Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 04:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jaunty Puppy Alpha9 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 06:15    Post_subject:  

HI Barry,

I'm having a problem with mini-icons displaying with Xorg in upup-476, ie- they don't show!

Here's a pic and my /tmp/xerrs.log
no-mini.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   36.68 KB
 Viewed   2001 Time(s)

no-mini.jpg

xerrs.log.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xerrs.log.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.51 KB 
Downloaded  584 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 06:53    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
MD8818, suggested to try to boot with acpi=off.
Altho I don't like to loose the acpi functionality I gave it a try.
I can boot my Medion MD8818 now with alpha9.

I still demand that Barry finds a solution so I can boot with acpi=on again.

The subject of "acpi=off" has been discussed before
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=216577#216577
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 14:44    Post_subject:  

Standard upup 476 iso.

Running live cd on 600MHz CPU and 256MB ram, born in year 2000.

Boots ok, looks ok, ps2 mouse ok.

Then the problems- associated with running Canon i965 printer via Windows XP machine.

Installed driver. (Was originally a deb, but I've made it into a pet- saves time.)

Symlink named /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb pointing to /opt/samba/bin/smbspool is missing, so I created that. PLEASE can we have this as standard, as it is required to print to a Windows printer.

Then installed the printer. Try to print test page- no go. Got a message saying: "Can't load /etc/opt/samba/smb.conf. Run testparm to debug it." Well, we don't have testparm, do we? So I replaced smb.conf with the one from 4.1.2, which does work. Same result.

The cups (debug) error log shows:

Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstopdf
Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pdftopdf
Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/cpdftocps
Started filter /usr/lib/cups/filter/pstocanonbj
Started backend /usr/lib/cups/backend/smb
Can't load /etc/opt/samba/smb.conf run testparm to debug it
/usr/lib/cups/backend/smb stopped with status 1!


Trying to print an Abiword document gives similar results, except that somwhere among all that, pstocanonbj crashes with status 11!

Question 1: why does the data have to go all around the houses via pdf?
Question 2: how do we debug smb.conf?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 960
Location: England

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 15:09    Post_subject:  

Sanity check: set printer up connected directly to Puppy machine.

Cups test page worked, but an Abiword document failed. The log file had screen after screen of errors- but the data went the same roundabout way. ie the ps data went to pdf, then pdf to pdf, then back to ps, then to pstocanonbj.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 20:36    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
HI Barry,

I'm having a problem with mini-icons displaying with Xorg in upup-476, ie- they don't show!

Here's a pic and my /tmp/xerrs.log


Had the same problem. The icons returned when I tried a lower color depth for Xorg.

_________________
Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick
Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz | 2 GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 02:59    Post_subject:  

Thanks floborg, that worked fine.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pdrito

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 09:36    Post_subject: wine
Sub_title: still no-wine
 

Hi guys.

I know Jaunty is on alpha 9, but When I try to make wine to work nothing happened.

Wine worked OK for me on all serie puppy 4.xxx

Hope to see wine working on beta or RC. I love how wine work on linux ! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Doglover

Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 179

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 11:27    Post_subject: Will not reboot or shutdown, Xorg fails
Sub_title: Xvesa defaults to 800x600
 

My graphics is via unichrome agp 64 mb shared, max res is 1024x768

On boot Xorg fails, Xvesa defaults to 800x600 instead of allowing choices. No bark bark.

I need acpi on to scale cpu.

Reboot or shutdown just cycles to a new desktop.
Unable to create save file.

Drive icons nonexistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Fri 29 May 2009, 13:24    Post_subject:
Sub_title: been there
 

@Doglover - you could try the 'delete-all-in-/tmp' workaround to get past the initial hurdle (worked for me in upup-471 and both upup-476s I've tried.. ). Xorg takes a bunch of fiddling for me (only worthwhile for if I really need pmount to work as expected Neutral ), but for some it's the preferred mode. Driveicons are tricky (for me they never appear on initial desktop in upups).
____________
my upup-476, upup-471 and upup-461 testing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CHLee

Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 44
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 01:29    Post_subject: pmedia, mount vfat with utf8 encoding  

1. The pmedia=ideflash success boot to PMODE=13. Thanks Barry!
I can run with PMODE=13 for the internal SSD on my EEEPC900. (use extlinux).
[url]http://www.puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00647[/url]

2. Could you add utf8 support in pmount and All_drive when mounting Vfat?
(-o mixed,quiet,utf8)
Without utf8 encoding, we can not see the non-English file name. Thinks!
Best regards,

ChiHang Lee
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 05:50    Post_subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
Béèm wrote:
MD8818, suggested to try to boot with acpi=off.
Altho I don't like to loose the acpi functionality I gave it a try.
I can boot my Medion MD8818 now with alpha9.

I still demand that Barry finds a solution so I can boot with acpi=on again.

The subject of "acpi=off" has been discussed before
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=216577#216577

Thanks for the link but it doesn't answer my question what I will use.
My PC is ACPI (Advanced Configuration and Power Interface) enabled and did work well up to alpha 6 and wasn't working on derivatives like NYP.

I tried NYP with acpi=off and can boot now. But the side effect is that I can't power off the PC unless I hit the power off button manually.

Also, I suppose I can't have hibernation, suspend and all these king of power controls.

As for the Advanced Configuration, I don't know what I loose there

Hence my question what do I loose, as I feel I am running a crippled PC (which isn't an old one).

As the PC did run correctly, I only can suppose something is missing in the alpha 7-9 kernel (?) and the NYP one.

So my second hope is that those distros can be corrected.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Schism


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 78

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 07:41    Post_subject: Puppy on old rebuilt Dell 4100  

Put Puppy 476.iso frugal on my rebuilt Dell 4100:
-Pentium II
-256 MB ram
-1024 x 768 display
-CD/DVD burner
-CD drve
-Floppy drive
-10 GB drive
-6 GB drive

Works as good as the other Puppies on it.

Thank You Barry, and everyone involved in puppy!

My main OS! XP for games only!

But why can't i load my OpenOffice.sfs's? I have 3.01 and 2.2.0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
flugwelpe


Joined: 15 May 2009
Posts: 29
Location: Vienna, Austria

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 09:52    Post_subject: upup alpha9 live-cd doesnt find sfs file
Sub_title: can only start woof via usb+acpi=force but not from cd-rom
 

ok, first the success note: i can start woof upup 476 via wakepup from a USB and I like it so far Smile
Still need acpi=force boot option for that to work.

I got a sfs-not-found issue though...
Live-cd doesnt work. I tried alpha 6 to 9 and all of them dropped out of the booting process when trying to find the sfs; e.g. :

upup-476.sfs not found

(note I'm 'reopening' the bug from the alpha 8 thread, now as i verified that the upup works on the machine; old thread http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42439&sid=d )

Before 3.x/ puplets were the only linuxes booting up on that machine without any problems (yay for puppy linux). Sometimes I had to specify nopcmcia boot option (which seems to get ignored on 4.2.x and upups).

Checked the live-cds with md5 and on another machine; that one found the sfs.

That machine is a Gericom Blockbuster N251S1 laptop;
Pentium 4 (not mobile), 512 MB RAM
* No harddisk
* broken PCMCIA
* broken ethernet ( I'm using a usb ethernet adapter with the kaweth driver )
* CD/DVD-RW; USB 2.0; firewire .. working Surprised)
3.? worked with boot option 'nopcmcia'; live-cd
4.0 worked out of the box, live-cd
4.1 worked with the retro kernel, live-cd
4.2 freezes on boot; tested booting from live-cd or usb (pcmcia-issue?)
upup - boots only from usb (sfs-not-found); touchpad-looses-sync issue

Is there a place i should post this stuff and keep it updated for other blockbuster users?

Multisession Live-CD is one of the big selling points of puppy-linux IMHO, so I'd be glad if I can help somehow fixing this.

Boot options I tried (and didnt help):
* pmedia=cd
* nopcmcia
* acpi=force
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11180
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 10:10    Post_subject:  

Several times now SeaMonkey has closed unexpectedly when I was using mtPaint. There seems to be a correlation, perhaps when I'm opening large images in mtPaint. Sorry, I haven't had time to try to duplicate the problem.
_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
david_halliday

Joined: 01 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 16:25    Post_subject: Fails To Work, Funky Lines.
Sub_title: Bug in Alpha9
 

Last night I tried Alpha9 on my Webpad (DT Research 366) and it failed. Here is what happened:

If I just hook up USB CDROM and boot. It starts fine and proceeds down the bootup order outputting the usual [OK]'s but when it switches to X (using Xorg) I just a set of bands and lines. Reminiscent of when you would overdrive an old CRT.

To my surprise I get the same problem booting to nox

When I tried setting the res to 800x600 to match the screen via vga= The screen went black (before the normal [OK]'s) and never came back.

It is not a general problem with Puppy as 4.2.1 comes up fine (I still need to add touch screen support).

A little info on the webpad may help debug. It has 256M memory 512M flash drive, 800x600 LCD screen driven by NSC chip CPU is a 400Mhz AMD Geode.

Dave.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0957s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]