Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 03:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to kill SeaMonkey's cache
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 02:22    Post subject:  How to kill SeaMonkey's cache
Subject description: Restrict mozilla's memory consumption
 

This may have been covered before; I couldn't find it.

Instead of having to empty Seamonkey Mozilla cache frequently,
it's easier to not have it fill at all.

This is how I did it on Puppy 4.2 "no bling".

Open file: ~/.mozilla/default/cache
Open file: /tmp
Drag cache folder to /tmp...."move"
Drag cache folder back to default...."relative link"

When rebooted this has the effect of creating a broken
symlink to a nonexistant file.

No memory from hard drive or pup_save being eroded by
mozilla cache.

If desired; cache can be restored by dragging fresh cache folder
from live cd and overwriting broken link.

Tested on frugal, full and usb flash; works fine so far.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11092
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 03:00    Post subject: A
Subject description: restrict mozillas' memory consumption
 

rjbrewer,

More off topic to your post than on topic, but thinking you may be interested . . .

Two caches: (1) memory cache and (2) disk cache

I cripple memory and make a very big disk cache in
memory

Deleting the Cache would be a matter of running a script to delete the files or rebooting (which runs the script for purpose of getting the URLs)

SeaMonkey logs all URLs to a binary file in cache. Part of the delete or rebooting process is converting all the URLs to text file for review. Purpose is to keep my web surfing clean, by using the information in the URLs for filtering.

Also, faster web surfing by resolving the sites I want to visit from name to IP address in hosts.

Bruce

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 10:59    Post subject:  

What happens when you change SeaMonkey's Edit -> Preferences -> Advanced -> Cache size from the default 4 MB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 11:07    Post subject:  

Hard to tell Flash;

the only thing I find at edit>preferences>advanced
is check box to enable java.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 11:55    Post subject:  

Is there no + sign to the left of Advanced that you can click to expand the menu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 12:21    Post subject:  

OH MY GOD, you're a genius!

My face is very red right now; I have a problem
seeing things that are right in front of my nose.

Maybe best to delete my method if it has no other
practical use?

Thank you Flash

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2009, 18:21    Post subject:  

No genius, but thanks; maybe the worlds smartest idiot. Smile
SeaMonkey's settings don't always do what it seems like they ought to, so your way might still be the best way. Keep us posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jul 2009, 17:19    Post subject:  

Have added XUL file to the method; still working okay.

edit

Did the link trick to exe files "inside" of cache folder instead,
works good.

edit

But not as good as killing the cache.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0593s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]