A program can run on puppy4, but it can’t run on puppy3

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Post Reply
Message
Author
ch19860304
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 06:56

A program can run on puppy4, but it can’t run on puppy3

#1 Post by ch19860304 »

I write a program based on sdl_mixer library, this program is used play audio file. I debug and complie it on suse10, and link to sdl_mixer and sdl static library,.
Then I put this program at puppy4 , It can play audio file normally。But when I put it on puppy3, It can’t play audio file, and it display message “unable to load WAV file!

User avatar
paulh177
Posts: 975
Joined: Tue 22 Aug 2006, 20:41

#2 Post by paulh177 »

hmmm well if you're smart enough to write compile and debug a program, i guess you're smart enough a) to check that the wav fileyou're trying to play actually exists b) give us sufficient information about your two setups that will help someone resolve your problem

disciple
Posts: 6984
Joined: Sun 21 May 2006, 01:46
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

#3 Post by disciple »

Or c) compile it with debug enabled and use gdb...
Do you know a good gtkdialog program? Please post a link here

Classic Puppy quotes

ROOT FOREVER
GTK2 FOREVER

User avatar
rjbrewer
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 21:41
Location: merriam, kansas

#4 Post by rjbrewer »

Strange; I first learned wavrec and wavplay on 3.01

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#5 Post by muggins »

If you just try running it from a console, in pup3, it should give an error message that can give you some clues.

ch19860304
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 06:56

#6 Post by ch19860304 »

a)I pretty sure wav file I want play is really exist!
b)the vesion of my puppy3 is puppy 3.01, the vesion of my puppy4 is 4.1.2

ch19860304
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 06:56

#7 Post by ch19860304 »

a)I pretty sure wav file I want play is really exist!
b)the vesion of my puppy3 is puppy 3.01, the vesion of my puppy4 is 4.1.2

ch19860304
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri 14 Aug 2009, 06:56

#8 Post by ch19860304 »

muggins wrote:If you just try running it from a console, in pup3, it should give an error message that can give you some clues.

the program can still running! it just can't make voice, the message is as followed:

as for .mp3 and .mod file
call Mix_LoadMUS failed: Module format not recognized

as for .wav file
call Mix_LoadMUS failed: Unable to load WAV file

gnz11
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu 19 Jun 2008, 01:59

4 to 3 can be a problem

#9 Post by gnz11 »

if you are using sound programs the dependencies and libraries can be different between 3 and 4. for example i have the xmms.pet for 3 and 4 and have install both in 3 with no problem but i had to use 3 in 4.21 and it sounded like my speakers were blown out. uninstalled and found the 4 pet , beautiful.

check the dependencies list at the repo on puppylinux.ca/puppyfiles.

the main difference between 3 and 4 is gtk and other minor changes.

muggins
Posts: 6724
Joined: Fri 20 Jan 2006, 10:44
Location: hobart

#10 Post by muggins »

Try running, on puppy 4, ldd the_name_of_your_binary_program, then do the same on puppy 3, and compare the 2 outputs. A lot of libraries are different between the 2 versions.

Post Reply