Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 00:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Fatdog 112
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2009, 10:04    Post_subject: How to make amdcccle (AMD/ATI control center) work  

How to make amdcccle (AMD/ATI control center) work - well at least display the window ((I haven't tried whether the feature in the control panel actually works ...) but it's better than seeing a segfault. This is only applicable for you who install the ATI driver (ati_fglrx_9.2.pet).

Create a file named "users" elsewhere in your path (I choose /usr/bin).
The only purpose of this file is to print the word "root" to the screen. (For actual use of users, please read here http://www.manpagez.com/man/1/users/ - puppy only have one user, root)

This is how I do it - open terminal and type this exactly, pressing Enter key at end of every line
Code:

cat > /usr/bin/users << EOF
#!/bin/sh
echo root
EOF
chmod +x /usr/bin/users


Then you can run the AMD/ATI control center (from terminal type "amdcccle") and it should display now.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 17 Apr 2009, 20:27    Post_subject:  

Wow, thanks 007! I spent some time looking for the source for "users", but then I got sidetracked doing something else. Should have thought about doing that. I've updated the fglrx 9.2 pet package and re-uploaded.

Thanks for the other bug fixes too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gabe

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 01:14    Post_subject:  

How do you have OpenOffice 3.1, and one released in February to boot, when 3.1 isn't even out yet in mid-April?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 485
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 07:34    Post_subject:  

I tried again to install 412 on USB stick, and got the same black screen syndrome as with 410 & 411. Sad
Why is this happening only on netbook Aspire One ???
This sucks big time as I like the way it works on the CD.
I'll try to run from the CD on a desktop and make the USB install with this machine to see what happens.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
techtype

Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 181

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 08:00    Post_subject:  

Thanks for all your work on this!! Access to the devx is forbidden on your link, while the mirror has the old devx.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 09:23    Post_subject:  

Ok this works now..just permissions were set rw-----now are rw-r--r--
http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/kirk/Fatdog/iso/112/devx_112.sfs

Eric

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 10:20    Post_subject:  

Thanks again Eric. I forgot again. I've been sick. I'll blame it on the meds Embarassed

Yes, It's OO 3.01. I'll edit the first post.

Eztuxer, I don't know why that would be. How much ram do you have? Fatdog needs more ram than 4.1.2 ( I assume you've tried it with 4.1.2). Even if you boot with pfix=noram, on the first boot Puppy will still copy the main sfs file to ram. Only after there's a pup_save will the pfix=noram option work. If you don't have a lot of ram, the pfix=noram is a good idea, you really need the ram to run programs, not for storage. Oh, never mind, you said the CD works, I think it does the same thing with ram.

Raffy, I would be a little concerned about using NTFS for the pup_save file with Puppy. Puppy 2 and up has a problem, it can't quite unmount the partition the pup_save file is on at shutdown. I've never had this cause a problem, but I use a ext3 partition. Maybe someone will chime in and say they have been using NTFS for the pup_save file for sometime without problems and make us all feel better.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eztuxer


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 485
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 12:48    Post_subject:  

Installed it on USB from desktop computer and plugged it into Acer Aspire One: Same old crap. Sad
This netbook has 1.5GB ram on it, and runs @ 1.6 GHz.
I'm running pupitup based on 412 for over 3 months now, and your pupplet is the only one among the many I've tried that has this bug.
I like Xine better than Gxine, do you have a .pet of it ? (& Edit PDF too please).
Also, I was listening to a podcast with Xine for almost an hour when everything froze, had to cold reboot it.
That was running from CD on desktop Fujitsu Siemens P4 @ 2.6 GHz with 512 MB ram.

_________________
Don't poop it down... Pup it Up !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2009, 21:01    Post_subject:  

@kirk
No worries kirk, glad to contribute though only a little bit Smile
Get well soon Smile

@caneri
Thanks for fixing the permission and of course for hosting all this Very Happy

@raffy
Back in 2.15ce days I used to have pup_save in NTFS, dual booting with Windows. The only problem I had is, if Windows didn't shutdown correctly. NTFS was left is an unclean state and puppy would refuse boot because it can't mount pup_save file R/W (ntfs-3g will refuse to mount r/w if NTFS isn't clean). The pup_save file itself was intact, though. This wasn't good for my purpose at that time (puppy was meant rescue Windows - it's no good if puppy can't boot after a Windows crash!) - so in the end I created a dedicated ext3 partition for the pup_save.

Fast forward to present, I now have fatdog 111/112 running on 2 machines with pup_save in NTFS partitions. They have been running for about 1.5 months now w/o problems.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 19 Apr 2009, 03:31    Post_subject:  

Quote:
so in the end I created a dedicated ext3 partition for the pup_save.

Having made that decision, then why not make a FULL installation to your ext3 partition?!
However, apart from NTFS being a pile of pants and permanent liability, I cannot see the wisdom of dual booting - at all. Sure, it's fun but HDs are not forever. They are doomed to eventual failure. MTBF only represents a probability - a bell curve has a small distribution close to the origin! It could be your HD. Then you stand to lose everything. The smart move is to distribute risk in a RAID-y kind of way, but not RAID 0 striping.
Apart from which, HDs are cheap; older, smaller HDs, are perfectly suited for compact distros and are the stuff of gifts. There's a lot of muddled thinking about OS deployment and PC usage, even though there's some very clever coding of individual OSes, M$ excepted. If you need massive Tb storage for eg d/l & family videos, etc., then it would seem sensible to shunt these onto the relative safety of separate external storage ASAP.
In short, keep one OS per HD, and, for compact distros, use one small HD each. Manipulating compressed files may seem quick and efficient but it is risky and individual elements of individual files are never present. Why expend resources on contemporaneous decompression for each and every usage when it can be achieved in a once-and-for-all prior operation. Compression is only useful for storage and transmission, but each application of the compression/decompression algorithm, including that intrinsic to the digital recording process itself, involves risk and duplication as well as overheads for error correction, etc.
HD caddies are underrated in my view, too - at £3.25 + VAT from Ebuyer, they aren't going to compromise the life savings. Why not establish a bank of them on the wall of your computer room? They also offer a substantial additional security factor - in the event of fire, flood, earthquake, insurrection or explosion, just pull the caddy out of your main machine, grab your trousers and wallet and your life's endeavours can be reconstructed later; on second thoughts, the trousers could be omitted.
Of course, these arguments don't apply for those who prefer to use liveCD/USB fobs, but I don't consider that an either/or - no reason not to have both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlcstat

Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Location: SW Virginia mountains

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 13:14    Post_subject: Toshiba L305-S5919 and Fatpup 112
Sub_title: Thanks works great!
 

Greetings,
This is just a FYI. My Dell went south last week so I bought this Toshiba laptop from Best Buy for $378. It is actually a great computer for a real cheap price.
Problem is my puppy cd's wouldn't load the Intel 4 video and didn't support the Atheros WIFI. I actually couldn't get anything newer than Puppy 4.0 to boot, but then I had no internet.
When I ran across this thread, I decided to give it a try. Fatdog 112 works just great on this computer. In fact this is the first time that a puppy CD has loaded my WIFI without any setup. I did run DHCP but it found my access point on boot. Also, the Intel video support in this derivative is just plain beautiful. If you are new to linux you have just got to see the Openbox WM on this video card. I have tried a lot of distros but this Fatdog beats them all. At least on this platform.
Thanks
tlcstat
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
Dpup

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 74

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2009, 14:52    Post_subject: Fatdog 112 Installation
Sub_title: Compaq CQ60-211DX low priced Notebook
 

I bought the "Other" best buy Special, a Compaq CQ60-211DX Notebook for $379.95, and tried installation with a number of Puppy versions. Got several recent versions up to 4.2 beta 2 test to work, but then I tried Fatdog 112. To my surprise, it was the only one that would boot quickly from the CQ60 internal DVD and directly create bootable USB flash drive with the Puppy Universal Installer. And as a second surprise, boots in less than half the time of the other Puppy versions that I tested !!! It is working fine with my Dlink and Airlink wireless routers with WPA2 TKIP and WPA2 AES security, and auto reconnects on reboot.

Dpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tlcstat

Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Location: SW Virginia mountains

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2009, 18:52    Post_subject:  

Greetings,
I just put this Fatdog on a 3Gig Ext3 partition, full install with
Grub in MBR. The installer works just fine and the Grub works properly also. I have a few horror stories about Grub so I did a MBR backup first.
Anyway, this edition is very fast on on the Intel 4 platform. Wifi and all else working fine. I did have to re-setup my email and bookmarks. I didn't see an option to move the settings from my thumbdrive. If there is a way to migrate the settings I would appreciate the feedback.
Thanks
tlcstat
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
tlcstat

Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Location: SW Virginia mountains

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2009, 19:07    Post_subject:  

Greetings,
After this full install my openoffice sfs isn't loading. I have the required _112.sfs in the file name. The bootmanager doesn't see the file. Any suggestions.
tlcstat
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
tlcstat

Joined: 28 Oct 2007
Posts: 82
Location: SW Virginia mountains

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2009, 10:34    Post_subject:  

Greetings,
Well, looks like I will need the pet package for my full install.
Oh, well! Back to the download manager.
tlcstat
PS This dog could use a full install sfs loader. The frugal install doesn't lend itself to the word "fat" very well :) frugal /= fat.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0862s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]