Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 15:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Classic Pup 2.14X -- Updated 2 series
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 297 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 295, 296, 297, 298, 299, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next

What is the best Puppy Version ever, LOL
2.14x
24%
 24%  [ 8 ]
2.14x
12%
 12%  [ 4 ]
2.14x
30%
 30%  [ 10 ]
Other: 2.14x only
33%
 33%  [ 11 ]
Total_votes : 33

Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 10:57    Post_subject:  

nubc wrote:
Ttuuxxx,
Can you make a PET for Audacity 1.2.6 that will run on Classic Pup?


Your lucky you asked me, Smile I'm one of only a couple of people on puppy who could of figured this one out, Smile
man what a pain 1.2.6 takes no unicode and wx2.4 and 1.3.13 takes 2.8 with unicode, they both don't like static wxgtk and then they have errors that stop compiling, I managed to compile it with 2 patches to the code, where as I looked at ubuntu and they have something like 14+ patches. I made this version as a basic version, maybe tomorrow or this weekend I might make a more advanced option one if I have time.
ps it starts slow, a wxgtk thing

ok here we go

first you need wxgtk
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/wxGTK-2.8.12-i386.pet
then you need
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/audacity-basic-1.3.13-beta-i386.pet

ok now if you want the docs install
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/audacity-src_DOC-1.3.13-beta-i386.pet

or locale language files other than English
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/audacity-src_NLS-1.3.13-beta-i386.pet

If you want the dev files for compiling only
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/audacity-basic_DEV-1.3.13-beta-i386.pet
and
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/wxGTK_DEV-2.8.12-i386.pet

and finally if you want the patched sources so it can be compiled much easier Smile
http://www.smokey01.com/ttuuxxx/2.14X/Software/wx-2.8-unicod-stuff/audacity-src-1.3.13-beta-patched.pet

enjoy
ttuuxxx
pic.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   72.2 KB
 Viewed   1591 Time(s)

pic.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Puppyt

Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 568
Location: Gatton, Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jul 2011, 19:51    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Puppy and Java mismatches
 

Quote:
for the first time on puppy, lol I made a tiny exec bin file and linked it to rox so now when you click a .jar (java file) it will execute, not need to open a terminal and type java -jar filename.jar each time you want to run it Smile

Yay! That self-execution works a treat in some dPup-009's I've been trying out (e.g., cagwait's pupbang001, Iguleder's e17-alpha, somebody's (?) 009rc3) - but not yet attempted with your magnum opus, 2.14X Embarassed
Perhaps in a misguided attempt to celebrate - and with your upcoming Page300 - I've attached one of my favourite java games: Lords of Midnight/ Doomdark's Revenge. (Rename it back to to *.jar, mislabled here to get past the attachment exclusions.)
With your pet ImageJ works and self-executes when clicked, as do all the jar execs in SciPlore's install directory (e.g., JabREF) - but even though I have repeatedly re-installed Java, and through the deb repositories - SciPlore can't properly open PDF's and JPG's (but DOCs are fine) in the created mind-maps. I'll update my Request thread with those dead-ends, and email the SciPlore developers again for suggested work-arounds. I'm NOT asking you to look at it, ttuuxx - you have loads of requests already on your plate!

Cheers!

UPDATE: Well ttuuxx - something about your hand-crafting 214X (using TOP8) has SciPlore calling up FireFox to open images and PDFs (via ghostscipt). So your pupplet has given me "some" extra insight - during the install, SciPlore is missing all the default graphic and PDF apps. I still don't know whether this is one single problem that can be solved for correct operation. Not Puppy and not Java, it seems.

Sorry that I haven't read through your thread for replies to these queries on your latest build, but are you considering a Xorg update for 1400x900 lappies etc, and AbiWord with DOCX support? I miss the right-click options on the pinboard/wallpaper, but that's just me Sad [EDIT- 'Course, your JWM option has it - I missed it in the rush.]
Everything else I love - for all the apps you have packed here, it seems to be nearly half the size of a similarly-packed Puppy5... Smile At a glance 214 seems to have the old-style bark, but man, what a bite!
Great Work!
Copy of lomjar-2.0.2.rar
Description  Keith Jones' Java emulation of Mike Singleton's LOM and DDR for ZX Spectrum.
Control keys here:
http://icemark.net/zx/SSD-III/servlet/ssd/title/exact/Lords Of Midnight
rar

 Download 
Filename  Copy of lomjar-2.0.2.rar 
Filesize  186.45 KB 
Downloaded  189 Time(s) 

_________________
Toowoomba Linux Community
http://groups.google.com/group/toowoombalinux

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dealora

Joined: 07 Nov 2007
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 05:46    Post_subject:    

Muchas gracias ttuuxxx for pet packages

Juan (Spain)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 Jul 2011, 08:37    Post_subject:  

no problem Smile at all
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 09:03    Post_subject:  

dealora wrote:
pet for realtek 8187 conexion wifi puppy 2.14x?
...
Muchas gracias ttuuxxx for pet packages

dealora, I suggest you check the outcome of using the Realtek driver that ttuuxxx provided before you celebrate.
If, as you claim, your device is Realtek RTL8187-based, that will be a USB wifi device.
Unfortunately, ttuuxxx provided you with the driver for RTL8180/8185-based devices, and these are PCI or Cardbus devices, so there's no chance the driver could be relevant to your device.

Let's go back to basics: I can say that Realtek RTL8187 USB devices have been supported as standard right from when Puppy 2.14 was originally released way back in 2007.
If you're genuinely serious about getting your wifi device to work, we need to know your device ID. Please plug in your USB wifi device, then run this command -
Code:
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices

and report the "Vendor" and "ProdID" values for the wifi device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
clarf


Joined: 13 Jun 2007
Posts: 612
Location: The old Lone Wolf

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2011, 12:19    Post_subject:  

Hi tuuxxx,

I didn´t have time lately to test top8, I moved to a new home, get new job (with new laptop an a throuble wireless card)...

In my new job I get a Dell Vostro 1310, couldn´t test latest network scripts so I´m connecting with my old Athlon XP System and it seems ok for wired connection (seems like I have to install the latest b34 drivers to make Vostro wireless to work).

Anyway I just tested the USB install and later boot, works fine but needs a little modification to Grub, so I checked puppyinstall script and fixes some things. Basically I reinserted the famous "root=/dev/ram0" parameter, fixed a little typo in the copy command for frugal install and modified the information text to update grub on frugal installation (something that have been requested for long time).

I add the updated script. I´ll be pleased if someone could test different installation options and feedback results, it should replace original script in /usr/sbin.

Regards,
clarf
puppyinstaller.zip
Description  Fixed grub parameters for USB instllation and
zip

 Download 
Filename  puppyinstaller.zip 
Filesize  21.71 KB 
Downloaded  185 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jul 2011, 04:43    Post_subject:  

clarf wrote:
Hi tuuxxx,

I didn´t have time lately to test top8, I moved to a new home, get new job (with new laptop an a throuble wireless card)...

In my new job I get a Dell Vostro 1310, couldn´t test latest network scripts so I´m connecting with my old Athlon XP System and it seems ok for wired connection (seems like I have to install the latest b34 drivers to make Vostro wireless to work).

Anyway I just tested the USB install and later boot, works fine but needs a little modification to Grub, so I checked puppyinstall script and fixes some things. Basically I reinserted the famous "root=/dev/ram0" parameter, fixed a little typo in the copy command for frugal install and modified the information text to update grub on frugal installation (something that have been requested for long time).

I add the updated script. I´ll be pleased if someone could test different installation options and feedback results, it should replace original script in /usr/sbin.

Regards,
clarf


great to hear you have a new jobs, congrads Smile
I'll use your updated grub script in the next release thanks for that clarf Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2011, 01:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Here's the latest frostwire and Java, unixODBC-2.3.0 was compiled on 2.14X and included with the Java..
enjoy
ttuuxxx

Thanks, ttuuxxx!

Edit:
This Java version cannot be installed in pfix=ram mode.
A minimum 320MB save file (256MB resized +64MB) is required.
Just be sure to install Java first, before any other software, as space is very limited (with 320MB file).
Java expands a lot during installation, then shrinks when it's done.


It will install in Puppy Linux 4.1.2 and 4.3.1, but with no menu entry.
Same applies to Classic Pup 2.14xRC5...it says there's a menu entry when installing (usually under Menu/System), but none appears.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2011, 02:36    Post_subject:  

Dewbie wrote:
Quote:
Here's the latest frostwire and Java, unixODBC-2.3.0 was compiled on 2.14X and included with the Java..
enjoy
ttuuxxx

Thanks, ttuuxxx!
Did a little testing; this Java version requires a minimum 512MB save file before installing; it can't be installed in pfix=ram mode like older versions.

It will install in 4.1.2 and 4.3.1, but with no menu entry.
Same applies to Classic Pup 2.14xRC5...it says there's a menu entry when installing (usually under Menu/System), but none appears.
As long as it's installed and functional, that's all that matters. Smile


hi as frostwire goes look under menu/internet that's where i put the menu, also don't forget to click menu/ Refresh Menus first Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jul 2011, 13:17    Post_subject:  

I've posted a modified AUTOEXEC.BAT file here for WakePup2, v.0.2, which is included in Classic Pup. The boot menu now has pfix options, including filesystem check.
Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
wanderer

Joined: 20 Oct 2007
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2011, 15:09    Post_subject: thanks ttuuxxx  

hey ttuuxx

thanks once again for developing the 2 series

It is the only one that works for me on my hardware

cant tell you how much its appreciated

I am now using 214xtop8

everything that I use works great

no problems

please keep up the great work

wanderer
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5275
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 00:09    Post_subject:  

dealora wrote:
¿pet for realtek 8187 conexion wifi puppy 2.14x?

tempestuous wrote:
If you're genuinely serious about getting your wifi device to work, we need to know your device ID.

A week has passed, and dealora is clearly not serious.
For anyone confused by dealora's question:
Realtek RTL8187-based USB wifi devices are supported out of the box in Puppy 2.14.
If anyone experiences problems with these devices, you should post your USB device ID, as explained earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jim3630


Joined: 13 Feb 2011
Posts: 792
Location: Northern Nevada

PostPosted: Sun 31 Jul 2011, 04:16    Post_subject:  

Hi, downloaded top8 checksums matched. tried manual frugal hdd install to ext4 pfix=ram, went off looking for a save file anyway finally got error can't find media...burn to dvd and did the same.

any idea what I'm doing wrong? does it need ext2 or 3 only?

--------
this is on a new dual core hp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 02:10    Post_subject:  

jim3630 wrote:
Hi, downloaded top8 checksums matched. tried manual frugal hdd install to ext4 pfix=ram, went off looking for a save file anyway finally got error can't find media...burn to dvd and did the same.

any idea what I'm doing wrong? does it need ext2 or 3 only?

--------
this is on a new dual core hp.


hi jim

Puppy 2,3 and most of 4 series was ext2,3 the ext 4 versions of 4 series were buggy, puppy 5 series had a stable ext4, 2.14X works on most pc's but it uses an older kernel that is much smaller than the latest puppy and runs with a lot less resources, I use ext3 only so I can be 100% guaranteed that it works with all puppy's plus its really stable. Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10839
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Aug 2011, 02:12    Post_subject: Re: thanks ttuuxxx  

wanderer wrote:
hey ttuuxx

thanks once again for developing the 2 series

It is the only one that works for me on my hardware

cant tell you how much its appreciated

I am now using 214xtop8

everything that I use works great

no problems

please keep up the great work

wanderer


Hi wanderer glad your enjoying it, Its the only linux version I use fulltime Smile
Kind of like a good wine, it gets better with age Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 297 of 333 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 295, 296, 297, 298, 299, ..., 331, 332, 333 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1648s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0619s) ][ GZIP on ]