Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 20:23
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
1.0.7a: update for XorgWizard, 15Dec2005
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 18:24    Post subject:  1.0.7a: update for XorgWizard, 15Dec2005  

From here:
http://www.pupweb.org/test/

Lots more features, bugfixes.
It should be much easier for people who are unfamiliar with X
and who would be intimidated having to edit xorg.conf directly.
It should cater very nicely for both cases, a plug-and-play
monitor and a non-plug-and-play monitor.

Kindly test on your hardware, let me know what happens.
Requires Pup 1.0.7alpha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 21:10    Post subject:  

Incorporated the new xorgwizard (which on downloading just auto-opened as a text file? which I copied over the old file in usr/sbin)

I ran xorgwizard. Selecting 1280x1024. (Edit: What a fool - I did not press space to select - when I did it was OK - am in the higher res now - the settings below are the default - will run the test again . . .)
It then ran the test box (with the artic whale fin pic) with the following settings displayed:
Code:

- 800x600
hz 46.875
Refresh 75


which would seem correct from what happened next
get-edid (see below) is reporting the wrong settings

I also tried the wacom tablet and running the mouse wizard from the xorg wizard - but no luck there so I suppose some manual settings? (no tablet device is available in mtpaint)

Code:
# get-edid | parse-edid
get-edid: get-edid version 1.4.1

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        VBE version 300
        VBE string at 0xc0df0 "S3 Incorporated. Savage4"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Report DDC capabilities

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
        Monitor and video card combination supports DDC2 transfers
        0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
        Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Read EDID

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

parse-edid: parse-edid version 1.4.1
parse-edid: EDID checksum passed.

        # EDID version 1 revision 3
Section "Monitor"
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
        Identifier "LM-700"
        VendorName "AOC"
        ModelName "LM-700"
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        HorizSync 30-80
        VertRefresh 55-75
        # Max dot clock (video bandwidth) 130 MHz
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
        # DPMS capabilities: Active off:yes  Suspend:no  Standby:no

        Mode    "1280x1024"     # vfreq 75.025Hz, hfreq 79.976kHz
                DotClock        135.000000
                HTimings        1280 1296 1440 1688
                VTimings        1024 1025 1028 1066
                Flags   "-HSync" "-VSync"
        EndMode
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
EndSection


I have not done any manual config (as yet)

Hope this is useful. Anything further you would recommend?

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 21:27    Post subject:  

these are the settings after I used space to select 1280 x 1024 (previous post I did not press space just moved to that position and clicked OK)

Display seems OK
when running the xorg from the menu the system reboots and you go through the setup of mouse etc sequence again . . .

Code:
# get-edid | parse-edid
get-edid: get-edid version 1.4.1

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f00 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        VBE version 300
        VBE string at 0xc0df0 "S3 Incorporated. Savage4"

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Report DDC capabilities

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x0 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

        Monitor and video card combination does not support DDC1 transfers
        Monitor and video card combination supports DDC2 transfers
        0 seconds per 128 byte EDID block transfer
        Screen is not blanked during DDC transfer

Reading next EDID block

VBE/DDC service about to be called
        Read EDID

        Performing real mode VBE call
        Interrupt 0x10 ax=0x4f15 bx=0x1 cx=0x0
        Function supported
        Call successful

parse-edid: parse-edid version 1.4.1
parse-edid: EDID checksum passed.

        # EDID version 1 revision 3
Section "Monitor"
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
        Identifier "LM-700"
        VendorName "AOC"
        ModelName "LM-700"
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        HorizSync 30-80
        VertRefresh 55-75
        # Max dot clock (video bandwidth) 130 MHz
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
        # DPMS capabilities: Active off:yes  Suspend:no  Standby:no

        Mode    "1280x1024"     # vfreq 75.025Hz, hfreq 79.976kHz
                DotClock        135.000000
                HTimings        1280 1296 1440 1688
                VTimings        1024 1025 1028 1066
                Flags   "-HSync" "-VSync"
        EndMode
        # Block type: 2:0 3:ff
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fd
        # Block type: 2:0 3:fc
EndSection
#

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 22:39    Post subject:  

it seems to work ok on my machine ... no duplicated HorizSync line

it puts
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
in the "Device" section ... i comment that out, because it doesn't seem to be necessary ... it doesn't seem to hurt anything, of course ... maybe it's needed for machines with more than one video card

everything else seems to be perfect ... mouse, video driver, video modes, monitor ... actually, many distros are a lot worse ... for example, when i boot the pclinuxos live cd, i have to boot to console mode, edit xorg.conf with vi, to change the video driver (always set to vesa), resolution (always set to 1600x1400 or something), refresh rate (always set to 60 hz), then start X ... otherwise, if you try to restart X, it reboots, and changes to xorg.conf are lost ... i think i also have to edit xorg.conf to get the mouse wheel to work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11157
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 Dec 2005, 22:53    Post subject: Re: 1.0.7a: update for XorgWizard, 15Dec2005  

BarryK wrote:
From here:
http://www.pupweb.org/test/

Lots more features, bugfixes.
It should be much easier for people who are unfamiliar with X
and who would be intimidated having to edit xorg.conf directly.
It should cater very nicely for both cases, a plug-and-play
monitor and a non-plug-and-play monitor.

Kindly test on your hardware, let me know what happens.
Requires Pup 1.0.7alpha.

Booted the 1.0.7(a) live CD with boot option 4 (no hard drive), Xvesa. Got online, went to the forum and clicked on the above link. It appeared to my rheumy old eyes that the .gz file automatically gunzipped when it gdownloaded. I right-clicked in it and chose Select All, then Copy to put it on the clipboard. Then I clicked on the Edit icon on the desktop to open Beaver, clicked File -> Open in Beaver, found /usr/sbin/xorgwizard and opened it in Beaver, right-clicked in the file, chose Select All, then Paste. The text changed slightly, which I took to indicate that the file from the clipboard had replaced the original. Again I clicked File in Beaver but this time chose Save. Beaver said it saved the file so I exited Beaver, did ctrl-alt-backspace then typed xorgwizard at the prompt.

Sorry I can't remember what the various wizard dialog windows said, but I made what seemed to be the appropriate choices as I went through them. I do remember that although my LCD monitor is capable of 1280 x 760 the maximum resolution the wizard said was supported was only 800 x 600. So I get to the last xorgwizard window and take the plunge. The screen goes black. I wait a full minute then try ctrl-alt-backspace: nothing. I try ctrl-alt-delete: nothing. Then I tried every key on the keyboard: still nothing but black. I had to push the power-off button on the computer to reboot.

The wizard itself seems to be working fine now; there seems to be some incompatibility with my hardware. This happens when I run the unmodified xorgwizard too. I have the i815T chipset with onboard video.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2005, 07:16    Post subject:  

My results with new xorgwizard:
-Chose 1280x1024x16 from list
    Report on X test: success
    Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels
    Horz freq: unknown kHz
    Refresh freq: unknown Hz

    The "unknown" means...wizard cannot continue"

And I end up in text mode...hmm, worked last time
-execute "xwin", X starts up fine.
-check xorg.conf, values are as before except:

    Section "Monitor"
    #DisplaySize 340 270 # mm
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "BNQ"
    ModelName "BenQ FP731"
    HorizSync 31.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
    Option "DPMS" <== missing this time
    EndSection

This section is the same as before:
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024"
    EndSubsection
    EndSection

As another user pointed out, I also had to change "auto" to "IMPS/2" to get the scroll wheel to work (Logitech optical wheel mouse):

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    # Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
    #Option "Emulate3Buttons"
    #Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
    EndSection

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 368
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2005, 16:17    Post subject: New Xorgwizard results  

Tested on two older systems so far.

1: IBM i1400 thinkpad, neomagic video, older LCD (1024x768 60 Hz not auto detected so manual choices displayed)

Works correctly, no extra lines, refresh rate needed to be tweaked down to 60. I edited xorg.conf on this one.

2: Pine AGP card based on SIS 6326 chip, CTX 5700 15 inch CRT.

Worked correctly, Same refresh rates as previously, no extra lines, "DPMS" option chosen correctly, maximum monitor refresh rate of 85 Hz chosen, Tweak refresh worked well to lower it to 75Hz.

One comment. The hardware probing and parsing is quite slow so a caution to that effect at the beginning
of the wizard might head off a few operator errors.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy X-slacko 2.2.1n, Lxpup-Tahr, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.14.20 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2005, 18:17    Post subject:  

pakt wrote:
My results with new xorgwizard:
-Chose 1280x1024x16 from list
[list]Report on X test: success
Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels
Horz freq: unknown kHz
Refresh freq: unknown Hz


Paul,
Your problem is occurring in this code in xorgwizard:

Code:
TESTMODELINE="`xvidtune -display :0 -show | tr -s " "`"
CLOCKMHZ=`echo -n "$TESTMODELINE" | cut -f 2 -d " "`
CLOCKHZ=`dc $CLOCKMHZ 1000000 \* p`
XTOTAL=`echo -n "$TESTMODELINE" | cut -f 6 -d " "`
YTOTAL=`echo -n "$TESTMODELINE" | cut -f 10 -d " "`
XTEST=`echo -n "$TESTMODELINE" | cut -f 3 -d " "`
YTEST=`echo -n "$TESTMODELINE" | cut -f 7 -d " "`

VRTEST=`dc $CLOCKHZ $XTOTAL \/ $YTOTAL \/ p`
HSTEST=`dc $CLOCKHZ $XTOTAL \/ 1000 \/ p`

[ "$VRTEST" = "nan" ] && VRTEST='unknown'
[ "$HSTEST" = "nan" ] && HSTEST='unknown'

Could you open a terminal window and try some experiments:
Code:
xvidtune -show | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "

The above line should return the video clock, in MHz.
Let's call that CLOCKMHZ.
Then try this:
Code:
dc $CLOCKMHZ 1000000 \* p

That should change it to Hz.
Code:
xvidtune -show | tr -s " " | cut -f 6 -d " "

The above line will return x interval, call it XTOTAL.
Then try this:
Code:
dc $CLOCKHZ $XTOTAL \/ 1000 \/ p

To get the Horiz Sync frequency.

...hopefully you will then be able to find out why "dc" is
returning "nan" (not a number).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2005, 18:24    Post subject: Re: New Xorgwizard results  

Marv wrote:
One comment. The hardware probing and parsing is quite slow so a caution to that effect at the beginning
of the wizard might head off a few operator errors.


Marv,
The Wizard does have this:

Press TAB then ENTER for Xorg (probing will take a few secs)...

Maybe that is an understatement, and should be
" (probing may take several seconds)..."
or
" (PLEASE WAIT, probing will take several seconds)..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToday
Guest


PostPosted: Thu 15 Dec 2005, 20:00    Post subject: worked on my hardware  

Barry, your xorg wizard worked well for me. The original selected a conservative frequency because my monitor is not PnP (so assumed basic 15"). The new wizard gave me the opportunity to indicate that it's a 17" and resulted in higher frequency. XTest reported correctly for me. Thanks!
Back to top
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2005, 04:17    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:

Could you open a terminal window and try some experiments:
Code:
xvidtune -show | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "

That gives: 0.00

I then tried:
# xvidtune -show
"1280x1024" 0.00 1280 0 0 0 1024 0 0 0

There's the problem - the code is manipulating zeros...

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2005, 07:54    Post subject:  

pakt wrote:
BarryK wrote:

Could you open a terminal window and try some experiments:
Code:
xvidtune -show | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "

That gives: 0.00

I then tried:
# xvidtune -show
"1280x1024" 0.00 1280 0 0 0 1024 0 0 0

There's the problem - the code is manipulating zeros...

Paul


Hmmm, I wonder if there is any other way to get the current actual horiz and vert frequencies.

I wonder what it is about your hardware that is upsetting xvidtune...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri 16 Dec 2005, 09:19    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
pakt wrote:
BarryK wrote:

Could you open a terminal window and try some experiments:
Code:
xvidtune -show | tr -s " " | cut -f 2 -d " "

That gives: 0.00

I then tried:
# xvidtune -show
"1280x1024" 0.00 1280 0 0 0 1024 0 0 0

There's the problem - the code is manipulating zeros...

Paul


Hmmm, I wonder if there is any other way to get the current actual horiz and vert frequencies.

I wonder what it is about your hardware that is upsetting xvidtune...

If I run xvidtune w/o switches I get:
    # xvidtune
    Vendor: BNQ, Model: BenQ FP731
    Num hsync: 1, Num vsync: 1
    hsync range 0: 31.00 - 81.00
    vsync range 0: 56.00 - 75.00
    Video are not settable on this chip

Just before the last line is printed, a small window pops up telling me "Video are not settable on this chip". I then have to click "Okay" for the window to close.

Obviously, xvidtune can determine the frequencies. Too bad it is just in interactive mode...

BTW, it has nothing to do with my external 17" TFT screen. When I disconnect it and delete xorg.conf, I get:
    # xvidtune -show
    "1024x768" 0.00 1024 0 0 0 768 0 0 0

    # xvidtune
    Vendor: CMO, Model: 1502
    Num hsync: 1, Num vsync: 1
    hsync range 0: 31.50 - 48.50
    vsync range 0: 40.00 - 70.00
    Video are not settable on this chip
    #

(As you see, the resolution and frequencies do change because of the different screens.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
J_Rey


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 276
Location: Northwest Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 17 Dec 2005, 14:48    Post subject:  

Well, I updated xorgwizard the same way as Flash mentioned. I still have the same results as before with some new discoveries. I have not been able to do anything with the test mode at the end of the xorgwizard (frozen with either blank screen or vertical lines). The only way I can get into X.Org is with a reboot and loading the previous pup004 file. The xorgwizard lists 640x480 (16 & 24), 800x600 (16 & 24) as supported (xvesa the same up to 16-bit mode), 1024x768 and higher as unsupported, and a few as dangerous. 800x600@24 freezes on boot and so makes pup004 unusable. 800x600@16 & 1024x768@24 works but a lot of portions are scrambled, I'm barely able to navigate (see my my screen capture below). The 640x480 modes work but its too low of a resolution for practical/normal use. Although, like Barry mentioned on his news page (8 Dec, 2005), I'm using the virtual screen feature to expand it to 800x600 which makes it OK but kinda annoying without a scroll wheel mouse.

While I was in low-res mode I viewed the xorg.conf file and it correctly identified my video card as shown in the (uncommented) Device sections:
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "i810"
VendorName "Intel Corp."
BoardName "82810 DC-100 CGC [Chipset Graphics Controller]"
BusID "PCI:0:1:0"

So, like Flash, I suspect it is from poor driver support/incompatiblity with my graphics chipset. So, I would suggest we have:
  • a kernel parameter/boot option to not start X at boot
  • a message in the initial xorgwizard better clarifying that xvesa w/ XFree86 will work on most any video card and X.Org may not work properly but supports many more display options
BTW, I have installed the xorg682.pup on 1.0.6 but have yet to run the xorgwizard and all that.

EDIT: added a little about the virtual screen thing
EDIT2: moved image offsite


Last edited by J_Rey on Sat 07 Jan 2006, 14:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 17 Dec 2005, 18:34    Post subject:  

pakt,
Can you test the program "xrandr", attached.
Just type "xrandr" on the commandline, and see if it gives you
the vertical refresh frequency.

If it does, then I will use that as a fallback for when xvidtune
doesn't work.

Knowing the vert freq, I should be able to calculate the horiz
freq.
xrandr.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xrandr.gz 
Filesize  5.13 KB 
Downloaded  344 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1333s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]