Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 11:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Turbopup Xtreme v1.0 - The fastest dog on Earth
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Author Message
ComputerBob


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Location: The Beautiful Sunshine State

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 12:03    Post_subject:  

synth wrote:
Still a WIP (see changelog)

~90% done.


Oh, so THAT's what the word "WIP" means in the changelog!!! Embarassed

Laughing

_________________
ComputerBob.com - Making Geek-Speak Chic™
News, Views, Information, Software, Help & Fun - Every Day
ComputerBob.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
alex12

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 19:39    Post_subject:  

ComputerBob wrote:
Oh, so THAT's what the word "WIP" means in the changelog!!!

I thought everyone knew that, but then again I know people that don't know what MISC means either. Razz

This is a cool idea synth. Can't wait to try alpha 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigbeck

Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 20:30    Post_subject:  

alex12 wrote:
ComputerBob wrote:
Oh, so THAT's what the word "WIP" means in the changelog!!!

I thought everyone knew that, but then again I know people that don't know what MISC means either. Razz



I know what you mean. To take it one step further,there are even people who do not know what the letters RUDE stand for. Wink Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 21:49    Post_subject:  

puppyiso wrote:
Synth,please don't rush with Alpha3. Even if everybody is chanting, cooking takes time. Don't make half baked cookies..


The more you wait, the better it will get. Turbopup rocks!

I can wait Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alex12

Joined: 29 Jan 2009
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2009, 22:55    Post_subject:  

bigbeck wrote:
I know what you mean. To take it one step further, there are even people who do not know what the letters RUDE stand for. Wink Smile


Wasn't intended that way. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigbeck

Joined: 27 Feb 2009
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 07:23    Post_subject:  

alex12 wrote:


Wasn't intended that way. Sad



My apologies Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ComputerBob


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Location: The Beautiful Sunshine State

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 07:45    Post_subject:  

I remember, back in the early 90s when PCMCIA devices first came out, someone wrote an article that jokingly said that PCMCIA stood for

People Can't Memorize Computer Industry Acronyms.

Laughing

_________________
ComputerBob.com - Making Geek-Speak Chic™
News, Views, Information, Software, Help & Fun - Every Day
ComputerBob.com

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gabe

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 15:31    Post_subject:  

Is alpha 3 still coming? It looks like there was a near-release (turned into a placeholder), and it's been hovering at 95% done for a few days now. Everything alright? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 15:51    Post_subject:  

98% done.

There are two bugs blocking this release.
If you want alpha 3 badly,I can release it right now, but don't complain if anything goes wrong.

Bugs like this one (reported by panzerpuppy):

panzerpuppy wrote:

Code:
tclsh /usr/bin/mtpaintsnapshot.sh


The tcl shell script executes mtPaint and takes a screenshot after a specified delay.
After editing the image and closing the window,mtPaint ends nicely,but the tcl shell script remains active (isn't terminated).

After making 100 screenshots with mtPaint,you get 100 instances of the shell script running in the background,wasting precious resources.


can be bad for your old low-spec box Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gabe

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 17:33    Post_subject:  

100 scripts? Ouch! Take your time then. Smile

Sorry about that.

(Maybe you can upload some WIPs to that site for the diligent to check for and grab?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 17:35    Post_subject:  

One bug squashed,one to go.

gabe wrote:

Maybe you can upload some WIPs to that site for the diligent to check for and grab?


That's a waste of precious bandwidth / server space Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ComputerBob


Joined: 26 Jan 2009
Posts: 57
Location: The Beautiful Sunshine State

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2009, 17:52    Post_subject:  

synth wrote:
One bug squashed,one to go.

Yay, synth!
Cool

_________________
ComputerBob.com - Making Geek-Speak Chic™
News, Views, Information, Software, Help & Fun - Every Day
ComputerBob.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2009, 02:10    Post_subject:  

Turbopup Alpha 3 is out !

See first page for changelog and download links.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2009, 03:29    Post_subject:  

Gebbly wrote:
I especially liked the entry:
"- Less crap,more speed" Smile


Alpha 3 delivers! - 5 MiB* less crap,less RAM usage and faster boot times Very Happy

* = extracted (the ISO size is 2 MiB smaller)

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ags

Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 14
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed 08 Apr 2009, 05:26    Post_subject: Wireless
Sub_title: Refuses to load module
 

I've made a frugal install for testing and I'm stuck when trying to establish wireless network connection for my Fujitsu Siemens Amilo with a Intel 2200BG card. The ipw2200 refuses to load. I've tried to use the Network Wizard from the menu (won't start when clicking desktop icon) and tried to load module from Boot Manager after having made a save-pup. Maybe I'm too accustomed to have everything just work?

I'm running Tuxx' version of Puppy 4.2 without any problem on the same laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 48 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 46, 47, 48 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0909s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0184s) ][ GZIP on ]