Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
  New Forum: http://forum.puppylinux.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 13 Aug 2020, 21:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
OpenBox + FBPanel
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11249
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 07:09    Post subject:  OpenBox + FBPanel  

Hi guys, I've been messing around with Openbox / Fbpanel as a lite weight alternative to Icewm or even JWM.
First I compiled FBpanel and had some issues with xdg menus, I tried for about 6 hrs and then I noticed the latest one was package and sitting in the repo and it already had the xdg menus Smile included, Excellent, That save a lot of work Openbox was easy just compile it, and away we go.
I did try fluxbox and found it had too much control and it was larger, also tried hackedbox and the same. OPenbox/Fbpanel is a great mix.
I also have tried lxpanel/lxde and tons of other, lxpanel is based on fbpanel but is 2+ times larger. What I would like is maybe if a few people could get together and work this package out. It runs great, has animated window dressings, displays the current wallpaper on the desktop selector, the menu works, it comes with a menu refresh and around 95% of the menu icons work Smile abs volume works and the clock on the tray.really if we figure out a few things this package could be a base for puppy 5.0 or Dpup, it looks and operates better than JWM the pet package 341kb plus theres still room to remove stuff, Heres some ideas of what I would like seen done to this package.

-get blinky & freememory applet working on it
-have all the icons working in the menu 95% is close but not all Smile
-Build a theme selector
-See if its possible to use the default location for icons and not system link 906 icons to the /tmp folder

Anyone want to lend a hand?
I'm working on Dpup and to have this all fixed up for it would be grand
here's the package, just install it and restart x server and it should be right there.

ttuuxxx

Latest OpenBox + FbPanel 341kb pet
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=16778

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 16:12    Post subject:  

I'm sure you've seen BoxPup, right? That's OpenBox without a panel - just a "task manager" (tint bar) and standalone tray. Pretty basic.

I think JWM might be lighter than OpenBox, though.

_________________
Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick
Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz | 2 GB RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 16:35    Post subject:  

Did install it on upup.
I had no menu icons, not freemem etc..
Seems to be more performant then jwm.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11249
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 19:17    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Did install it on upup.
I had no menu icons, not freemem etc..
Seems to be more performant then jwm.

Sorry the first time you run it, click Menu/Desktop-->fbpanel-refresh
once you refresh it, it builds te icon system links and you'll have the menu icons:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 03 Apr 2009, 20:08    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Did install it on upup.
I had no menu icons, not freemem etc..
Seems to be more performant then jwm.

Sorry the first time you run it, click Menu/Desktop-->fbpanel-refresh
once you refresh it, it builds te icon system links and you'll have the menu icons:)
ttuuxxx
Don't bother ttuuxxx.
I have icons in sub menu's but not in the main menu.
Probably due to the install in upup. Not the same as dpup, no?
I was just curious.

EDIT:
I tried now in dpup-014.
Now I have the menu icons directly. So there is something in upup-015 which prevents a correct working.

As I said, don't bother.

Side question:
As upup recognizes my second stat HDD externally connected and dpup not, I suspect some level difference of a driver. Indeed upu's kernel is higher then dpup's one.

For a complete novice as I am, I suppose it would be an almost impossible task to correct dpup.
What has to be done? Recompile the kernel? Or is the driver issue somewhere else?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Sat 09 May 2009, 21:16    Post subject:  

After messing around with slitaz for a while I've really come to like the openbox/lxpanel combination, so this is nice to have in puppy. I noticed that in your package right-click menu's on windows don't show up, (among other things) and as you said you wanted a theme selector.

So I've made two quick packages for testing, openbox, and obconf.

openbox.pet should fix the problems with openbox (and add some themes). Please note, as this was "stolen" from a slitaz package, if you manage to get right-click on the desktop to work, the menu that pops up includes some slitaz stuff.
obconf.pet adds a configuration program, with a menu entry in Desktop.

both available here: http://www.tdem.co.nz/linux/files/

note: you will have to install ttuuxxx's package first, as fbpanel won't be installed. Yes, all very messy indeed, but I'm to lazy to make it all nice and shiny right now. Use at own risk.

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2009, 02:38    Post subject:  

i use openbox a lot ( in boxpup and now with xfce4 panel in puppy 4.1.2.)
also tried fbpanel before.
i think puppy must have a gnome menu( like in xfce4.6 pet e.g. or in NOP) directories to show menu icons correctly and shure need any gnome-icon theme
in the screenshot i have icons in menu in fbpanel from debian with added desktop-directories
not all puppy apps are shown but it can be corrected easily by adding needed lines to .desktop files

fbpanel is much better than lxpanel i think
but xfce4-panel is the best( although it needs xfce4-libs)
fbpanel.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  fbpanel.jpg 
Filesize  148.91 KB 
Downloaded  1339 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
106498

Joined: 18 Nov 2007
Posts: 250
Location: NZ

PostPosted: Tue 12 May 2009, 05:53    Post subject:  

I'm not sure what you mean with gnome directories. Where are they?

Nice desktop btw Smile What's the gtk theme you're using?

_________________
An expert is just a beginner with experience.
Shamelessly representing TdeM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 739

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2009, 06:27    Post subject:  

the menu entries are in /usr/share/desktop-directories
i do not remember exactly from where i got them but xfce4.6 has them also
cgtk-theme is murrine-blue from tuuuuxx's pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Nov 2009, 09:28    Post subject: Re: OpenBox + FBPanel  

ttuuxxx wrote:

Latest OpenBox + FbPanel 341kb pet
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=16778

Can I use this pet if I'm already running openbox? (boxpup)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Wed 11 Nov 2009, 08:38    Post subject: Re: OpenBox + FBPanel  

ttuuxxx wrote:
OPenbox/Fbpanel is a great mix......
It runs great, has animated window dressings, displays the current wallpaper on the desktop selector, the menu works, it comes with a menu refresh and around 95% of the menu icons work

I like OpenBox too, I'll try FbPanel with it as well.
ttuuxxx wrote:
Latest OpenBox + FbPanel 341kb pet
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=16778

I must need to update the OpenBox in my BoxPup413, will check that when I get home this morning. Anything an ultra-novice can do to help with this? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 344
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Sat 14 Nov 2009, 09:03    Post subject:    

its very good,

but i have problem to edit workspace, all of them is 4 workspace. how to edit workspace.

i have client for my internet cafe, workspace is too complicated for windows (microsoft) user. how to edit them become none.

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Mon 16 Nov 2009, 18:29    Post subject:  

pri wrote:
its very good,

but i have problem to edit workspace, all of them is 4 workspace. how to edit workspace.

i have client for my internet cafe, workspace is too complicated for windows (microsoft) user. how to edit them become none.


In OpenBox; mouse middle click>>>remove last workspace
My BoxPup comes with 2 workspaces by default, what are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 344
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Nov 2009, 03:49    Post subject:  

omskates wrote:

In OpenBox; mouse middle click>>>remove last workspace
My BoxPup comes with 2 workspaces by default, what are you using?


yea for regularly openbox that way can do!, but i using tuxx one here, i think tuxx was removed menu from desktop. so the menu only apear when klik menu on fbpanel. its was god idea. so there is no dobel menu.

so where is to edit the workspace?.

and the taskbar color, where is to change the color, i think make a theme great,

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11249
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 19 Nov 2009, 21:52    Post subject:  

Hi I had a look, first delete /root/.fbpanel (hidden folder)
then install the pet below and restart X
ttuuxxx
No-Desktops.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  No-Desktops.pet 
Filesize  5.63 KB 
Downloaded  653 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [17 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0802s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0176s) ][ GZIP on ]