Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 15:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
My sound doesn't work. Could it be because of my modem?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
mbridges1

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 10:10    Post_subject:  My sound doesn't work. Could it be because of my modem?  

First off, THANK YOU for Puppy! I love this O/S. I am a newbie to Puppy, but was experienced in UNIX (a long time ago and have forgotten probably half of what I knew). I have worked exclusively with Windows (Yuck) for over 10 years. Puppy is helping me to bring an old system back to life for my grandchildren. I hate to throw away things that still work.

I do not, nor will I ever, have my modem connected to the phone line. What do I need to do to eliminate that portion of the O/S from loading, or even being checked at boot up time? It is an on-board modem, as is the sound. For communication, I am connected to a hard-wired ethernet lan, and then to my cable modem. The ethernet is still required, since I have 3 other systems on my home network, and the ehternet connectivity works reasonably well.

I am running an old Gateway 400 Pentium II tower system with Puppy 430.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 02 Oct 2009, 10:34    Post_subject:  

What do you mean that the modem is being loaded?

I've never noticed that. I've never used a modem with puppy ever, and I have never seen a boot slow down due to "probing" modems.

I know that you are asking for a solution but let's step back, What is the problem you are trying to address?

What is the real concern?

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mbridges1

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 09:59    Post_subject: Modem not needed
Sub_title: How to remove loading of modem at boot
 

The heart of the matter.

I have read a lot in the forum. Primarily researching why my Gateway with on-board sound doesn't have sound - even from the internal speaker.

When you do the lspci lsmod commands it lists both the sound and the modem. I have no need of a modem, so I want to make sure it is disabled and not causing any possible conflicts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 12:09    Post_subject:  

Eventhough I haven't used modems under Puppy I can see at least two alternatives that I have used for other modules I do not want:

Before starting I need to ask: Is the modem causing conflicts in other OSs? (Windows, ubuntu, etc). If it is, then you may have a problem with the IRQ or one of the other configuration for the PCI card. (Last time I had to deal with that was about 15 years ago and I don't remember the details)

With that out of the way, let's continue:

A. Unload the module after puppy started
If you have identified the modem and sound modules through lsmod then you could do the following test:

1. Remove both the sound and modem module
rmmod <sound module>
rmmod <modem module>

If it complains about other modules, then also rmmod those modules but write them down so you can load them later

2. Reload the sound module (or modules if you had to remove more than one)

3. Execute "dmsg" to see if there are errors loading the sound modules or everything is OK.

4. Test your sound. If it still does not work my gut feeling is that the problem is not the modem.

B. Black list the modem module:

If you find that the modem is the culprit then blacklist it:

1. From the main menu select "System | Bootmanager configure bootup"
2. When the window opens, click the button to blacklist a module
3. Select the module you want to blacklist and click the Add button
4. Click OK and quit
5. Reboot and check again with lsmod to confirm that the module is being black listed.

Please note that lspci will always show the modem as it is checking hardware, regarless of it being used or not.

I hope this helps

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mbridges1

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 09:13    Post_subject:  

Thank you. This has been a major help! But alas, it did not affect my sound at all. Back to another message stream.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 13:20    Post_subject:  

I just saw a post in Barry's blog that may be related to your problem

http://www.puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=01134

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1529
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Oct 2009, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Raffy, mbridges1,
That blog posting refers to my suspicion of a connection, but iwill (the user) found that his problem was elsewhere. His solution starts here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=347220#347220
It relates to an Intel built-in modem, HDA sound, and a Linuxant HSF modem driver.

I might be of more help if you could get more specific about what you are working with. What are the modem, sound card, and drivers at issue here? Thanks for any details. (PupScan PCI interfaces output would summarize the hardware.)
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mbridges1

Joined: 01 Oct 2009
Posts: 35
Location: Lee's Summit, MO

PostPosted: Sun 01 Nov 2009, 14:51    Post_subject:  My sound doesn't work. Could it be because of my modem?
Sub_title: (SOLVED)
 

My bad. I moved the system to another room, and now have sound. It seems that the most logical explanation is user-defect. I must have had the speakers hooked up incorrectly. GRRRRRRRRRR Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3434
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 01 Nov 2009, 20:03    Post_subject:  

" user-defect "

We've all been near or in that kennel.
Thanks for posting back...just edit this topic
as Solved.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0727s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]