Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 02 Aug 2014, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy 4.3 APM won't power off [solved]
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Okeh

Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun 15 Apr 2012, 15:10    Post subject:  

This did not work on my ancient NEC desktop with AMD K6-2 processor, 256 megs of ram. I checked the bios and found that APM was not enabled. So I enabled that, but still would not fully shut down. Adding apm=on did the trick.

Its running 4.3.1.

This computer came with Windows 98, and when I upgraded it to Windows 2000 the shutdown problem started. Obviously an acpi/apm issue under windows too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 289
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 04:25    Post subject:  

Okeh wrote:
... Adding apm=on did the trick ...

Where did you add "apm=on"? In the menu.lst? Which line?
My old Medion MD96067 won't shut down, stops but leaves the screen on with the last line saying "Power down". The BIOS ist very, very simple and has no option to turn apm on or off.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Okeh

Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon 16 Apr 2012, 17:22    Post subject:  

Quote:
Where did you add "apm=on"? In the menu.lst? Which line?


I added it in the menu.1st file. Its a startup parameter or switch for "puppy".

I kept the rc.sysnit change as well, because after my last posting, removing it after the other changes caused the computer to hang again. So it seems - for some reason - I need to enable apm in the bios, use apm=on and use [ ! -d /proc/acpi ] && modprobe apm power_off=1 #v406 since none of them worked independently of the other! I'm sure someone more knowledgeable than I will tell me this can't be so!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0434s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]