experience that either. Maybe you didn't dismount the volumes first, in which case it doesn't exit because it's still in use. Remember, it doesn't decrypt the volume and then mount it. It mounts the volume while it's still encrypted. When you request a file it goes in and decrypts that portion of data to return it to you. So even though you can look in /mnt/truecrypt1 and it looks like the volume is decrypted, it isn't.

That's why they say it provides "transparent on the fly decryption".

Once you dismount everything, it exits just fine.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Stingray

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri 12 Feb 2010, 20:38    Post subject:    

IsntThatAmusing wrote:
now when i double click the volume it says it can't find nautilus! ugh. i made a script called nautilus in /usr/local/bin that does this:

rox $3
since truecrypt is calling
nautilus --no-default-window --no-desktop /mnt/truecrypt1

so that makes that work.
but i'd really like to know now how to get crypto services enabled in the kernel


and this is working ? you made a script called nautilus - and call this script from inside the script ? isnt this recursive and will start your script until all memory is eaten up ?

im my opinion you should have written Smile

Code:

rox $3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0678s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]