Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:41
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Turbopup Xtreme v1.0 - The fastest dog on Earth
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 39 of 47 [700 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
Cust0dian


Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Russian Federation, St. Petersburg

PostPosted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 18:04    Post subject: Re: howto use acpi=off in frugal installation  

oui wrote:
Hi
...
the start with "noacpi" in menu.lst from grub seems not to be really helpful

but the start from CD with the parameter acpi=off seems to work properly.

what are the different ways to turn acpi off in Turbopup?


Hi, oui.
Have you tried using acpi=off instead of noacpi in your menu.lst kernel line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 21:04    Post subject:  

Turbopup Xtreme v1.0 (ISO and supporting files) re-uploaded to Sendspace.

New links:

Turbopup Xtreme v1.0 ISO
http://www.sendspace.com/file/6nmy5c (99.5 MB)

MD5SUM file
http://www.sendspace.com/file/ofv3l6

Readme HTML file
http://www.sendspace.com/file/qxqlln
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Sun 12 Dec 2010, 21:20    Post subject:  

[EDIT] Updated the original post with the new links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 01:14    Post subject:  

in order to download I had to change the user agent string in seamonkey's about:config to Firefox 3.6.11 what a pain ... google code will allow less than 100 mb with no bs
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 11:16    Post subject:  

Use Opera. Works like a charm. No need to mess with UA strings Smile
_________________
Turbopup Tech Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Cust0dian


Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Russian Federation, St. Petersburg

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 16:06    Post subject:  

There is a service called SaveFrom wich lets you download files directly from some hosters out there (full list can be found on main page, under Supported resources on the right) e.g. RapidShare and DailyMotion.

One con is it throws a popup window when clicking Download button so be careful Smile Also you can't download multiple files at once.

Arrow Download links:
Turbopup Xtreme v1.0 ISO via SaveFrom

MD5SUM file via SaveFrom

Readme HTML file via SaveFrom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 15 Dec 2010, 00:05    Post subject:  

The site seems legit, though I can't be certain since it's in Russian. I'll leave it for now. Any Russian speakers care to chime in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Cust0dian


Joined: 22 Oct 2010
Posts: 28
Location: Russian Federation, St. Petersburg

PostPosted: Fri 17 Dec 2010, 13:27    Post subject:  

Good day, Flash.

I was thinking about how to proof that SaveFrom won't harm you in any way and here's what I can tell:

First of all, let's see Google Trends: yes, it is visited mostly by russians, but it is 2 years old. My opinion is anything illegal will be closed in less than one year, don't you think?

Second, WebmasterCoffee analysis. It is just simple JQ site.

Third, McAfee SiteAdvisor report. Nothing dangerous here.

Is it legal for you to download from this site? Absolutely. You downloading files from SaveFrom.net site, how did they appear there is not your trouble. This could be simple redirecting on the server side, or it can be cache, or it can be magic.

I hope this will bring some light in this off-topic conversation Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jan 2011, 03:45    Post subject:  

Hi,
Last night i installed Turbopup xtreme v1 (full install).
Loaded and booted ok , BUT:
1.The sound is very low , i first thought it is ALSACONF then went to Mixer but both were ok , the sound is very low i even thought it is not there but when the kids went to sleep i heard some sound.
2. Can not mount any drive , pmount not working but when i run the CD there is no problem .
3. I cant find the trash bin, i did find a file , trash but it is of no good use.
4. If i change the background or the wallpaper it will not be saved for the next session.

P.S. I have read all 39 pages in this thread so please help me.

_________________
-----------------------
Please forgive my bad English.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jan 2011, 11:21    Post subject:  

bignono1 wrote:
Hi,
Last night i installed Turbopup xtreme v1 (full install).
Loaded and booted ok , BUT:
1.The sound is very low , i first thought it is ALSACONF then went to Mixer but both were ok , the sound is very low i even thought it is not there but when the kids went to sleep i heard some sound.

there is a pet of mmix in the pupngo thread that would be a good replacement for alsamixer
Quote:

2. Can not mount any drive , pmount not working but when i run the CD there is no problem .
Can you run pmount from a terminal and report what comes out on the command line
Quote:

3. I cant find the trash bin, i did find a file , trash but it is of no good use.
Trash is a function or Rox-Filer which is not running by default - Puplite has a mechanism to switch back and forth between Rox mode and jwm only - perhaps it can be made into a pet
Quote:

4. If i change the background or the wallpaper it will not be saved for the next session.
Sounds like the desktop may be getting set in /root/.jwmrc - How are you changing the wallpaper? (what program, file etc)[/quote]
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bignono1


Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 362
Location: New ME

PostPosted: Wed 19 Jan 2011, 15:11    Post subject:  

Thanks Techno,
Running pmount from the terminal or from the menu will show the message :Puppy Drive Mounter Please wait probing hardware, thats all nothing more.
I change the w\p from Menu>Desktop> w\p setter.
Thank you again.

_________________
-----------------------
Please forgive my bad English.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
acrocosm


Joined: 12 Sep 2010
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 14:37    Post subject:  

May I suggest dmenu as a tiny super fast app launcher? It would make an excellent compliment on this pupplet. Auto run it on startup with -i for convenience for noobs and veterans alike. I really hate case difference handling in linux '_'

Also why did you set double click??? It's slowing it down, plus it adds strain to your finger! It should have never existed on the first place, damn MS...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 17:18    Post subject:  

Just speculation because I am in Wary at the moment....
bignono1 wrote:
I change the w\p from Menu>Desktop> w\p setter.
Thank you again.
I think it uses ROX-Filer's background => needs to be modified/replaced with something that changes the jwm background instead. Here is the reference:
http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml#desktops
Pup'ngo has a cli program that does this
Quote:
Running pmount from the terminal or from the menu will show the message :Puppy Drive Mounter Please wait probing hardware, thats all nothing more.
not sure if this could be due to missing the image manipulation binaries - more recent versions of pmount use my shell code to generate the bar images using only the shell (no external binaries required) ... it may just need an upgrade
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4348

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jan 2011, 17:20    Post subject:  

acrocosm wrote:
Also why did you set double click??? It's slowing it down, plus it adds strain to your finger! It should have never existed on the first place, damn MS...
Maybe single click only was already patented by Apple(originator of the mouse)? Damn Apple
acrocosm wrote:
May I suggest dmenu as a tiny super fast app launcher? It would make an excellent compliment on this pupplet.
Here is a simple script that does a launcher
Code:
#!/bin/ash
for x in `ls /usr/share/applications/*.desktop`; do I=$I"<item>""`grep "^Exec=" $x |cut -d = -f 2`""</item>"; done
export D="<vbox><entry editable=\"true\"><variable>E</variable></entry>
<combobox><variable>C</variable>"$I"</combobox><button ok></button></vbox>"
eval `gtkdialog3 --program=D` && [ "$E" == "" ] && $C || $E

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
acrocosm


Joined: 12 Sep 2010
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun 23 Jan 2011, 08:27    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
Here is a simple script that does a launcher
Code:
#!/bin/ash
for x in `ls /usr/share/applications/*.desktop`; do I=$I"<item>""`grep "^Exec=" $x |cut -d = -f 2`""</item>"; done
export D="<vbox><entry editable=\"true\"><variable>E</variable></entry>
<combobox><variable>C</variable>"$I"</combobox><button ok></button></vbox>"
eval `gtkdialog3 --program=D` && [ "$E" == "" ] && $C || $E


ah some interesting stuff you can do. Can you add auto-complete to that, with case indifference and even better, picking adjacent letters from the whole word as long as the order is correct? dmenu doesn't have that last bit but it would be a nice touch. And finally it's important that you don't have to take hands off keyboard looking for the mouse to click or/run

I'll keep dmenu for now but thanx for showing me the possibilities ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 39 of 47 [700 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1056s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0192s) ][ GZIP on ]