Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 16:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Eee Atom CPU control - testing
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 01:52    Post subject:  

Oh, has ASUS granted you copyright permission to use their Eee logo?!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 01:53    Post subject:  

One more thing, no calling script so it cannot be run from commandline unless you type the full path.

(I did alter the logo, and I did think of that, if you want just put in a puppy logo)

__________________________________________
(a little later)

Well I made a puppy logo only. It is offset to counteract the alignment gtkdialog uses. It looks fine and will avoid any nasty issues (er, if asus get nasty).

Code:

<pixmap>
 <input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/puppy.png</input>
</pixmap>


EDIT: I just redid the puppy logo, it was too wide.(5:05PM)
puppy.png
 Description   
 Filesize   1.32 KB
 Viewed   930 Time(s)

puppy.png

eee-pup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   33.51 KB
 Viewed   912 Time(s)

eee-pup.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 05:53    Post subject:  

Hmmmm...

I have a Celeron but I cannot test my pet. Mine is the Eeepc 701SD , which has been conforming to all the Atom commands. I guess they (asus) upgraded more than the wireless chipset in the 701SD. None of the other commands designed for Celerons work, all dotpets installed in order and rebooted. (..that hurt because it was running for 4 days Laughing )

Anyway, I coded all the necessary changes to make the gui appear intuitive (it's the same as the Atom gui minus 1 radiobutton). I hope it works because I was flying blind. Thanks to tempestuous and dawnsboy.

I'm releasing this as a dotpet because it needs to be tested, there should be no dire consequences, but, in saying that I can accept no responsibility. No need for a screeny because it is the same, less a button, as the Atom gui.

Really a new thread should be started for "Eee Celeron" testing.

Cheers

EDIT: .pet removed, see newer post.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sat 03 Oct 2009, 18:01; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 10:18    Post subject:  

Hi,

just installed eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU-test.pet. Running it from Menu->System nothing happens. Running from terminal I get
Code:
eee-fan-ctrl.sh: Error: failed to load module eee.ko
Running eee-fan-config.sh seems to work.

Please tell me if I miss something.

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 17:32    Post subject:  

rhadon wrote:
Code:
eee-fan-ctrl.sh: Error: failed to load module eee.ko

rhadon, you need to install eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5.pet
from
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=346452#346452
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sat 03 Oct 2009, 17:59    Post subject:  

Oh dear, made a mistake when packaging the last dotpet (incorrect menu entry) Embarassed . But maybe a good thing for you rhadon or you may not have found out you need the eee driver.

Try this one.
Pet removed, third time lucky Rolling Eyes Embarassed See newr post.

Sorry guys.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 04 Oct 2009, 00:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 00:37    Post subject:  

01micko,
There's still a small error in /usr/local/eeecontrol/eeecontrol-cel
The location of two image files is wrong:
<input file>/root/eeecontrol.png</input>
<input file>/root/puppy.png</input>

they should be -
<input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/eeecontrol.png</input>
<input file>/usr/share/eeecontrol/puppy.png</input>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 01:02    Post subject:  

deleted
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 04 Oct 2009, 01:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 01:09    Post subject:  

Well there should be nothing wrong with this pet fingers crossed (which is how I've been typing lately, with my fingers crossed Laughing )

I can now test this on my Celeron and it works.

I had to run depmod-FULL then "modprobe eee" to get the driver to load, a bit perplexing but nevertheless it worked. When I run "cat /proc/eee/fsb" I get the correct results, and my menu entry is working Smile

If anyone installed the older pet you must uninstall with the PPM (petget) and restart your WM or X (I restarted X) so that the old menu entry is cleared.

Enjoy

EDIT: dotpet removed... you know the drill...
Cheers

Mick
eee-cel.png
 Description   
 Filesize   21.12 KB
 Viewed   868 Time(s)

eee-cel.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Sun 04 Oct 2009, 08:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 07:15    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I had to run depmod-FULL then "modprobe eee" to get the driver to load

Thanks for that information. It's consistent with other reports I have heard, although it only affects some people ... I can't reproduce the problem on my hardware.
So I have just repackaged all drivers in the "Extras for Puppy 4.3 with 2.6.30.5 kernel" thread to include depmod-FULL.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5285
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 07:17    Post subject:  

Mick, we're almost there, but my focus on user interface design prompts me to ask;
what's the difference in functionality between the "OK" and "Cancel" buttons?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 07:28    Post subject:  

Ah yes... no need for 2, I'll leave the cancel button, ditch OK.

brb

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 04 Oct 2009, 08:33    Post subject:  

Here we go, I think these pets will suit.

I went against what I said before.... "OK" is more intuitive than "Cancel" where a user might think he is not making a change. If they want to exit the window there is the 'x' in the corner, everyone knows that. In saying that, "OK" just exits the window anyway. Windows users are used to the "Apply, OK" drill.

I did both, Atom and Celeron, they both conform, obviously with the Celeron version with only 2 radio buttons. I dropped "test" too from the names. I tested both new pets because I made name changes, an easy way to come unstuck.

Cheers
Atom-and-Celeron.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.7 KB
 Viewed   866 Time(s)

Atom-and-Celeron.png

eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU.pet 
Filesize  12.37 KB 
Downloaded  245 Time(s) 
eeecontrol-Atom-CPU.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  eeecontrol-Atom-CPU.pet 
Filesize  12.25 KB 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dawnsboy


Joined: 03 Dec 2008
Posts: 248
Location: Indiana - Republic of New Canada

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 09:08    Post subject: 701SD FSB is 400MHz
Subject description: spces on 701SD are different than the 701
 

@rhadon

I thought that it might be helpful to point out the following information. Note that the 701SD which was released later than 701 4G/8G models is significantly different than the 701 4G/8G series of Asus Eeepc netbooks. The motherboards and batteries are not interchangeable, the SSD drive is a removable mini PCI-e drive rather than the soldered in design present on the 701 motherboard. The case is said to be similar to that of the 900 with slightly different "edges".

However the most significant difference is the setting of the FSB at 400MHz as shown in the tabe below.

Quote:

PI DATE : April 2009
PRODUCT : Eee PC 701SD
COLOR : White
PROC : Intel Celeron M 353 (512K L2 cache, FSB: 400 MHz)
CHIPSET : Intel 9l0GML/ICH6-M
MEM : 512MB DDR2 SO DIMM, Max 2GB
STORAGE : Total: 18GB, Flash & HDD: 8GB, Online Eee storage: 10GB
DISPLAY : 7" Display 800 x 480 (WVGA), LED Backlight
GRAPHICS: Intel UMA
NTWK : 10/100 Mbps LAN, 802.11 b/g wireless,
AUDIO : Hi-Definition Audio CODEC, Build-in stereo speaker (1W for each)
Analog Mic
PORTS : 1 (D-sub 15-pin for external monitor), 3 USB 2.0, 1 RJ-45
2 Head phone / Mic-in
OS : GNU/Linux
WEBCAM : 0.3 Megapixel
CARD READER: MMC/ SD(SDHC)
BATT : 4-Cell 4400 mAH Battery
DIM : 225(W) x 160(D) x 20~32 mm(H)
WEIGHT : 950g w/ batt


The FSB on the standard 701 4G8G is 70MHz.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rhadon


Joined: 27 Mar 2008
Posts: 1293
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 05 Oct 2009, 10:25    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
rhadon, you need to install eee-0.2-k2.6.30.5.pet from...
Thank you. Shame on me. I've completely overlooked that thread Embarassed .

@ 01micko: Now your eeecontrol-CeleronM-CPU.pet works fine and looks good to me Very Happy
To be exactly, CPU speed changing works fine, testing fan control takes more time Wink

@ dawnsboy: Thanks for information. Although it's more informative for 01micko ( I have an EeePc 900 original).

~ Rolf

_________________
Ich verwende "frugal", und das ist gut so. Wink
Raspberry Pi without Puppy? No, thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0849s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0045s) ][ GZIP on ]