Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Aug 2018, 07:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3 pre-beta bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 8628
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 04:03    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Jim1911 wrote:
This entry is made from the "4.3 pre-beta-reloaded"
1. Clicking on an ext4 partition still results in "Error: Unable to mount sdb3". Same result using the mount icon to run pmount. Possibly fix is the one Jesse did earlier for woof http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00740
2. Fixed, Gparted now recognizes ext4 partitions.
3. Fixed, "Set global font size" now works.

Again, thanks for creating and continuing to improve Puppy.
Jim Smile


Jim1911,
Could you please do this test, in a terminal:

# guess_fstype /dev/<partititon>

Where <partitition> is your ext4 partititon.
Let me know what it returns.


It should work. According to my blog, I have already upgraded to Jesses ext4-enable guess_fstype:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00754

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 773
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 06:24    Post subject:  

Hi

Just a small something - have been using latest 4.3 pre-beta as normal
and all seems good - however was copying some files from sda1 to sdb1 (an external usb drive formatted to ext2) and when I tried to unmount sdb1 puppy complained
(FAILURE most common reason is the media is not currently inserted -please remedy).

Well - checked and it was. Files seem to be ok.

Hopefully not too serious.

Regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 773
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 07:47    Post subject:  

Hi

Strange - rebooted - repeated process - mounted and unmounted drives - all seemed OK.

So maybe nothing to worry about - probably me doing something dim.

regards - Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 16:35    Post subject:  

I haven't downloaded this one (Puppy 4.3 beta) because my internet connection's been too slow recently, but I have a question about Pmount's partition detection in it.

I've found that most of the 4 series pups I've tried have a *problem picking up my partitions over and above about hda5; they simply don't get recognised and hence can't be mounted.

This isn't true of earlier Pups. Has anyone been able to check how well 4.3 beta can detect larger numbers of partitions?

* Tazoc's Lighthouse 4.1.2 doesn't seem to have this problem.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 18:29    Post subject: Pstreamvid  

@Trio

trio wrote:
nancy reagan,

1. pstreamvid you meant? No sound, it means you have to go to setup -- Alsa sound wizard, and you set up your sound there (sometimes it needs to be rebooted afterwards)
2. sgmixer ==> multimedia -- Alsa mixer

I don't understand the part of in "Trio's I don't have a scrollbuton"


Indeed Pstreamvid.

Indeed sounds via setup alsdamixer less easy than sgmixer though.

With "screencontrolbuttons" I mean those buttons with which you can control volume etc. They are missing when a channel is played through Mplayer, contrary to Gxine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 20:26    Post subject:  

Barry,
Your guess_fs-20090512.pet corrected the mounting problem with ext4 partitions on this pre-beta.
Colonel Panic wrote:
I've found that most of the 4 series pups I've tried have a *problem picking up my partitions over and above about hda5; they simply don't get recognised and hence can't be mounted.
I have no problem mounting my 7+ partitions.
Jim Smile

Last edited by Jim1911 on Sun 09 Aug 2009, 22:09; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 20:56    Post subject:  

How will Puppy 4.3 handle Grub with Ext4, please?

Ext4 sure sounds like a good filesystem upgrade!

Quote:
http://kernelnewbies.org/Ext4
One very important thing to keep in mind is that there is NOT Ext4 GRUB support. Well, that wasn't exactly true: There is grub support, but it's not very spread in the currently available distros. There's ext4 support in the GRUB2 development branch, but since GRUB2 is not stable, most of distros are using the 0.9x versions.

There are available grub2 packages in Ubuntu and debian-derived distros as the grub-pc package. In the 0.9x branch, there's not official support, but there's a Google SoC project that developed support for it, and Google finds patches. So choose yourself. The next release of distros based in Linux 2.6.28 will probably have support in one way or another. The safe option is to keep your /boot directory in a partition formatted with Ext3.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2460
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 21:15    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
How will Puppy 4.3 handle Grub with Ext4, please?

Your information about the stability of Grub on an ext4 partition is outdated. I don't know about Puppy's grub, but I boot Pups daily without problems from a Kubuntu /boot/grub/menu.lst located on an ext4 partition. The pups are frugal installs located on ext3 partitions. I haven't tried them on a pup generated ext4 partition.

Jim Smile

Last edited by Jim1911 on Sun 09 Aug 2009, 21:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gposil


Joined: 06 Apr 2009
Posts: 1305
Location: Stanthorpe (The Granite Belt), QLD, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 21:20    Post subject:  

2.6.27.x is still under active development and full ext4 support is being backported to it, Barry is aware of all this and the new 2.6.27.29 kernel he is working will have full ext4 support.
_________________
Dpup Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2009, 21:38    Post subject:  

Cool!

I am seriously considering upgrading all four (soon to be five) of our laptops to 4.3 when it reaches Final.

Two of the laptops are older Panasonic Toughbook CF-28's, one is an older HP, one an older Quanta Z500, and the new one is an Acer Aspire 5535-5452 (which requires support of the new Atheros b/g/n wireless nic and dual-core).

I am hoping that getting them all in the same version will simplify maintenance and resolve some interoperability challenges (especially CUPS).

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 04:37    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
Barry,
Your guess_fs-20090512.pet corrected the mounting problem with ext4 partitions on this pre-beta.
Colonel Panic wrote:
I've found that most of the 4 series pups I've tried have a *problem picking up my partitions over and above about hda5; they simply don't get recognised and hence can't be mounted.
I have no problem mounting my 7+ partitions.
Jim Smile


Thanks for replying. I think the problem is that Puppy (4, at least) is very sensitive to errors in any of the partitions, and if it finds any won't recognise the hard drive at all (I confirmed this by checking the drive with GParted).

I switched to my other Linux distro (Vector) and ran this command; e2fsck /dev/hda4

and after I'd done that, and sorted out a couple of errors on the partition, Puppy recognised both the hard drive and the hda6 partition and loaded my savefile as usual.

Maybe I need to avoid the ext2/3 filesystems in future when running my other distros, as they're prone to errors?

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 09:07    Post subject:  

I was told to add "pfix=fsck" to the boot line in GRUB because I was having similar problems.

It slows the boot time but eliminates the hassle.

I gather from the description of Ext4 that this may no longer be necessary.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1542
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 19:23    Post subject: Silly question  

How come the "ntfs-3g" in this version of puppy, is older than the "ntfs-3g" in 4.2.1?

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 2001

PostPosted: Mon 10 Aug 2009, 19:32    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:
I was told to add "pfix=fsck" to the boot line in GRUB because I was having similar problems.

It slows the boot time but eliminates the hassle.

I gather from the description of Ext4 that this may no longer be necessary.


Thanks but when I boot 4.2 (I'm trying out ttuuxxx's 2.14X7 at the moment), I use a CD-R to boot from. If I type in pfix=fsck at the boot prompt instead of, say, pfix=ram, will Puppy still pick up my save file?

I suppose I could try it and find out, but it's getting late here... Maybe tomorrow.

_________________
Acer Aspire M1610 (Core 2 Duo, 2.3 GHz), 3 GB of RAM, 320 GB hard drive running Devuan 2.0.0 ASCII, Slackel 7.0 Openbox, Debian 9.4.0, Bunsen Labs Helium, Salix 14.2 Mate, Slackware 14.2 (32-bit), VLocity 7.2, X-Slacko 4.4, Stella 6.8 and Siduction 6.1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1208
Location: Saint-Gérard / Walloon part of Belgium

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2009, 08:50    Post subject: AGAIN !...[insert] key kills Seamonkey...  

Hi,
on ppa-422.iso
Aargh !! ...while writing a post in this forum, accidentaly pressed "0" numeric pad while "Num Lock" disabled, i.e. it means "Ins" pressed)...and Seamonkey got killed at once.
(Already reported earlier in this forum...Pizzasgood fixed this throug writing a gtk+-12-input.pet and related pets for correcting this)
see
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=31069
cheers
charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 [106 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0737s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0145s) ][ GZIP on ]