Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 28 Jul 2014, 17:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 RC4 Deep Thought - Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 30 [449 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 04:28    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

panzerpuppy wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

...and looks nice and clean to boot Smile


Blinky looks like Toys 'R Us and freememapplet is an ugly black rectangle.
The original icons looked way better.


well that wasn't very nice panzypuppy lol
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 05:21    Post subject: Support for e-sata connected devices.
Subject description: MD8818 1GB ram, 2 sta 320GB HDD's
 

Knowing that there is support for sata HDD's I tried 420RC4 on my Desktop (see subj description)

Install method frugal with Lin'N'Win.

The 320GB sta HDD connected internally is recognized and used to do the install.

The second 320GB HDD is insalled in a bay of the PC through a e-sata connector.
This HDD isn't seen by puppy.
Is there a way to correct this? A matter of lacking kernel support? or other?

Side question:
The sda1 is the windows drive ntfs, which contains the puppy files for boot (same setup as my laptop)
The sda5 is a data partition (vfat) which contains the pup_safe file.

Having 1GB of memory, I suppose the complete pup_420.sfs is copied to ram, as I didn't see that tit was copied to /mnt/home.
But on the desktop I have the sda1 and sda5 icons both mounted with a yellow dot.
How come the sda1 is mounted also? I don't have this on the laptop.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:15    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
@WhoDo: Disregard my former post about using the unpatched xorgwizard. Use the attached copy here instead.

Got it, thanks, PG. Cool

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:19    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
If you want I'll repackage it with gtmoz as backend, with menu links, I'll even go as far as to making a patch for seamonkey so it will be in the Quick launch personal toolbar. But please once again don't make it default homepage.

Relax, ttuuxxx. You're stressing for no good reason. The Puppy Web Desktop never was going to be the home page; just a link from the welcome screen and help pages.

I'd appreciate that patch for Seamonkey to add the Puppy Web Desktop as a button on the Personal Toolbar. It will be much more obvious there for those who enjoy Cloud computing. Thanks.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:21    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
I have been working on integrating parts of the web desktop into the default home page... here is what I have so far
... sorry the games aren't categorized - haven't had time to work on it

I got the download, techo, but couldn't make it overlay the default desktop page. BTW, I've asked ttuuxxx to create a Seamonkey patch that will add the Puppy Web Desktop to the personal toolbar so it is right there and visible when the browser is launched.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:24    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

panzerpuppy wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

...and looks nice and clean to boot Smile


@ttuuxxx: Your 'enhanced' blinky looks like Toys 'R Us and freememapplet is beyond ugly Smile
The original icons looked way better.

Good job, panzer. You've just convinced me to use ttuuxxx's version! Anything you don't like has to be an automatic inclusion!!! Razz

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:31    Post subject: Re: Support for e-sata connected devices.
Subject description: MD8818 1GB ram, 2 sta 320GB HDD's
 

Béèm wrote:
Side question:
The sda1 is the windows drive ntfs, which contains the puppy files for boot (same setup as my laptop)
The sda5 is a data partition (vfat) which contains the pup_safe file.

Having 1GB of memory, I suppose the complete pup_420.sfs is copied to ram, as I didn't see that tit was copied to /mnt/home.
But on the desktop I have the sda1 and sda5 icons both mounted with a yellow dot.
How come the sda1 is mounted also? I don't have this on the laptop.

Can't help with the e-sata setup, Béèm, but I think you've answered your own question as to why both sda1 and sda5 are shown as mounted boot (yellow dot).

sda1 has your boot files and so MUST be mounted to boot
sda5 has your pup_save file and MUST be mounted in order to retrieve your configuration at boot (psubdir= ...).

Not knowing your laptop configuration I couldn't say why this appears different but it certainly is logical as you've explained your setup.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 07:32    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

WhoDo wrote:
panzerpuppy wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

...and looks nice and clean to boot Smile


@ttuuxxx: Your 'enhanced' blinky looks like Toys 'R Us and freememapplet is beyond ugly Smile
The original icons looked way better.

Good job, panzer. You've just convinced me to use ttuuxxx's version! Anything you don't like has to be an automatic inclusion!!! Razz

awwwwwwwwww you made me happy WhoDo, I'm Actually starting to live JWM who would of known, especially the new release with rounded windows Smile
Oh Ya WhoDo did you try that other thing I mentioned in a PM?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 08:06    Post subject:  

Hey whodo I just installed the latest version of 'Puppy Web Desktop' and well the transparent menu does not work at all, its way to distracting to see so much text, below, above, and even beside the line your trying to read. If you want me to make it solid just sy so, I'm just trying to make the seamonkey patch as a package for you.
have a look at the default settings below.



Ps also the background black text the wrong colour for a dark blue Sky, It makes it also very hard to read black on dark blue. Then The background goes light with the sand, It would be difficult to put text clearly on this sort of image, the background should be solid. Like one of those tiny stretched ones we have by default on puppy, that would do the trick.
Has anyone given any input to this project? Its the first time I've downloaded so I'm a bit surprised these things haven't been mention yet.
The application itself is excellent, jut needs a bit of work before submission.
ttuuxxx
home.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.57 KB
 Viewed   802 Time(s)

home.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:01    Post subject: Re: Support for e-sata connected devices.
Subject description: MD8818 1GB ram, 2 sta 320GB HDD's
 

WhoDo wrote:
Béèm wrote:
Side question:
The sda1 is the windows drive ntfs, which contains the puppy files for boot (same setup as my laptop)
The sda5 is a data partition (vfat) which contains the pup_safe file.

Having 1GB of memory, I suppose the complete pup_420.sfs is copied to ram, as I didn't see that tit was copied to /mnt/home.
But on the desktop I have the sda1 and sda5 icons both mounted with a yellow dot.
How come the sda1 is mounted also? I don't have this on the laptop.

Can't help with the e-sata setup, Béèm,

I just downloaded upup015 and installed it.
To my surprise, I can access all the partitions of the second 320GB HDD. So there is a way of supporting, but I don't know how.
Didn't look into details about unpup yet
Whodo wrote:
.
but I think you've answered your own question as to why both sda1 and sda5 are shown as mounted boot (yellow dot).

sda1 has your boot files and so MUST be mounted to boot
sda5 has your pup_save file and MUST be mounted in order to retrieve your configuration at boot (psubdir= ...).

Not knowing your laptop configuration I couldn't say why this appears different but it certainly is logical as you've explained your setup.
My laptop has a ntfs partition sda1 and I use the same Lin'N'Win method. The second partition is vfat as well and is sda2.
The difference is in the memory size. The laptop has only 256MB and probably due to this the pup_420.sfs is automatically copied to /mnt/home (sda2) If this isn't done boot fails on this machine.
So I will copy by hand the pup_420.sfs to /mnt/home of the desktop (sda5)
I'll let know what happens with the yellow dot.

BTW, I don't use psubdir= in neither of the two machines.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:05    Post subject: Re: Support for e-sata connected devices.
Subject description: MD8818 1GB ram, 2 sta 320GB HDD's
 

Béèm wrote:
two machines.

Hey Beem I've never had any issues with my 750G, 500G, 320G,X2 sata2 hard drives with puppy, do you think maybe its the cable, try swapping cables around and see what happens ?
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:10    Post subject:  

hey WhoDo here's the patch for puppy web desktop, just extract the html file to /root/.mozilla/default/n44rjsz7.slt/bookmarks.html <---(hidden folder) and copy overtop the default one.
nice and simple then you'll have it in the personal toolbar.
ttuuxxx

Ps the program has to be installed for it to work.
patch.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  patch.tar.gz 
Filesize  988 Bytes 
Downloaded  254 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:27    Post subject:  

Hey WhoDo I repackaged the latest Puppy web desktop with a menu item in menu/setup/
It didn't have one earlier.
home-v1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  home-v1.pet 
Filesize  16.88 KB 
Downloaded  261 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:37    Post subject:  

this is a minor thing but needs to be noted.

i just started up rc4 and tried to view it from the eyes of someone brand new to linux coming from windows...this is tough to do but is necessary for a new distro especially in these times. We are going to have a lot more Windows refugees coming over than ever before..

Anyway, on the very first help page that you click on at startup it has the html firstboot page that comes up...

On that page, one thing it says is, "When you get online, the web browser home page has many more links." Well, the home page is Google.

I know that line is designed for the last home page and the one listed in the /usr/share/docs area as home, right? I actually prefer google myself, but for those that are just coming over and are trying to follow instructions, that may be confusing...

I'll continue to check... Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 09:40    Post subject:  

steve_s wrote:
this is a minor thing but needs to be noted.

i just started up rc4 and tried to view it from the eyes of someone brand new to linux coming from windows...this is tough to do but is necessary for a new distro especially in these times. We are going to have a lot more Windows refugees coming over than ever before..

Anyway, on the very first help page that you click on at startup it has the html firstboot page that comes up...

On that page, one thing it says is, "When you get online, the web browser home page has many more links." Well, the home page is Google.

I know that line is designed for the last home page and the one listed in the /usr/share/docs area as home, right? I actually prefer google myself, but for those that are just coming over and are trying to follow instructions, that may be confusing...

I'll continue to check... Cool


Yes thats a great point, good call, That page would be easy to fix Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 30 [449 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1047s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]