Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 05:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Roxset (Improved)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:18    Post_subject:  Roxset (Improved)
Sub_title: Open two Rox windows side by side
 

One thing that always bothered me about Rox is that it often opened it's windows in inconvenient places for what I wanted to do. The windows would overlap and get in the way of drag & drop and have to be constantly moved. My response found it usually faster to just open a new Rox window and soon there was so many Rox windows open that the desktop was a mess and I would start a new desktop which in turn soon became a mess (too risky to close some windows - you never know when you might need it) Very Happy

So...whenever I had some extensive file work (copying, linking, etc..) it seemed much easier to just use a two pane file manager.

A while back, I thought there might be a way, using the SOAP interface, to open Rox windows at specific locations, but there doesn't seem to be one.

Recently, it occurred to me that if you can't set the window size and position at start time, why not try a resize and repostion after creation.

Here then, is Roxset -

Roxset creates two Rox windows - one with the / directory on the left and one with the /root directory on the right. The windows are placed near the top of the screen and do not overlap. This creates a much better starting platform for drag & drop work.

Ideally, it would be nice to have both panes enclosed in fixed windows so that they'll never overlap, but this way greatly reduces the need to move Rox windows and automatically launches two rox windows for drag & drop work.

The Roxset Pet contains the Roxset program, Xdotool, a desktop icon, and appears under Menu > Filesystem.

Roxset requires that the Rox file manager is installed - some Puppy derivatives may have other file managers.

(The directories, placement and windows sizes, can also be altered by changing the roxset script at /usr/local/bin to other preferences, depending on screen size or other preferred opening directories.)

UPDATE: 8-31-09

Roxset now opens two windows - side by side - based on your SCREEN SIZE! (thanks Aragon). If you prefer the two panes to stay in place and not move, a brief message will come up reminding you to right-click on any blank part of either pane and select- Options > Filer windows > Never automatically resize.

Enough space has been left at the bottom of the two panes to expose the desktop drive icons (and any other icons you choose) to provide easy access to a third window opening across the two panes for even more drag & drop fun.

NOTE: While extensively testing this, I discovered that sometimes an initial window will not accept something being dragged into it. If this happens, just slightly move the rejecting window and it should work.
Roxset.pet
Description  Open two Rox windows based on SCREEN SIZE
pet

 Download 
Filename  Roxset.pet 
Filesize  11.73 KB 
Downloaded  680 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:34    Post_subject:  

nice one! looks a little funny, but does what it should.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:38    Post_subject:  

run2windows allows to run 2 rox-filer windows side by side (free choice of size):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1932
It was one of my first Puppybasic programs, even before it was called Puppybasic.
A matching Basicinterpreter is included (only 50 kb).
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:40    Post_subject:  

Installed Roxset, rebooted, ran it...
What happened was that 2 copies of Xfe ran! Sad

I'm running BoxPup 413, with Xfe installed, and also "xfe-default-file-manager-0.1" installed, which makes Xfe the default instead of the "Thunar File Manager".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:45    Post_subject:  

Sylvander,
simply edit
/usr/local/bin/roxset

It looks like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
rox
WID=`xdotool getactivewindow`
xdotool windowsize $WID 5 190 &
xdotool windowmove $WID 425 5

rox /
WID=`xdotool getactivewindow`
xdotool windowsize $WID 5 190 &
xdotool windowmove $WID 5 5


So you might replace the word "rox" with "thunar".
Idon't have thunar here, so cannot try it, but it might work.
Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13644
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 21 Aug 2009, 16:47    Post_subject:  

or if you want rox, not thunar, replace "rox" with:
/usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2009, 02:28    Post_subject:  

1. "simply edit
/usr/local/bin/roxset
"
The "Code:" you provided is already in that file, hence no need to change the file, but of course it opens 2 windows of Xfe.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vg1

Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 142

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2009, 04:11    Post_subject:  

Sylvander, I think you're missing Mark's point.
In BoxPup 'rox' is set up to open xfe, so if you want rox instead, replace it with its full path, as per Mark's. For thunar, replace with 'thunar'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2009, 16:13    Post_subject:  

OK, I think I get it, but...
The folder /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer exists, but it is EMPTY.

So what point in specifying /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer ?

This is after I installed Roxset, and rebooted.
And it shows as installed in the "Puppy Package Manager"...
And when I click it, 2 Xfe's run.
And they both open as VERY NARROW RECTANGLES, almost reduced to a line.
I'm forced to right-click their buttons in the taskbar and click "Maximize".
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2009, 18:49    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
OK, I think I get it, but...
The folder /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer exists, but it is EMPTY.

So what point in specifying /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer ?

This is after I installed Roxset, and rebooted.
And it shows as installed in the "Puppy Package Manager"...
And when I click it, 2 Xfe's run.
And they both open as VERY NARROW RECTANGLES, almost reduced to a line.
I'm forced to right-click their buttons in the taskbar and click "Maximize".


Sylvander,

Try typing "rox2" in a terminal.

If it starts Rox, then just change the code to rox2 instead of rox.

Hope it works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2009, 23:27    Post_subject:  

Entering the rox2 command didn't work, though rox did. Sad

See screenshot below of terminal window.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.95 KB
 Viewed   705 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Sun 23 Aug 2009, 11:29    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Entering the rox2 command didn't work, though rox did. Sad

See screenshot below of terminal window.


Sylvander,

It appears that Rox was removed from Boxpup in favor of Thunar.

As Mu mentioned, you could put "thunar" in the Roxset code, and you probably would have to play around with the window sizing and placement to make it to your preference.

To further complicate matters, the "make Xfe file manager the default manager" code has been put in the "rox" command, so that anytime a file manager is needed, Xfe will load.

If you put "thunar" in the Roxset code, then when Roxset is started, only Thunar will load and not Xfe.

(Personally, I don't think Thunar is as good a candidate for this tool as Rox is) Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sun 23 Aug 2009, 12:32    Post_subject:  

So what do you think?

Should we leave well alone?

Or is anyone game to help me win through?

Tried substituting thunar for rox within /usr/local/bin/roxset...
What then happened:
When I ran "Menu->Filesystem->roxset"...
A single instance of thunar ran...
Then when I closed that, after a short delay a 2nd instance opened to take the place of the 1st.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Sun 23 Aug 2009, 13:09    Post_subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
So what do you think?

Should we leave well alone?

Or is anyone game to help me win through?

Tried substituting thunar for rox within /usr/local/bin/roxset...
What then happened:
When I ran "Menu->Filesystem->roxset"...
A single instance of thunar ran...
Then when I closed that, after a short delay a 2nd instance opened to take the place of the 1st.


Unfortunately, I don't have Thunar and don't know much about it, but you could try commenting out this part of the Roxset code which appears twice.

Code:
xdotool windowsize $WID 5 190 &


by placing a # at the beginning of the lines.

Not sure if this will work...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Eyes-Only


Joined: 10 Aug 2006
Posts: 1046
Location: La Confederation Abenaquaise

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 16:26    Post_subject:  

.
_________________
*~*~*~*~*~*
Proud user of LXpup and 3-Headed Dog. Cool
*~*~*~*~*~*

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0861s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]