Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 16:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Newbies - Puppy needs YOUR help too!
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 63 [937 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Author Message
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 11:09    Post subject: Re: From a newbee, making Puppy better
Subject description: It's Already Good, by the way... using 4.3 (425)
 

Eathray wrote:
I had a heck of a time getting my sound card to work. I tried one thing after another, and, being a newbee, did not understand most of what I was trying. I read and read and read some more, but so much what I was looking at was utterly foreign.

Eth


I know what you mean by understanding what you are doing - glad my hardware all worked out of the box, I don't mind fiddling but most of what I am reading is a new language to me. GRUB still eludes me and I am sure I could improve my boot up options if I understood it properly.

I'm also sure I can find a way to put the current keyboard language flag in the tray if I try hard enough.

STG

_________________
Everything I know I found out for myself but only after some kind person pointed out the way.
I'm not really a Geek, just hate things that don't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 11:21    Post subject:  

puppyite

done - good call


all - re: earlier comments about software, see these linux-windoze equivalent softwares

http://wiki.linuxquestions.org/wiki/Linux_software_equivalent_to_Windows_software

http://www.linuxalt.com/

If puppy hasn't got anything you need/fancy trying, often asking on the forum will yield results, even getting a .pet made....

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 12:02    Post subject: Re: From a newbee, making Puppy better
Subject description: It's Already Good, by the way... using 4.3 (425)
 

SelftaughtGeek wrote:
Eathray wrote:
I had a heck of a time getting my sound card to work. I tried one thing after another, and, being a newbee, did not understand most of what I was trying. I read and read and read some more, but so much what I was looking at was utterly foreign.

Eth


I know what you mean by understanding what you are doing - glad my hardware all worked out of the box, I don't mind fiddling but most of what I am reading is a new language to me. GRUB still eludes me and I am sure I could improve my boot up options if I understood it properly.

I'm also sure I can find a way to put the current keyboard language flag in the tray if I try hard enough.

STG


Which language are you looking for, there are help sections for different languages.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 12:10    Post subject: Keyboard layout
Subject description: Visual indicator
 

I'm also sure I can find a way to put the current keyboard language flag in the tray if I try hard enough.

STG[/quote]

Which language are you looking for, there are help sections for different languages.
ttuuxxx[/quote]

Hi ttuuxxx
I use English and French character sets all the time so it is useful to toggle between the two within a document. I worked out how to set up the two keyboards using the Xorg advanced settings. I can toggle between the two using the keyboard - I just wanted to see a little flag in the bottom tray to make toggling easier than keyboard keys and to have a visual guide to the current setting. I can live with it as it is but always want perfection Lol

STG

_________________
Everything I know I found out for myself but only after some kind person pointed out the way.
I'm not really a Geek, just hate things that don't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 12:35    Post subject:  

Hi you can get a fench version of puppy at http://www.moulinier.net/
That might be easier Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 14:48    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx

I think what is needed is a puppy version of this kde tip

http://raviratlami1.blogspot.com/2006/11/how-to-toggle-between-language.html

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/debian-linux-help/127457-solved-toggle-between-keyboard-maps-fly.html

'that other OS' manages it easily........so, there's a challenge!

I'm sure others would find this useful too

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Thu 17 Sep 2009, 17:57    Post subject:  

Very useful, for example.... a puppy cybercafe at a seaport Wink

The command from a terminal would be setxkbmap.

If you were to use Icewm as a window manager (an option thanks to Ttuuxxx in puppy 4.2.1) then it has a (nicely designed) popup shortcut menu between the "Puppy 4.2" start button and the taskbar. Its possible to add an extra popup here by editing the /usr/share/icewm/preferences file. Make two bash scripts, running the setxkbmap commands you want, and call them from this new preferences menu. In order to refresh the icewm graphics if you want the icon to change, you will need to know the bash command for restarting icewm too.

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 05:31    Post subject: Puppy 4 Keyboard Language
Subject description: Changing keyboard Maps
 

Thanks Aitch yes I think you understand what I want.
Not a French version of Puppy – though that would be interesting in its own right, but the ability to be able to switch keyboard maps in the middle of a document from one language to another. I often work with English and French translation documents and sometime Spanish.

In Windows I simply add the keyboard layouts I want to my computer then when I want to switch there is Language ICON in the System tray, Click it and you get a list of keyboard maps available to select. Select the one you want and the Icon indicates the language. EN for English, FR for French etc.

Also doing the this sets the language for the application being used at the time, so I can have one document open in a window where the language is set to English and another one where the language is set to French, making document comparisons and changes easy.

Ecomoney, I’m afraid I haven’t discovered ICEwm yet and have no idea what a Bash command is.

Thanks for all your advice
STG

_________________
Everything I know I found out for myself but only after some kind person pointed out the way.
I'm not really a Geek, just hate things that don't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 09:51    Post subject:  

STG

Perhaps it's a sufficiently good idea to merit it's own thread...
Entitled: Suggestion/Request for Language Switcher Widget....maybe??
link here to there and there to here for googlebot Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 09:59    Post subject: Re: Puppy 4 Keyboard Language
Subject description: Changing keyboard Maps
 

SelftaughtGeek wrote:

Ecomoney, I’m afraid I haven’t discovered ICEwm yet and have no idea what a Bash command is.

Thanks for all your advice
STG


Icewm is a window manager, like JWM, But Icewm has nicer graphic because it uses images while JWM uses gradients.
I'm one of the pro's when it comes to icewm, This was my last package I made up, just install it and restart X-server, there are a few themes included in the menu Smile
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/icewm-402-v9.pet
ttuuxxx[/url]

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:10    Post subject: Newbie feedback
Subject description: Language switch
 

Aitch wrote:
STG

Perhaps it's a sufficiently good idea to merit it's own thread...
Entitled: Suggestion/Request for Language Switcher Widget....maybe??
link here to there and there to here for googlebot Wink

Aitch Smile


Ok if you think it's that good an idea I will

Question - where is the right place in the forum to post it?
How do I make the links for Googlebot?

STG

_________________
Everything I know I found out for myself but only after some kind person pointed out the way.
I'm not really a Geek, just hate things that don't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 10:32    Post subject:  

STG

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/posting.php?mode=newtopic&f=5

Make the post request, stating which puppy version and type of install it is for & that this is needed now, not for a future addition to the next release,

.....although it might be a good idea if it was included.......

If someone can do a .pet or script, as suggested, instead of a widget, that would do, I think

put a link to this forum thread in the post, e. g.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42593&start=135

[make the link active by clicking the url button above the post window screen / top right]

Copy that post's url link. Then come back to this thread and post that thread url link here, OK?

Should get some attention Very Happy

Easy Wink

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:08    Post subject: Newbie feedback
Subject description: Language map Puppy 4
 

Thanks Aitch

Posted as suggested, though haven't got the hang of the links yet

Link below is to a new request to add a keyboard map switcher and flag to Puppy4 so that it is simple to switch keyboard languages / layouts in each window

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=342275#342275

STG

Last edited by SelftaughtGeek on Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:13    Post subject:  

In order to get the url links to work, click edit for your last post

Add a line of explanation, so people who haven't followed this, know why it's there, then move the [url] & [/url] onto the same actual line as the real url link, leaving no spaces like this

[url]Real URL[/url]

OK?

You'll need to edit the other thread, too, btw

It's good, well done

When you come to do your frugal install, which isn't hard, first do a chkdsk & defrag of your windoze hard drive, then you could go as far as making a couple of partitions, one for puppy files and one as a swap file
[Not absolutely necessary, but worth the effort, as sometimes windoze will delete puppy files, at bootup/shutdown chkdsk, thinking they are corrupt windoze files]
Putting puppy files in their own partition instead of windoze C:\ drive prevents this
edit: sorry was editing and you posted first Laughing

Aitch Smile

Last edited by Aitch on Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:28; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SelftaughtGeek

Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Fri 18 Sep 2009, 11:22    Post subject:  

All done Aitch

Once again thanks for the help and advice

STG

_________________
Everything I know I found out for myself but only after some kind person pointed out the way.
I'm not really a Geek, just hate things that don't work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 63 [937 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 61, 62, 63 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1010s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0171s) ][ GZIP on ]