Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 09:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3 Beta2 -- bugs and reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 15 [219 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 18:06    Post subject:  

Do you plan to add an option in Package Manager to remove the "invisible packages" ?
It would simplify building derivatives.

And Pet-be-gone has a problem with xdialog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jakfish

Joined: 18 Jul 2008
Posts: 756

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 18:14    Post subject:  

For eee users, looking over the comments posted about beta2 and my own experience, I think the later kernel isn't much of an option. Hopefully, Barry will have a change of heart and release a final 4.3 version with the 2.6.25.16 kernel.

If not, I could live with running my computer life with beta1. It's stable, precisely because of Barry and others' hard work.

Jake
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 18:42    Post subject:  

b43 legacy wireless works perfectly. i love it. Very Happy

i prefer this "more professional" look also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:18    Post subject:  

Kal wrote:
So far, just one very minor error, forgot to remarkout the Corner lines in /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc for the newer jwm (picky, picky). I think, I really like the default icons, at first not sure.

Very Good so far, Thanks, Kal

Ok, I've taken those <corner> tags out.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:25    Post subject:  

paulh177 wrote:
i've been running 430beta1 frugal since it was released, using the subdir method.
this created a pp4asave-430beta1.2fs file ... did i have finger trouble? I can't remember, I thought this was the filename Puppy created automatically.
whatever, beta1 found it no problem

have created a new subdir with 430beta2 and updated my menu.lst and copied across the old save file(s)

beta2 boots fine but ignores the save files and comes up as if it's a new install.

either i'm being dim (likely) or there's an odd problem (possible)

paul

Rename the old save file from 'pp4asave-430beta1.2fs' to 'pupsave-430beta1.2fs'. Or 'pupsave-anything.2fs'.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:30    Post subject: Re: Corrected Intel536 modem sriver dotpet
Subject description: Old one had incorrect kernel names
 

rerwin wrote:
2. Regarding the background and icon text: With the dark grey background, the black icon labels are difficult or impossible for me to read. I think they should be white, but don't know how to change them. Is there a user-friendly/easy way to change the desktop text color?

If I keep zigbert's background for 4.3final, I could revert the text to white with black outline, as before.

It is easy to set this as you want: right-click on any desktop icon, choose ROX-Filer -> Options.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:34    Post subject:  

Hi Barry, thanks for the ALL back, as you say it is a bit slow
in finding all the files in A-Z Also shows the same problem
in moving thro' puppy4 - puppy3 - puppy2. A progress window would
be nice if that helps.

My next one is that IMAGINATION V1.5 opens large than my screen
set res 1024 x 768 and is smaller within 1280 x 1024 also very large
at 800 x 600 - Is it possible to have auto scale thro' the various
res. I wander how it looks on a small screen laptop ?

Re the ALL again it may be faster if I had a FULL install !


Tui

ps still testing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:35    Post subject: Re: Corrected Intel536 modem sriver dotpet
Subject description: Old one had incorrect kernel names
 

rerwin wrote:
1. I am attaching my corrected Intel536 driver, which now works automatically.

Which reminds me, I ran 'modinfo agrmodem' and 'modinfo agrserial' and there are no alias entries. How does this modem ever get automatically loaded for the correct hardware? Or, does it require a person to manual choose it in the BootManager?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:42    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Used the Puppy Package Manager to install the dotpuphandler, but I cannot get either:
--------------------------------------------
Captura.pup
Or...
smm1.0.pup
--------------------------------------------
To complete installation.

How about an improved version of smm where you can actually click on URL's within the text of emails and be taken to the webpage using the default web-browser? [Like Mailwasher does]

Captura needs perfecting also [or replaced with a perfected alternative].

p.s. How come 4.3beta2 suddenly had the name 4.2.4?
That had me confused for a time.
Didn't know which iso to download.

I am not supporting .pup packages anymore, and have deliberately made it difficult to install them.
I no longer support the .pup to.pet conversion either.
There are certain issues with dotpups, that I would like to relegate them to history.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:46    Post subject: Re: Puppy report
Subject description: Some problem with puppy
 

veronicathecow wrote:
2. There are no links to Gxine for Flac or MP4

Any chance of kernel with SMP and other speeding up type stuff?

Do those Flac and MP4 files have extension .flac and .mp4?

The 2.6.30.5 kernel is configured with SMP support (basic scheduling anyway).

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 19:51    Post subject:  

jakfish wrote:
I would love to have the 2.6.25.16 kernel available now for my Asus EEE 900.

Tempestuous' fine eee drivers obviously won't work with the kernel in beta2--and even when I installed puppy-4.3beta1-k2.6.25.16-v423-SCSI.iso and used the delta update and my beta1 pupsave file, no joy with the wifi and acpi drivers.

Can't really offer any other test results, since some of my hardware now doesn't work (until those more learned than me can develop beta2 with the 2.6.25.16 kernel).

Jake

That is not a good reason for me to offer a build with the 2.6.25.16 kernel. It is far simpler for me and less confusing for users if there is just the one build to choose from.

Ask tempestuous if he can compile those eee drivers for you on the 2.6.30.5 kernel. He's an extremely helpful guy, I'm sure he won't mind.
Then I can include them in 4.3beta3.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 20:10    Post subject:
Subject description: Grub Loading stage1.5 Grub loading, please wait.....Error 2
 

charlie6 wrote:
Hi,
on PIII600MHz 192MB Ram440MX frugall install with PUI on ext3 sda1; swap on sda2;
Boots and runs nice on live-cd !
I performed a frugall install on ext3 sda1; afterwards configured Grub (just copied the newgrubtext to menu.lst .... as I did much times before); I restarted with live-cd removed and got this message at boot-up:
Code:
Grub Loading stage1.5
Grub loading, please wait.....
Error 2

at boot up.
I already did frugal install with puppy412 and 413 without any problem...
It looks trivial but do not find why?
Thanks for any advice
Charlie

Hmm, I wonder if there is a problem with GRUB patched with ext4. Could you kindly install this older pet package (as used in 4.1x):

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/grub-0.97.pet

Then try the furgal installation again. Probably best to remove the previous install and do it completely again.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 20:15    Post subject:
Subject description: Download is much too sloooooooooow, so not tried it yet
 

nic2109 wrote:
I'll try this when the download takes less than the promised 2 hours. Crying or Very sad

I'm supposed to have an 8Mb download speed which can do 100 Mb in a few minutes, so I'm not sure what's wrong.

Caneri; are you planning to host this?

It would be ibiblio throttling the transfer speed.
Try an ibiblio mirror (if the latest files have got to them):

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/
This site is hosted by the generosity of The Netherlands Unix User Group.

ftp://ftp.oss.cc.gatech.edu/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/
You may find this faster than ibiblio in the USA.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 20:22    Post subject:  

Tui wrote:
Hi Barry, thanks for the ALL back, as you say it is a bit slow
in finding all the files in A-Z Also shows the same problem
in moving thro' puppy4 - puppy3 - puppy2. A progress window would
be nice if that helps.

My next one is that IMAGINATION V1.5 opens large than my screen
set res 1024 x 768 and is smaller within 1280 x 1024 also very large
at 800 x 600 - Is it possible to have auto scale thro' the various
res. I wander how it looks on a small screen laptop ?

Re the ALL again it may be faster if I had a FULL install !


Tui

ps still testing

Re Imagination, you will have to contact the author to report any problems.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4367
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Sep 2009, 21:17    Post subject:  

Just tried a dual-boot on an older Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 with WinXP and 4.31b2

WinXP loaded OK and 4.31b2 appeared to also be loaded OK - so we set up GRUB and rebooted - I get Error Loading Operating System when sda2 has the BOOT flag, and it boots directly into XP (which is on sda1) if I give sda1 the BOOT flag (no GRUB menu appears).

I do not have this problem on my other laptop where sda2 is BOOT and sda1 (containing XP) is not. I get the GRUB menu and may select which OS.

Could this be a generic corruption of GRUB or related to other reported GRUB problems in 4.31b2?

NOTE: I just deleted 4.31b2 and reloaded Puppy, recreating GRUB - exact same problem.

BTW: How do I explain the numbering? 424 on the splash screen but 4.31b2 is what we call it here. The guy to whom the CF-28 belongs was asking.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 15 [219 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0925s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]