Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 16:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Puppies 4.31.1 Puppy linux 4.30 Plus fixes and FireFox 3.5.3
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 15 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 15:04    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
well glad to have ya Dave Smile also 2.14X Opens that page just fine Smile
But its using FF3.5.3
ttuuxxx


Updated to 3.5.3 here too. Would be nice to start a Puppies 4.3 tips and tricks thread (strictly no bugs). Will probably start one soon with 'turning firefox into a podcast client' Smile

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HeathenKaer

Joined: 26 Jul 2009
Posts: 11
Location: Florida

PostPosted: Sun 27 Sep 2009, 20:01    Post subject: Re: Taskbar Woes  

Edited because I fixed it.

Not exactly sure how I fixed it, but thankful to have done so. Involved a lot of reboots, changing IceWM pref file, and many, many more reboots.

Works now.

Thanks for your assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5971
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 02:32    Post subject:  

Glad to see that you solved your problem.

Good job. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 15:57    Post subject:  

This is the first time I ever ran a browser with flashblock enabled. Geeze it speeds up browsing. Thanks Ttuuxxx.
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9040

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 16:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
This is the first time I ever ran a browser with flashblock enabled. Geeze it speeds up browsing. Thanks Ttuuxxx.

once tried always used...some pages grind to a halt without it

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fm1st


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Rio de Janeiro

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 23:16    Post subject: Can't change the Tray Configuration Options
Subject description: when clicking the TRAY MANAGEMENT button
 

ttuuxxx wrote:
HeathenKaer wrote:
First, I must say, this is a gorgeous puppy. Wow!

I have two teensy-tiny problems, both related to the same issue.

1) In JWM, I cannot move the tray to the top.
I get this error:
Change Reversed
New config corrupt. Keeping original

try installing the shutdown menu
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=16983
ttuuxxx


Please help out! I am running "puppies-431.1-main-Xserver.iso" straight from the box and it looks like so far as there's only one problem:

I can't change the Tray Configuration Options (e.g. Virtual Desktops) when clicking the TRAY MANAGEMENT button, via Menu/Desktop/JWM configuration/Tray Management.

When I try to change any of the five options I get the same error HeathenKaer got:
"Change Reversed
New config corrupt. Keeping original"

I tried installing the shutdown menu, as suggested by ttuuxxx, but didn't succeed - either it did not help or I was not able to correctly do it.

For coincidence, I notice a flaw in window "JWM Configuration Manager": The "Tray management" text and icon are outstanding, compared with the other five possible selections.

Therefore please help out looking into it ... I really love the Puppy OS and all its applications and possibilities. I am looking forward to learn further and hope some day to also be able to create my own puplet.

Thanks a lot in advance
saudações
fm1st

===========
BTW, this is minimal but for consistency I would suggest the button name "Tray management" and its following window "Tray Configuration Options" to be equally named, with either words MANAGEMENT or CONFIGURATION in "Tray ... " and "Tray ... Options".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 23:35    Post subject: Re: Can't change the Tray Configuration Options
Subject description: when clicking the TRAY MANAGEMENT button
 

fm1st wrote:

I can't change the Tray Configuration Options (e.g. Virtual Desktops) when clicking the TRAY MANAGEMENT button, via Menu/Desktop/JWM configuration/Tray Management.

When I try to change any of the five options I get the same error HeathenKaer got:
"Change Reversed
New config corrupt. Keeping original"

I tried installing the shutdown menu, as suggested by ttuuxxx, but didn't succeed - either it did not help or I was not able to correctly do it.

For coincidence, I notice a flaw in window "JWM Configuration Manager": The "Tray management" text and icon are outstanding, compared with the other five possible selections.

Therefore please help out looking into it ... I really love the Puppy OS and all its applications and possibilities. I am looking forward to learn further and hope some day to also be able to create my own puplet.
.

I'm using 2.14Xv12 right now and probably for the next week or so, but I'll try to help Smile
first restart x-server then try setting the jwm tray
then open as text /tmp/xerrs.log
and try to find the error and post it here.
also you can manually edit the tray settings by editing
/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal <--- hidden folder
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fm1st


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Rio de Janeiro

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 02:47    Post subject: Re: Can't change the Tray Configuration Options
Subject description: when clicking the TRAY MANAGEMENT button
 

ttuuxxx wrote:
first restart x-server then try setting the jwm tray
then open as text /tmp/xerrs.log
and try to find the error and post it here.


1st "xerrs.log" file after attempting to change taskbarHeight:

X Window System Version 1.3.0
Release Date: 19 April 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 1.3
Build Operating System: UNKNOWN
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc 2.6.30.5 #1 SMP Tue Sep 1 15:48:26 GMT-8 2009 i686
Build Date: 28 November 2007
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Sep 29 02:16:22 2009
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (module does not exist, 0)
(II) Module already built-in
(II) Module already built-in
(II) Module already built-in
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/vendor: No such file or directory
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/model: No such file or directory
expr: non-numeric argument
/usr/sbin/background_reshape: line 44: [: -ge: unary operator expected
/usr/sbin/background_reshape: line 63: [: 819,2: integer expression expected
/usr/bin/jwm
usage: absvolume -bg is no longer supported, ignoring.
Try restarting X to pickup new gtk background colour.
JWM: warning: /root/.jwmrc[147]: invalid entity: "& secure"
killall: freememapplet: no process killed
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
Setting up watches.
Watches established.
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/taskbarHeight: line 121: [: too many arguments
/usr/sbin/delayedrun: line 61: 22709 Terminated yaf-splash -display :0 -margin 2 -bg thistle -bw 0 -placement top -font "9x15B" -outline 0 -text "Welcome! Click here for getting-started information"


2nd "xerrs.log" file after attempting to change virtualDesk:

X Window System Version 1.3.0
Release Date: 19 April 2007
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 1.3
Build Operating System: UNKNOWN
Current Operating System: Linux puppypc 2.6.30.5 #1 SMP Tue Sep 1 15:48:26 GMT-8 2009 i686
Build Date: 28 November 2007
Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Tue Sep 29 02:05:42 2009
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "dri" (module does not exist, 0)
(II) Module already built-in
(II) Module already built-in
(II) Module already built-in
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/vendor: No such file or directory
cat: /sys/block/fd0/device/model: No such file or directory
expr: non-numeric argument
/usr/sbin/background_reshape: line 44: [: -ge: unary operator expected
/usr/sbin/background_reshape: line 63: [: 819,2: integer expression expected
/usr/bin/jwm
usage: absvolume -bg is no longer supported, ignoring.
Try restarting X to pickup new gtk background colour.
JWM: warning: /root/.jwmrc[147]: invalid entity: "& secure"
killall: freememapplet: no process killed
kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] [pid | job]... or kill -l [sigspec]
Setting up watches.
Watches established.
/usr/sbin/delayedrun: line 61: 16298 Terminated yaf-splash -display :0 -margin 2 -bg thistle -bw 0 -placement top -font "9x15B" -outline 0 -text "Welcome! Click here for getting-started information"
/usr/local/jwmconfig2/virtualDesk: line 83: [: too many arguments


Quote:
also you can manually edit the tray settings by editing
/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal <--- hidden folder
ttuuxxx


Well, I was already fussing/exploring files around, had just found file "/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal" and was experimenting some edits.
I could easily change virtual desktops from default 2 to 4 but could not figure out how to successfully change tray position from bottom to top.
In addition, I was able to edit to change the snap mode from none to border. INTERESTING: I could not find how to set it nowhere in any GUI. (I think I tried all that made sense.)
Well, I guess there might a number of possibilities to directly edit all kinds of things in this file and in other similar ones, rather then through different GUIs, which I guess would still need development/coding. But don't bother about it now. For now - and when you have time - I just would like to have the errors of the tray settings, in the GUI, fixed.

See below file "/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal"

<!-- Personally configurable options for JWM: these override default settings and theme settings -->

<JWM>

<!-- Number of virtual desktops -->
<Desktops count="4"/>

<!-- Double click speed (in milliseconds) -->
<DoubleClickSpeed>400</DoubleClickSpeed>

<!-- Double click delta (in pixels) -->
<DoubleClickDelta>3</DoubleClickDelta>

<!-- The focus model (sloppy or click) -->
<FocusModel>click</FocusModel>

<!-- The snap mode (none, screen, or border) -->
<SnapMode distance="10">border</SnapMode>

<!-- The move mode (outline or opaque) -->
<MoveMode>outline</MoveMode>

<!-- The resize mode (outline or opaque) -->
<ResizeMode>outline</ResizeMode>

<!-- Key bindings -->
<Key key="Up">up</Key>
<Key key="Down">down</Key>
<Key key="Right">right</Key>
<Key key="Left">left</Key>
<Key key="h">left</Key>
<Key key="j">down</Key>
<Key key="k">up</Key>
<Key key="l">right</Key>
<Key key="Return">select</Key>
<Key key="Escape">escape</Key>
<Key key="F12">root:3</Key>

<Key mask="A" key="Tab">next</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F4">close</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F10">maximize</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F6">minimize</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="#">desktop#</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F1">root:3</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F2">window</Key>

</JWM>

There is also a file "/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal2"

As it is dated Nov.5th, 2006 it doesn't get updated. Also, to me, as noobie, it does look a little as if it is not too clear and have problems.
For example, the two following extracted instructions:
<!-- Tray Autohide -->
<Tray autohide="true" insert="left"/>

<!-- Number of virtual desktops -->
<DesktopCount>3</DesktopCount>


See the complete file below below:

<!-- Personally configurable options for JWM: these override default settings and theme settings -->

<JWM>

<!-- Tray Autohide -->
<Tray autohide="true" insert="left"/>

<!-- Number of virtual desktops -->
<DesktopCount>3</DesktopCount>

<!-- Double click speed (in milliseconds) -->
<DoubleClickSpeed>400</DoubleClickSpeed>

<!-- Double click delta (in pixels) -->
<DoubleClickDelta>3</DoubleClickDelta>

<!-- The focus model (sloppy or click) -->
<FocusModel>sloppy</FocusModel>

<!-- The snap mode (none, screen, or border) -->
<SnapMode distance="10">none</SnapMode>

<!-- The move mode (outline or opaque) -->
<MoveMode>outline</MoveMode>

<!-- The resize mode (outline or opaque) -->
<ResizeMode>outline</ResizeMode>

<!-- Key bindings -->
<Key mask="C" key="m">exec:partmount</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="w">exec:opera</Key>
<Key mask="C" key="t">exec:greenrxvt</Key>
<Key key="Up">up</Key>
<Key key="Down">down</Key>
<Key key="Right">right</Key>
<Key key="Left">left</Key>
<Key key="h">left</Key>
<Key key="j">down</Key>
<Key key="k">up</Key>
<Key key="l">right</Key>
<Key key="Return">select</Key>
<Key key="Escape">escape</Key>
<Key key="F12">root:1</Key>

<Key mask="A" key="Tab">next</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F4">close</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F10">maximize</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F6">minimize</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="#">desktop#</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F1">root:1</Key>
<Key mask="A" key="F2">window</Key>

</JWM>

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I am running live CD in a CD-RW media, burnt for Multisession. (I know I read it somewhere that it is not recommendable to use RW for mutisessions)

EDIT 2: So far I have not yet done any single saving with this media.


Thanks a lot so far
fm1st
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 04:02    Post subject:  

to get the taskbar at the top this should be your first line in /root/.jwmrc-tray should be
<Tray autohide="false" insert="right" x="0" y="0" border="0" height="26" >


also you might want to delete /root/.recently-used.xbel and restart X-server
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 06:23    Post subject:  

fm1st try this file, I think It might work, another forum member noticed a & in a .desktop file, I found the one in question, it was Pcrypt, who ever made that .desktop file for pcrypt did a bad job on it, about 40% was missing and the use a "&" in the description for the name. I guess JWM hates that so here's a fix, install it and restart X-server and see if it works Smile
ttuuxxx
jwmfix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  jwmfix.pet 
Filesize  500 Bytes 
Downloaded  1559 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fm1st


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Rio de Janeiro

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 10:17    Post subject: taskbar change from bottom to top (it worked)  

ttuuxxx wrote:
to get the taskbar at the top this should be your first line in /root/.jwmrc-tray should be
<Tray autohide="false" insert="right" x="0" y="0" border="0" height="26" >


also you might want to delete /root/.recently-used.xbel and restart X-server
ttuuxxx


ttuuxxx, it worked with your instructions above.

thanks a lot
fm1st
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fm1st


Joined: 28 Sep 2009
Posts: 26
Location: Rio de Janeiro

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 10:33    Post subject: No more errors in the tray settings - they were fixed!  

ttuuxxx wrote:
fm1st try this file, I think It might work, another forum member noticed a & in a .desktop file, I found the one in question, it was Pcrypt, who ever made that .desktop file for pcrypt did a bad job on it, about 40% was missing and the use a "&" in the description for the name. I guess JWM hates that so here's a fix, install it and restart X-server and see if it works Smile
ttuuxxx


ttuuxxx, with your instructions above it has worked - no more errors in the tray settings!

thank you very much!

saudações
fm1st
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rgs

Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 38
Location: New England, USA

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 13:36    Post subject: Cups v1.1.23 in Puppies 4.31.1
Subject description: can't print with cups 1.1.23, need 1.3.10
 

EDITED
I just learned from Patriot that a Puppy pc connected to a router will publish, via cups, the installed printers. A second pc connected to that same router will see the printers from the other pc as installed when cups is opened on the second pc. So it appears that puppy automatically shares any installed network printers.

I still have the following problem:

I can print with Puppy 4.21 using cups 1.3.10 and a .pet provided by Muggins. Works fine on 4 laptops and one desktop.

I cannot print using Puppies 4.31.1 using cups 1.1.23
.
For some reason, Barry went back to cups 1.1.23 on his Puppy 4.3.

Since TTUUXXX said that he had to modify v1.1.23 cups in puppies 4.31.1, would the same modifications need to added to cups 1.3.10?

Would upgrading Puppy 4.31.1 to cups 1.3.10 cause a problem with Firefox or anything else?

My thread in the hardware>printers section has more details and an answer from Patriot that says I need to use cups v1.3.10 in order to get my printer to work with Puppies 4.31.1.

Thanks ttuuxxx for all you have done to create this neat Puppy version.

Last edited by rgs on Sat 03 Oct 2009, 11:52; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 16:37    Post subject:  

<p>
DaveS wrote:
This is the first time I ever ran a browser with flashblock enabled. Geeze it speeds up browsing. Thanks Ttuuxxx.

</p>
<p>&nbsp;
</p>
<p>Not so sure of the usefulness of <strong>Xina Here</strong> though
<br />
</p>

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gedrean


Joined: 05 Jun 2009
Posts: 138

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 16:45    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Not so sure of the usefulness of Xina Here


I removed it myself as well -- too screwy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 15 of 19 [279 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1245s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]