Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 06:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Skip Internal Hard Disk Detection
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
esamrat

Joined: 10 Apr 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 08:05    Post_subject:  Skip Internal Hard Disk Detection  

I successfully loaded USB Puppy linux 4.1 on my laptop with crashed hard disk but connected. During boot up sequence .. it tries to access pup file on crashed hard disk slowing down the boot process. my question is can i skip that hard disk checking which is already crashed?

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 13:30    Post_subject:  

If the bios of your PC permits it, disable the HDD.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11130
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 13:45    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
If the bios of your PC permits it, disable the HDD.


It won't work my dear friend. Linux is too powerful for that. It will find the hard disks anyway. Moreover, we'd need to look at the effects of probepart_init, which will probe even if we use the kernel noprobe arguments.

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 14:23    Post_subject:  

you can force to use a partition and even a subfolder in it.

If you use grub, it could be done like this:
Code:
  title Puppy 412
  root (hd0,0)
  kernel /puppy412/vmlinuz acpi=force pmedia=idehd pdev1=sdc7 psubdir=puppy412
  initrd /puppy412/initrd.gz


So the files are searched on /dev/sdc7 in the subfolder /puppy412

If you run from CD, try a boot option like
puppy pdev1=sdc7 psubdir=puppy412
But I never tested, if it works from the CD bootmenu.

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 11 Apr 2009, 17:32    Post_subject:  

I thought that if the bios doesn't know a HDD is in the machine, it couldn't pass this info to the boot of linux.
My bad then.

Remove the bad HDD then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0550s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0131s) ][ GZIP on ]