Slaxer_Pup 4.12 solid and stable non woof build

Under development: PCMCIA, wireless, etc.
Message
Author
User avatar
Aitch
Posts: 6518
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 15:57
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

#76 Post by Aitch »

Thanks Joe,

Silly question, maybe....

Have you posted this "Slaxer_Pup - The slackware 12.2 hardware detecting SMP kernel with a puppy 412 body" on the slackware forums?

Be interesting to see if fishing there, yields a good catch, here, if you know what I mean....? :wink:

Maybe, some slackware folks/noobies will like the puppy face on their notoriously geeky CLI oriented, OS?

Well done, btw, it's definitely growing on me....still 'testing' on different hardware

Aitch :)

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#77 Post by big_bass »

Aitch wrote:Thanks Joe,

Silly question, maybe....

Have you posted this "Slaxer_Pup - The slackware 12.2 hardware detecting SMP kernel with a puppy 412 body" on the slackware forums?

Be interesting to see if fishing there, yields a good catch, here, if you know what I mean....? :wink:

Maybe, some slackware folks/noobies will like the puppy face on their notoriously geeky CLI oriented, OS?

Well done, btw, it's definitely growing on me....still 'testing' on different hardware

Aitch :)

its a good thought
we could use the help

I will make up a how to this is really easy
all the hard work is already done setting it up

installing a slackware package no command line needed
there is a GUI

building from source packages is as easy as

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /root/test_me
cd  /root/test_me
src2pkg -A -E geany-0.17.tar.gz

explained :
make directory test_me you could call it anything
change to that directory or open a terminal
drop a tarball you want to compile there
then

src2pkg -A-E PACKAGE_GOES HERE

your new package gets auto built then placed in /tmp
geany-0.17-i486-1.tgz

you use pkgtool to install it
or uninstall it or view the contents of the package

this is basic simple stuff but very powerful







one more just for fun :wink:
-------------------------------------------------------
download slaxer_pup

after you install the packages I provided before
and run the --setup



step by step package building
copy and paste this if you dont want to type

1.)download the package you want to compile
http://sourceforge.net/project/download ... a=72988553

open console
step 2 and three

Code: Select all

mkdir -p /root/mt
cd /root/mt
4.)drop the mtpaint-3.31.tar.bz2 in the folder /root/mt

5.)

Code: Select all

src2pkg -A -E mtpaint-3.31.tar.bz2
6.)

Code: Select all

installpkg /tmp/mtpaint-3.31-i486-1.tgz

you just downloaded ,compiled and installed an updated package version 8)

Joe
Attachments
geany made easily .png
(27.56 KiB) Downloaded 1412 times

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#78 Post by big_bass »

oh and since I was careful not to change the 412 base to much
anything you compiled from source that worked on slaxer_pup

can be shared with your friends on puppy
with the tgz2pet

so now you have the dev environment to keep it updated

Joe

User avatar
Aitch
Posts: 6518
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 15:57
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

#79 Post by Aitch »

Excellent, thanks Joe

I really must clear space for my scsi kit
I'm curious to see if it'll boot from scsi using Slaxer_Pup, as I had a bit of a game trying to send scsi kit to Barry which was a bit embarrassing - but it did pay off in the long run....

Aitch :)

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#80 Post by pakt »

big_bass, I followed you intructions and installed 'pkgtool.desktop'. Worked without problems. I didn't have time to make a package yet though.

I'll try it soon - looks like a very useful tool :D

I'm attaching the SlaxerPup info file made on a different kind of machine: An Elonex Webbook (10" netbook from the UK). This PC has a VIA C7-M CPU, UniChrome Pro II graphics, 1GB RAM and a 80GB harddisk. Booted SlaxerPup with GRUB on the harddisk (pfix=ram) and it ran fine.

Also attaching the SlaxerPup info file made on an old IBM ThinkPad T20 with a 700MHz PIII CPU and 512MB RAM. Booted SlaxerPup from CD (pfix=ram) and also ran fine. Tested with both a PCMCIA wifi card (Ralink RT2500) and a USB wifi stick (Ralink RT73). Both worked.

BTW, I made an interested observation when I streamed an internet radio station on the T20. I used gxine with visualisations = none. I tried this with both upup-741 and SlaxerPup412. With no other apps active, top showed 11-12% cpu load for gxine using upup-741. With SlaxerPup412, top showed only 8-9% cpu load for gxine.

The only difference in boot parameters was that I had to use 'acpi=force' to get upup-471 to boot on the T20. SlaxerPup412 booted easily without that parameter.
Attachments
info_tarball_Elonex-Webbook.tar.gz
(12.83 KiB) Downloaded 497 times
info_tarball_IBM-T20.tar.gz
(12.83 KiB) Downloaded 490 times
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#81 Post by big_bass »

big_bass, I followed you intructions and installed 'pkgtool.desktop'. Worked without problems. I didn't have time to make a package yet though.

I'll try it soon - looks like a very useful tool Very Happy
Hey Paul (pakt)

thanks for the detailed hardware report on various machines
you tested with and also for the CPU usage you noted

*there is a simple yet powerful "cleanup_ memory" script
that does wonders with the cache just click on it
its there for the geeky types that would like to add things to clean
at their command and control

well here's a start to test the slackware installer in the next post

thanks for the detailed info you posted

Joe

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#82 Post by big_bass »

this is a how to install a slackware package
and a good one to start with I must add

Dowload firefox 3.09
I like wget so I do this

Code: Select all

wget -c -N http://riksun.riken.go.jp/pub/pub/Linux/slackware/slackware-12.2/patches/packages/mozilla-firefox-3.0.9-i686-1.tgz
or with your browser
http://riksun.riken.go.jp/pub/pub/Linux ... i686-1.tgz

if you click on the slackware.desktop icon
and the firefox 3.09 package is in root it will auto locate it and ask
you if you want to install (the mouse and arrow keys guide the menu)
say ok

*now I am working on another thing with a "universal menu"
so if you wonder why I do the next strange step you have a clue*

after firefox was installed correctly you need a launch icon

Code: Select all

cp /usr/share/applications/mozilla-firefox.desktop /root
click on the icon in root and enjoy the latest firefox
whenever you want

User avatar
Aitch
Posts: 6518
Joined: Wed 04 Apr 2007, 15:57
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

#83 Post by Aitch »

3.0.10 now available

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/products/download.html

Is java/flash an issue with slaxer_pup?

Aitch :)

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#84 Post by big_bass »

Code: Select all

Is java/flash an issue with slaxer_pup?

Aitch 


I havent tried installing 3.09 with java
but flash works fine


I usually build my own firefox/flash combos
anyway but I used firefox 3.09 tgz
mainly for an easy common package people are familiar with and use
so the could test with slackware package tools


I will list others so you can update the "prei-nstalled" puppy apps also
thus keeping slaxer_pup updated always without a need to remaster



remember that the slackware tools and source to package
are wonderful highly recommended extras

and all standard pet packages install with petget

Joe

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#85 Post by big_bass »

this will post will be of interest only to people who build packages for puppy
something to ease the labor with resizing icons 48x48 and 16x16
then make the correct folders



they are two drag n drop scripts just drag an image onto the script

and one small app 32kb called aaphoto
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... h&id=18268

***********resize48x_icons***************************

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env bash

#Joe Arose aka..big_bass 
#drag and drop make 48x48 images for packages 
#to the pixmaps folder
#place the icon inside it 
#remove the _new.png  name  
#only a  *.png will get placed in the folder
#other formats will get made though such as *.jpg 
#they just won't get placed in the package ready folder


# check if tools are available
if [ "`which aaphoto`" = "" ] > /dev/null 2>/dev/null
then
 echo "Please check if aaphoto is installed ."
 sleep 10 #some time to read 
 exit -1
fi

#what if no file is selected?
if [$1 = ]; then
                  echo "no files given"
                  sleep 5
				  exit 0
 
               fi
			   
DIRNOW=`dirname "$1"` 

#command line image converter  -s is silent ,resize48  is for 48 pixels
#read for options  #rox -s /usr/doc/aaphoto_sources-v0.30/README

aaphoto -s --resize48 "$1"

#strip off the .png 
#make the strings I need 
IMAGENAME=`basename  "$1" .png`
DIRNOW=`dirname "$1"` 

#for testing only to check output
#echo $IMAGENAME"_new.png" >/root/image.txt
#echo $DIRNOW >>/root/image.txt


#here I need to rename the generated *_new file  back to the original name 
#to make things easy the correct folder is made for you  also

#what if not a *.png file is selected?
#dont build the folders 
if echo `basename "$1" ` | grep -q '.png$'; then
                  mkdir -p $DIRNOW/usr/share/pixmaps/    
				  fi
                                                                    
mv $DIRNOW/$IMAGENAME"_new.png" $DIRNOW/usr/share/pixmaps/           
mv $DIRNOW/usr/share/pixmaps/$IMAGENAME"_new.png" $DIRNOW/usr/share/pixmaps/$IMAGENAME".png"     

and for 16x16 icons


*******************resize16x_icons*********************************

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/env bash

#Joe Arose aka..big_bass 
#drag and drop make 16x16 images for packages 
#to the mini-icon folder
#place the icon inside it 
#remove the _new.png  name  
#folder is made only if a *.png is converted
#other image formats are renamed *_new 
#and placed in the same directory as the original
#a self check to see if aaphoto is installed
#

# check if tools are available
if [ "`which aaphoto`" = "" ] > /dev/null 2>/dev/null
then
 echo "Please check if aaphoto is installed ."
 sleep 10 #some time to read 
 exit -1
fi
resize16x_icons
#what if no file is selected?
if [$1 = ]; then
                  echo "this is a drag and drop on script "
                  sleep 5
				  exit 0
                fi

DIRNOW=`dirname "$1"` 

#command line image converter  -s is silent ,resize16  is for 16 pixels

aaphoto -s --resize16 "$1"

#strip off the .png 
#make the strings I need 
IMAGENAME=`basename  "$1" .png`
DIRNOW=`dirname "$1"` 

#for testing only to check output
#echo $IMAGENAME"_new.png" >/root/image.txt
#echo $DIRNOW >>/root/image.txt


#here I need to rename the generated *_new file  back to the original name 
#to make things easy the correct folder is made for you  
#also only if it is a *.png the folder is made to protect
#against format incompatibilities 

if echo `basename "$1" ` | grep -q '.png$'; then
                  mkdir -p $DIRNOW/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/  
				  fi

                                                                        
mv $DIRNOW/$IMAGENAME"_new.png" $DIRNOW/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/           
mv $DIRNOW/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/$IMAGENAME"_new.png" $DIRNOW/usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons/$IMAGENAME".png"     


Joe

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#86 Post by tasmod »

Hmm, like Woof pups, fell at the first hurdle for me. :(

Won't recognise wireless keyboard so I can't type 'puppy pix=ram' or go any further.

Puppy 420 deals with it OK.
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#87 Post by big_bass »

tasmod

thanks for trying and posting

this type of problem leaves me very little information
to correct the problem

so If you would like to see your wireless keyboard work on more versions
be it woof or slaxer or another puplet


you could help gather some useful hardware information
by just downloading a simple script that collects hardware data
from your part its just one click the script does all the work


from there I can see what "driver" module is needed


steps to help with hardware information gathering

1.)info_get_v01.tar.gz
2)click on it and extract it then just click on the "green " info_get_v01
3.) this file got auto built ----> /root/info_tarball.tgz

4.add /root/info_tarball.tgz
to the post in the forum


select Browse...
find it in root
then Add Attachment




you could do this on a version that detects your wireless keyboard

thanks



P.S to Paul (pakt) thanks for combining all the scripts into one tool much easier
that way
Joe
Attachments
info_get_v01.tar.gz
(559 Bytes) Downloaded 485 times
Last edited by big_bass on Mon 18 May 2009, 14:31, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#88 Post by tasmod »

Thanks Joe,

Sorry about info, I was at a loss where to begin. After all it stopped right at the beginning :D

I will download the pet and continue investigation. Hopefully i can find out the module required.

I've just had a CD drive scratch and wreck 6 of my disks without me realising, after it seems the lens moved close to disk. Fortunately I didn't retry Slaxer so its OK.

Rob
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#89 Post by tasmod »

Will have to extract it, forum says no tgz allowed.
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#90 Post by tasmod »

OK, tgz not allowed, so modified the script to save as tar.gz.

Attached below. (See forums dishing up empty pages again)
Attachments
info_tarball.tar.gz
(15.05 KiB) Downloaded 458 times
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
pakt
Posts: 1157
Joined: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 16:54
Location: Sweden

#91 Post by pakt »

tasmod wrote:Will have to extract it, forum says no tgz allowed.
Whoops! :oops:

Here's an updated info_get that uses '.tar.gz' instead of '.tgz'

I've also added lsmod, elspci, dmidecode and ddcprobe to the info collected.

Paul
Attachments
info_get_v02.tar.gz
(658 Bytes) Downloaded 513 times
Methinks Raspberry Pi were ideal for runnin' Puppy Linux

big_bass
Posts: 1740
Joined: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 12:21

#92 Post by big_bass »

Aitch


firefox 3.09

with java and flash works

java test site
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml
Attachments
java installed .png
(6.58 KiB) Downloaded 1114 times
java details .png
(8.07 KiB) Downloaded 995 times

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#93 Post by tasmod »

Strange, I posted this yesterday and it appeared in my browser, now it's gone. :?



Big Bass, I owe you an apology, wireless keyboard works.

:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

The startup resolution of the boot window appears to be larger than any other I tried.
I could not see the boot: line it was off screen!

So typing puppy pfix=ram was actually there but I never actually got round to pressing enter, I assumed the keyboard wasn't working. Pressing enter made it scroll up and slaxer to load.

Working very nicely now. :D

My keyboard still doesn't work with Barrys Woof build though. :(

Rob
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#94 Post by 01micko »

Um ... Rob,

That was in the other thread under "Puppy Derivatives"..... :lol:

Cheers ( :oops: )
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
tasmod
Posts: 1460
Joined: Thu 04 Dec 2008, 13:53
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK
Contact:

#95 Post by tasmod »

OMG senility strikes again. :oops: :oops: :oops:

Back to the shadows for me then. 8)
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso 8)

Post Reply