Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 03:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Recording wav files from LPs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Brian Prewett

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 07:29    Post_subject:  Recording wav files from LPs  

Hi All, I am new to Puppy and I like it.

I have been working through my LP collection and saving them to wav files using Windows. Is there an app in the standard Puppy that will record a wav file from Line In on my Creative Xi Fi sound card ? I am not sure about installing extra apps yet.

Thanks in advance . . .Brian
rjbrewer

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 08:40    Post_subject:  

The standard command line audio recorder in linux is "wavrec."
A google search will provide the greatest amount of info.

Wav files can be played by dragging the file to the player (gxine?).

If playing back with "wavplay", they can be stopped with "killall wavplay".

A little help from within Puppy:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=5938#5938

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

davesurrey

PostPosted: Tue 08 Sep 2009, 10:10    Post_subject:  

Hello Brian,
Welcome to Puppy!

Over the last few years I have converted my Vinyl, Philips compact cassette, RDat and MiniDisc collections plus over 1200 CDs and the one thing I learned was to plan ahead.