Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 17:21
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Pmenu - Puppy Menu Editor
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 19:59    Post subject:  Pmenu - Puppy Menu Editor  

Due to a lot of new posters asking how to remove items from the menu, I hacked together Pmenu.
Click on menu items to remove them from the menu. There is also the option to place them back into the menu.
Pmenu will be found under "Utilities".



Comments / Feedback ?

Edit 3/25/09
Added Pmenu-0.2 for Puppy4.20 only.
Updated Refresh Menu button to use refresh-menus from puppy4.20 which will update the menu and restart jwm.
Pmenu-0.2.pet
Description  Puppy Menu Editor for Puppy4.20
pet

 Download 
Filename  Pmenu-0.2.pet 
Filesize  1.68 KB 
Downloaded  2881 Time(s) 
Pmenu-0.1.pet
Description  Puppy Menu Editor for Pre Puppy4.20
pet

 Download 
Filename  Pmenu-0.1.pet 
Filesize  1.65 KB 
Downloaded  1193 Time(s) 

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox

Last edited by trapster on Wed 25 Mar 2009, 17:22; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dingo


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1415
Location: somewhere at the end of rainbow...

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 21:25    Post subject:  

very interesting, already tried on Puppy 4 I'll try also on puppy 3.01, meanwhile I have linked on dokupuppy

http://puppylover.netsons.org/dokupuppy/programs:menu_editor

with a first localization (sent via mail to me and I have uploaded)

_________________
replace .co.cc with .info to get access to stuff I posted in forum
dropbox 2GB free
OpenOffice for Puppy Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 21:34    Post subject:  

@trapster,
Good initiative and a bad needed functionality. makes puppy much better. Hope it gets into 4.2x and/or up.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 01:33    Post subject:  

Trapster,

Just tested on Pizza Pup 3.0. Very nice! Lotta bang for the buck. Definitely should come standard on Puppy. Good work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
esmourguit


Joined: 17 Nov 2006
Posts: 1288
Location: Sur l'ile aux oiseaux.

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 03:25    Post subject:  

Bonjour,
Just great!
Test in 4.20 RC4. The package did not want to install. I installed manually and it works very well.
Would it be possible for better understanding to display the "comment" of program when moving the mouse over a menu entry?
Cordialement Wink

_________________
Toutou Linux - Pets francisés
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 03:59    Post subject: Re: Pmenu
Subject description: Puppy Menu Editor
 

trapster wrote:
I hacked together Pmenu.
Click on menu items to remove them from the menu. There is also the option to place them back into the menu.
Pmenu will be found under "Utilities".



Comments / Feedback ?

All works in 4.2 pre-Final except the button to Refresh Menus - no action there. Confused

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 06:47    Post subject:  

@ WhoDo:
"Refresh Menu" runs fixmenus. Is that still included in the latest?
Maybe I should have a popup window explaining that the menu is being updated?

@ esmourguit
I'm not sure why it didn't want to install for you.
I would need help on adding mouseover comments but I will look into it.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 07:33    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
@ esmourguit
I'm not sure why it didn't want to install for you.
I would need help on adding mouseover comments but I will look into it.
I have the same issue as esmourguit.MSG: couldn't extract to it's directory as it should, or something the like.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 07:42    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
@ WhoDo:
"Refresh Menu" runs fixmenus. Is that still included in the latest?
Maybe I should have a popup window explaining that the menu is being updated?

Ah, Idea well fixmenus has been heavily revised for 4.2 to improve performance, and is now called as part of the /usr/bin/refresh-menus script which also restarts the window manager to automatically display changes on the menu. Previously in JWM you had to run fixmenus then restart JWM manually to have the changes implemented in /root/.jwmrc.

The newer implementation also has a pop-up explaining what's happening, so that's why it looked to me like nothing was happening when I hit the button in your Pmenu.

The changes mentioned are in RC4 in case you wanted to try it with your program, trapster. I think it's worth including if you can make that adjustment without breaking anything.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 09:18    Post subject:  

Ah, thank you. I'll have to play with this.

What I'd love to see would be something that would let me move entries from one category to another, and create new categories.

For instance, I have stuff in Utilities that really ought to be elsewhere, and I've been poking around in the background to see what's involved in created a Development menu for things like Python, Eclipse, and Emacs.
_______
Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 09:46    Post subject:  

I knew somebody was going to ask about categories.... Rolling Eyes
Again...that one is currently above my head. Please feel free to amend anything to improve it. This was just something I threw out there.

@ WhoDo
I'll look into the fixmenus when I get a chance.
I have been using this in 4.10 and have not tried it in 4.20RC4 yet.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 12:29    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
I knew somebody was going to ask about categories.... Rolling Eyes
Again...that one is currently above my head. Please feel free to amend anything to improve it. This was just something I threw out there.

@ WhoDo
I'll look into the fixmenus when I get a chance.
I have been using this in 4.10 and have not tried it in 4.20RC4 yet.


well get off your butt, your holding up the release Smile
actually its a few days away. Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 12:32    Post subject:  

Job comes first, then family, then my (puppy) time.
Not necessarily in that order...LOL

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 12:36    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
Job comes first, then family, then my (puppy) time.
Not necessarily in that order...LOL


yes I know the feeling all to well Wink , If you don't say have the 'refresh' fixed in say 1 day or so, maybe WhoDO, or I could fix it for you so it gets into the final.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DMcCunney

Joined: 02 Feb 2009
Posts: 897

PostPosted: Wed 25 Mar 2009, 16:18    Post subject:  

trapster wrote:
I knew somebody was going to ask about categories.... Rolling Eyes
Again...that one is currently above my head. Please feel free to amend anything to improve it. This was just something I threw out there.

I wasn't asking you to do it: merely expressing a wish. Razz

I'm still wrapping my head around the XDG menu system, and your app should be a help in understanding things.

Thanks again!
______
Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [43 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0811s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0039s) ][ GZIP on ]