Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 05:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to Add a Launchbar To the Top of Your Screen, Puppy 4.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 10:22    Post_subject:  

Dave,

Thank you for this tutorial. The new launchbar works great.

Thanks,
Jim

EDIT: I reread your first post and discovered that I had overlooked the template file that also had to be changed. Your reply was quicker than my edit. You are fast.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 24 Sep 2009, 10:28    Post_subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Dave,

Thank you for this tutorial. The new launchbar works great, however, I have one problem. Whenever, I add a pet or make any changes that affect the menu, I have to go back and edit the /root/.jwmrc to add the include code back. What file should this code be placed into so that the code is automatically included in updates?

Thanks,
Jim


OK, Jim, there is a template file which has to be edited. I mentioned it in the first section of the post. It is in /etc/xdg/templates and is called _root_jwmrc
Just add your tray include command there, and you will then be set.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 07:15    Post_subject:  

note that My Documents as in
Code:
<TrayButton popup="Puppy" icon="/usr/share/midi-icons/folder24.png">exec:rox /mnt/home/home/user/My Documents/puppy/</TrayButton>
 

wont work because of the space in the address directory.

added restart.
now would now like to add screenshot it has something to do with /usr/share/applicatios/mtPaint-snapshot-screen-capture.desktop but i need help getting it into the launcher.

edit: so have fixed the blank space in the directory path by drag, drop and symlinking puppy folder to a different location.
Code:
<TrayButton popup="Puppy" icon="/usr/local/lib/X11/themes/Silver-Marble/pet48.png">exec:rox /mnt/home/home/puppy/</TrayButton>
also changed the icon.
didnt want to rename it because it is use by Xandros.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 13:25    Post_subject:  

For screen capture, I like to put that one in the bottom tray next to the menu button. Here is the code for that, which goes in .jwmrc-tray

Code:
<TrayButton popup="Take Screenshot" icon="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/gtkam.png">exec:mtpaintsnapshot.sh</TrayButton>


Same code for the top tray.
When you see a file in Puppy with a *.sh extension, mtpaintsnapshot.sh in this case, it means it is a little text file that has been set to run as a program, or, a 'script'. I will add a post later giving some basic ideas about scripts, because they are the most incredibly useful things Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 13:53    Post_subject:
Sub_title: "second guessing"/other trays..
 

(gr8 howto, DaveS Very Happy )
..started up as includes in /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc - since I use wbar as a more-or-less universal launcher and conky for info (with htop for more detail if desired) in various wms, I break up the 'usual' .jwmrc-tray (and comment it out in the template) into these simple autohide trays for jwm..

0) .jwmrc-tray-bottom (fairly minimal, optional small pager)
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray  autohide="true" insert="right" x="0" y="-1" border="0" height="20" >
      <TrayButton popup="showdesktop" icon="mini-desktop.xpm">showdesktop</TrayButton>
      <Pager/>
      <!-- Additional TaskList attribute: maxwidth -->
      <TaskList maxwidth="80" />
   </Tray>
</JWM>


1) .jwmrc-tray-left (oversized pager)
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray autohide="true" border="0" y="40" halign="left" width="200" layout="vertical">
      <!-- Additional Pager attributes; width, height -->
      <Pager/>
   </Tray>
</JWM>


2) .jwmrc-tray-right (jwm-dock)
Code:
<JWM>
   <Tray autohide="true" border="0" y="180" halign="right" width="32" layout="vertical">
      <Dock/>
   </Tray>
</JWM>


3) .jwmrc-tray-top (re-X button, xload/freemem)
Code:
<JWM>
 <Tray autohide="true" insert="right" valign="top" halign="right" height="27" >
  <TrayButton icon="x24.png">exec:restartwm</TrayButton> 
      <Swallow name="xload" width="90">
         xload -nolabel -fg red -hl white -bg "#24163D"
      </Swallow>
      <Swallow name="freememapplet" width="33">
         freememapplet
      </Swallow>
 </Tray>
</JWM>


Laughing those were from my p412-bone1 and some things change (like using xrefresh from wbar more than the 'hard' re-X as well as modding the lower part of jwm mainmenu via the template to keep jwm-specific menu items in jwm), hope those few samples weren't too terribly off-topic for this thread..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 14:21    Post_subject:  

DaveS wrote:
For screen capture, I like to put that one in the bottom tray next to the menu button. Here is the code for that, which goes in .jwmrc-tray

Code:
<TrayButton popup="Take Screenshot" icon="/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/gtkam.png">exec:mtpaintsnapshot.sh</TrayButton>


Same code for the top tray.
When you see a file in Puppy with a *.sh extension, mtpaintsnapshot.sh in this case, it means it is a little text file that has been set to run as a program, or, a 'script'. I will add a post later giving some basic ideas about scripts, because they are the most incredibly useful things Smile

your icon isnt my 430.
info about scripts sounds good even though i've got just about everything i needed now: java and opera10final (also java jin chess) all symlinked from outside the pupsave, top fast launcher, changed wallpaper and icons, pwidgets, wifidown button on desktop. i'm pretty satisfied. but if you have some other must haves i'm ready and willing to give them a try.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 14:34    Post_subject:  

Aarf, that particular icon is in Puppies 4.3.1, which I now use as my default Puppy because among other things, it uses Firefox instead of Seamonkey. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=46727

Tip: often, you will be wanting to set up a quick launcher on a pop-up bar for something that is in the menu system. You can steal the command and icon from said menu system. They can be found in /root/.jwmrc

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 14:37    Post_subject:  

'foo, thanks for that. Truth is, once you understand the basics, the only limitation is ones imagination. That is why I like hand configuring these things.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 14:46    Post_subject:  

aarf wrote:
if you have some other must haves i'm ready and willing to give them a try.


I usually add the back-up tool grsync http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=258173&sid=e2b8625fc0803402b128d07918ae5aa2

It has one small bug in that when you open it for the very first time, if you want to add a file/directory via the little browse icon, you MUST pot something, anything, in the path window first, or it will fall over. this is due to not having a default grsync.ini file until after the first use.

For me, petmaker plus from Trio is a must have too. Install it, because I an going to mention it on this thread soon.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=290171

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 15:11    Post_subject:  

In scanning this thread, I didn't see anything regarding a valuable feature of JWM - namely the "-p" option, which parses the configuration file(s) and reports any problems. It's important to run "jwm -p" before restarting JWM with a new configuration file because if there's a syntax error in your configuration, you're going to be crippled with a very sick WM.

Trust me. Been there. Done that. Wasn't fun.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 15:25    Post_subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
In scanning this thread, I didn't see anything regarding a valuable feature of JWM - namely the "-p" option, which parses the configuration file(s) and reports any problems. It's important to run "jwm -p" before restarting JWM with a new configuration file because if there's a syntax error in your configuration, you're going to be crippled with a very sick WM.

Trust me. Been there. Done that. Wasn't fun.


Since the recent updates to JWM, rounded corners etc, jwm -p usually reports errors where there are none, so it can be a bit sketch relying on it..........

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sat 26 Sep 2009, 15:29    Post_subject:  

I assume the false flag error reports from "jwm -p" are on the Puppy user "enchanced" JWM, and not the official release of JWM, as I have experienced no such false flags with my Arch Linux installation of JWM v2.0.1.

Code:

[jeff@kayak ~]$ jwm -v
JWM v2.0.1 by Joe Wingbermuehle
compiled options: confirm icons png shape xft xinerama xpm xrender
system configuration: /etc/system.jwmrc

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 12:34    Post_subject: and beyondish
Sub_title: Pink Floyd
 

Laughing aj's still almost right about "current version", according to Joe's jwm homepage - revisiting here for some tippage

a) more recent jwm dotpets may overwrite a custom /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc (with the separated .jwmrc-tray-* includes) with a more-or-less 'standard' template so be aware of that when upgrading jwm with a dotpet - an alternative is to do multiple tray sections in the single /root/.jwmrc-tray file

b) some changes to accomodate new features such as the Pager array of rows and columns (jwm 500 and above)

BK's blog links from early 2011
JWM 500
Jwmconfig2 20101229-bk
JWM, Jwmconfig pkgs upgraded

.. most recent dotpet of jwm for me is jwm2-574-w5c, fwiw

.. there's a dropdown selector in jwmconfig,JWMtab->Tray Management->Tray Configuration Options->Virtual Desktops that stops at 2 rows (vertical), but you can type in 3 or more and that works nicely (or edit /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal to suit your array preference) - here's a link to a fairly recent post of mine with more detail on futzing about with jwm tray stuff

further note - if the template is changed, you usually have to do a "fixmenus" and jwm reload, but merely editing tray file(s) only needs a quick reload of jwm to see results of your editing

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jun 2012, 12:46    Post_subject:  

I should update this really to show how the additional tray can be specified in /root/.jwmrc-tray, by specifying a second tray inside two tray tags, <tray> </tray>, thus making the 'include' statement redundant.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1061s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0122s) ][ GZIP on ]