Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 20 Apr 2014, 10:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
During slideshow screen went black
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jan 2010, 14:32    Post subject: Is This a Silver Linning?  

et. al.

I have contacted the author of the slideshow and he is willing to fix the loop back issue Very Happy I have also left a message for MU to see if he will incorporate the updated slideshow into the screensaver. I am hopping to hear from MU very soon, and will keep you all posted.

With regard to reprogramming the the pizza button into an ESC key....it did not work, but I have not given up yet, after all I'm the one that has to climb the learning curve here and thus the most probable cause for the failure would be me (I hate admitting that).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 01:20    Post subject:  

It is good to hear that you are making progress on getting a real looping feature for slideshow.

Too bad that my Pizza key advice failed you.

Perhaps the keycode I gave you was incorrect for your i-opener. I do not have an i-opener, but found the value 115 on the web, given for the i-opener Pizza key. Maybe yours is different. (On my keyboard, keycode 115 is the key with the Windows logo on it. When I execute the given commands, that key functions as ESC.)

To find out what keycode is correct, you could use xev. Recent Puppy releases don't have xev, but someone posted it here:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=12635

Open the file with pupzip, extract xev to /tmp/ and execute this command:

Code:

/tmp/xev


A window named "Event Tester" will appear. Press and release the Pizza Key. You should see something like this in your rxvt window"

Code:

KeyRelease event, serial 29, synthetic NO, window 0x2000001,
    root 0x55, subw 0x0, time 1761708102, (195,237), root:(373,434),
    state 0x0, keycode 115 (keysym 0xff1b, Escape), same_screen YES,
    XKeysymToKeycode returns keycode: 9
    XLookupString gives 1 bytes: (1b) "
    XFilterEvent returns: False


The third line is the important one. After "state 0x0, keycode" is the keycode for your Pizza key.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jan 2010, 02:55    Post subject: Endless Loop is coming  

npierce et. al.

Do not be so hasty to assume that your advice was poor, I'm the non-code warrior here and unfortunately the odds are that I'm the one that messed up the code somehow, fortunately I'm kind of the dogged type and still have not given up. However, I will run the latest test you suggest just to make sure. Unfortunately I will not get to run that test until this weekend since that is the only time I have access to the i-opener. All tests that are not i-opener specific I can run on my other machine at home.

Another change for this weekend is that I will be taking a USB ethernet adapter for the i-opener and attempting to route some cat5 cable into the library. If I'm successful I will not have to be off-line the whole weekend.

Another bright note is that MU has agreed to incorporate the tweaked slideshow this weekend (assuming that it gets tweaked by then) Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 08 Feb 2010, 18:07    Post subject: Progress - Sort of  

et. al.

I have not yet heard from Jeremy or Mu regarding any progress with the slidshow or screensaver, but I finally succeeded at getting the cat5 installed to the i-opener this weekend. Unfortunately I'm having ethernet driver problems which I had not expected. I will hammer away at it and let you know of any progress on any front.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Wed 10 Feb 2010, 11:02    Post subject:  

Thanks, Barq's, for the progress report. Good luck on getting your network connection working.

(By the way, if you have no luck with the Pizza key, perhaps you have another unused key that could be remapped to ESC. Of course, if you already have a satisfactory work-around to your lack of ESC key, that won't be necessary.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed 17 Feb 2010, 05:30    Post subject: Progress (or lack there of)  

Keyboard maping...it worked ... sort of. I do not know which key combination got maped but I got sort of frustrated and just started hitting all the keys and ... bing.... it just sort of poped out of the screen saver mode. Unfortunately I have no clue what key(s) I hit and I have not been able to duplicate it. Arrrrgggghhh.

I have not gotten the ethernet adapter to work. In fact I hose the OS. I now get;

Quote:
No pinboard inuse...the'default' pinboard has been selected. Use 'rox -p=Default' to turn it on in the future.


At that point the desktop is bare with the exception of a single folder that says home. Anything I attempt just hoses it even more. So I obtained a fresh copy of 4.2 only to get the same result.

Upgrade 4.3.1 - Start all over.

Boot through xorg and I get a black screen with the menu bar. The start menu seems to work (side note: spider solitaire is not part of this release...what a bummer)

Boot through the "test" xorg...ctrl-alt backspace...finish...done and I get the desktop (or al least most of it) and a message that reads;

Quote:
All required kernal modules were not loaded due to restricted RAM. you need to reboot to create a save-file on the hard drive and/or you need a swap file/partition to obtain more space.


This computer has 128 meg of ram with 121 meg free (that does not make sence...but that is what it says)

Any suggestions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb 2010, 04:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
Any suggestions?

Do what it says. Reboot, and it will ask you if you want to create a save file.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 22 Feb 2010, 02:46    Post subject: Status  

Corruption, corruption, corruption...nothing seems to work so I started from scratch with a low level format of the hard drive and followed that with a full installation of 4.3.1. I would like to say that everything is running smoothly, but that would be a long way from the truth. However, I've got the screen saver back up and I am now working on the ethernet issue.

The good news is that I have heard from both Jeremy and MU. Jeremy is making progress but it will be a little while yet and MU...I do not see that there is anything he can do until Jeremy gets the new slide show up and running.

In the interim I shall keep trying to figure out why the pegasus ethernet adapter drive will only work under Ubuntu and not Puppy...kind of frustrating really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 16:07    Post subject: progress  

I have the ethernet adapter working. I brought the machine home and put it on my net. That seems to have done the trick since my net does not require a passwod to get out. Now I've got to figure out how to get to the password screen in order to use this on the church net.

success two; I've been able to activate the Grub timeout feature - a minor success but at this point any thing feels good.

Working on; When shutting down the machine gets to the point where it says sendin kill signal to all processes which is then followed by one more line which I do not remember, but that line is followed with the line "system halted" at that point everything freezes. any suggestions?

Up coming fix; How to stop the 1" grey bar across my screen from showing up and wiping out a one inch swath across my screen. That will be my next task while we wait for theslideshow fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 27 Feb 2010, 16:24    Post subject:  

Quote:
but that line is followed with the line "system halted" at that point everything freezes. any suggestions?

That means it has finished shutting down and you can turn it off. If you want to make it turn off by itself you'll need to play with boot parameters like acpi=force and apm=on - it either didn't detect that your hardware has acpi/apm, or it isn't working properly with whichever one it is trying to use.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 06:29    Post subject: Shut down  

Disciple

Since all versions of Puppy that I've tried on this machine have always been able to shut down the machine completely without the "system halted" message, I'm pretty confident that the hardware supports the feature. I will search the forums for tips on working with acpi/apm and see if I can figure out what is going wrong. I will let you know how I fare.

Thanks for the explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 01:42    Post subject:  

I should have mentioned that it is often kernel-dependent. e.g. I have a machine that switches off using apm in previous puppies, but only using acpi in 4.3.x
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Tue 02 Mar 2010, 03:18    Post subject: SlideShow Update  

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Wed 03 Mar 2010, 13:29    Post subject:  

Hi Barq's,

Good to hear that you are making progress, and especially that Jeremy has added the loop feature to slideshow.


As disciple pointed out, power-down stuff can be kernel-dependent. You've probably already seen this thread, but I'll toss it in here in case you missed it:

Puppy 4.3 APM won't power off [solved]

I've not tried that fix since my PC uses acpi, but it sounds like it could apply to your old i-opener, especially since the i-opener powered-down with older puppies.


That is odd about the 10 to 15 second delay after pressing the Pizza key. Perhaps the developers of the i-opener thought that ordering pizza more than once every fifteen seconds would lead to an unhealthy diet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barq's

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 03:50    Post subject: Power Down Fixed  

npierce

Thank you for the link to the power-down solution. I can't believe that I missed that one...I mean look at the thread title, it is everything that I was searching for... this is embarrassing. I humbly thank you for the link, it worked.

As for the 10 - 15 second time delay after pressing the pizza key...that only seems to happen with the screen saver. The pizza key has always worked really quick when getting back from the black screen issue, granted that could just be the luck of the draw.

Speaking of the black screen issue, I have not yet tried to shut off the default black screen function in this version of Puppy. I think I shall attempt to resolve that before taking on setting up Wine and E-Sword, while we wait for the fixed screensaver.

I shall let you know how I fare. Thank you again for that link.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 4 [58 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]