Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 17:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Wireless Network problems
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Khonsu

Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 23 Apr 2009, 13:08    Post subject:  Wireless Network problems
Subject description: Problems to configure or connect to a wireless network
 

Hey friends, I'm running PuppyOffice (aka Chubby Puppy) on my Dell i386 laptop and have a lot of trouble configuring and connecting to my home WiFi network.

I used the ndiswrapper to get the Windows XP drivers, but when i try to use the W.A.G. app a message says that it is not configured and is checking the socket but lags there and does not do anything (i think), also tried to configure the network using the console but failed.

I went to the Network Wizard, but no luck, neither the auto DHCP or the manual configuration seem to work. Finally i tried the RutilT app, but I can't even get it installed.

Any ideas or even better a step by step guide for a true novice in Linux world, is greatly welcomed.

Best regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesjeffries2

Joined: 27 Apr 2008
Posts: 196

PostPosted: Sat 25 Apr 2009, 15:12    Post subject:  

have you tried the auto probe function in the network wizard? it seems to work quite well for me usually.

1. click the 'connect' icon on the desktop

2.Select connect to internet by a network interface

3. press load module

4. Select the more tab at the top

5. Press the auto probe button

This should mean it will automatically go through all the modules and work out which one is most likely to work for your network adapter.

6. Then go to the main screen of the network wizard and press the button for the wireless interface (you can tell which one it is by the type column

7. press the wireless button

8. press scan and select your network and then enter any security details. press Ok

This should tell you if it has found a 'live' network

if it has press auto DHCP and it should connect you to your network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Khonsu

Joined: 23 Apr 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2009, 11:29    Post subject:  Problem solved...  

Txs James, yes i did try the network wizard and that didn't go to well, since the problem was originating from the wireless card itself.

Anyway, i managed to get the network up and running, and now everything seems to be going on very smooth.

Txs again and c u around.

Regards,

Carlos
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0411s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0034s) ][ GZIP on ]