Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 23:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4.2 RC4 Deep Thought - Bugs & Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 30 [449 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 19:27    Post subject:
Subject description: xorg.conf commented-out line
 

(ref)@PG on p17.9

Haven't tried rc4 on the i686 yet, but it's been going on with Xorg for awhile now.

Not just Nvidea (twin ATIs on the i686 and the AGP hooked up to two crts does an odd Xorg thing - even though only one display is on) ..

Yep, anyone that has the maus ptr go 'off' the screen hopefully has figured out that xorg.conf line and why it needs commenting out (if they have two monitors plugged into the card and not really set up for Xorg and/or Xinerama and/or whatever it takes to do twin displays properly in Puppy). It's been happening all through the 4.20 series and even in Gray's 4.13 NOP with Xorg - I was just so amazed to have Xorg work on the i686 machine at all that I forgot to mention it perhaps ..

What I used for a temporary solution ('til one comments that line out) is simply to Alt+F1 to get a mainmenu, then dirkey to run up/down - voila, the pointer's back on your dirkey'd selection (it works in Jwm anyhow, sometimes I can't recall Ice-keys).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MinHundHettePerro


Joined: 05 Feb 2009
Posts: 848
Location: SE

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 19:59    Post subject: Re: Over shading on desktop backgrounds !  

.
_________________
Celeron 2.8 GHz, 1 GB, i82845, many ptns, modes 12, 13
Dual Xeon 3.2 GHz, 1 GB, nvidia quadro nvs 285

Slackos & 214X, ... and Q6xx
Nämen, vaf.... ln -s /dev/null MHHP

Last edited by MinHundHettePerro on Sat 16 May 2009, 07:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 20:17    Post subject: Re: Over shading on desktop backgrounds !  

MinHundHettePerro wrote:
Tui wrote:
I have included a screenshot of what I am on about, is this fixed
for final release?
What script do I need to change now to fix this problem?

Thanks Tui


@Tui

The shadows you are referring to stem from a feature called "BLING" Smile (or eye candy), which is more obvious and look much nicer with a non-gray background.
However, if you wish to rid your desktop from the shadows, do the following:

1) The shadow on the face of the analog clock: Menu>Desktop>Pwidgets - tiny desktop apps >> Plugins>Clock_analog... > set Clock_analog to use another skin than JQ8lite.png. > Apply > Cancel > Apply > Quit

2) The vertical background-shadow: Menu>Desktop>Pwidgets - tiny desktop apps >> Plugins>Sidebar set widgets background... > Remove > Quit > Apply > Quit

Cheers/
MHHP


Thanks MHHP!

Embarassed Sorry Tui!

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 20:36    Post subject:  

Thanks MHHP,
With the exception of the clock, RHS is now fixed!

I changed the clock to the yellow theme, but the half shadow is still there !

What's next to change ?

Thanks Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 20:41    Post subject:  

Tui wrote:
Thanks MHHP,
With the exception of the clock, RHS is now fixed!

I changed the clock to the yellow theme, but the half shadow is still there !

What's next to change ?

Thanks Tui


The Shadow is part of the clock! You can get lots more clockskins but you must be able to put them in ¨/root/.pwidgets/clockskins¨ and they will show up when you use the plugin as MHHP suggested. I hope that helps.

You can see my sig ¨BLING bla bla ...¨ for links to clockskins

Have fun! Smile

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
straypup

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 20:49    Post subject: Thanks  

Thanks to ttuuxxx for the blinky-freememapp. Works great on my setup even when i make mistakes (I AM trying to learn ),
Two questions,,
Is there a way to revert back to originan drop down menu for shut down?
I was just beginning to get a grip pn how to use xarchive, noe I have to learn the differencies in xarchiver. Is there a tutorial avalible anywhere.
Thanks Smile stray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jayargent

Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 23:07    Post subject:
Subject description: xorgwizard
 

@Pizzasgood:

I commented the line in xorg.conf as you instructed and now xorg works for me in both 4.1.2 and RC4. WONDERFUL!!!!

I also checked out xorgwizard.mo That file does not seem to be in 4.1.2
so I just removed the " and tested it. That fixed the "DONE" screen. I then looked at the file and figured out I needed to adjust the line lengths of the text to fix the screen previous to that. I was able to make it a lot better although still not perfect.

Thanks so much for the xorg troubleshooting lesson and the fix.

@WhoDo

Here is the file with the edited xorgwizard.mo for testing.
xorgwizard-412-loc.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard-412-loc.tar.gz 
Filesize  24.52 KB 
Downloaded  396 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 23:54    Post subject:  

Cool. To modify /usr/sbin/xorgwizard to do that automatically, I just needed to find the following chunk of code (at about line 400 in RC4):
Code:
    *Screen1*Right?Of*Screen0*) ALINE="#$ALINE" ;;
   esac
  fi
  # add line to section (if we've come this far...)
  TEMPSECTION="$TEMPSECTION\n\t$ALINE"
 done <<_END2
$(echo "$ASECTION" | tr '%' '\n')
_END2

And insert this after the 'fi' and before the '# add line to section':
Code:
  #Comment out any lines for screens beside Screen0
  ALINE="$(echo "$ALINE" | sed 's/\s*Screen\s*[1-9]*\s*"Screen[1-9]"/#&/')"

So that the end result looks like this:
Code:
    *Screen1*Right?Of*Screen0*) ALINE="#$ALINE" ;;
   esac
  fi

  #Comment out any lines for screens beside Screen0
  ALINE="$(echo "$ALINE" | sed 's/\s*Screen\s*[1-9]*\s*"Screen[1-9]"/#&/')"

  # add line to section (if we've come this far...)
  TEMPSECTION="$TEMPSECTION\n\t$ALINE"
 done <<_END2


@WhoDo: Disregard my former post about using the unpatched xorgwizard. Use the attached copy here instead. It is an updated copy of the /usr/sbin/xorgwizard from RC4. So it has had both of the patches. The effects of the first patch now won't do anything unless the user manually uncomments the second Screen line in the Server section, so they don't hurt anything. At the absolute worst case, they provide a nonfunctional template section for dual-screen users to tweak into something usable.
xorgwizard.tar.gz
Description  Localized /usr/sbin/xorgwizard script, with both of my patches included.
gz

 Download 
Filename  xorgwizard.tar.gz 
Filesize  14.57 KB 
Downloaded  340 Time(s) 

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib


Last edited by Pizzasgood on Sun 22 Mar 2009, 23:56; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4335

PostPosted: Sun 22 Mar 2009, 23:54    Post subject:  

I have been working on integrating parts of the web desktop into the default home page... here is what I have so far
... sorry the games aren't categorized - haven't had time to work on it
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   84.99 KB
 Viewed   1056 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

home.pet
Description  made using rc3
pet

 Download 
Filename  home.pet 
Filesize  16.68 KB 
Downloaded  343 Time(s) 

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
SouthPaws

Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 00:05    Post subject: JWM
Subject description: full-screen bug
 

From Barry's Blog
http://www.puppylinux.com/blog/?viewDetailed=00614


Posted on 23 Mar 2009, 10:14 by kirk
Re: full-screen bug
I think HairyWill/Patriot nearly fixed it. The remaining problem is that the task bar remains visible with full-screen Flash videos.

Posted on 23 Mar 2009, 10:31 by kirk
Re: full-screen bug
Just downloaded Joe's nightly build. The Full screen bug IS fixed and the task bar problem is gone! Smile Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 01:44    Post subject:  

Hey WhoDo I just read that Technosaus said 'I am uploading a test for default home page replacement for 4.2' about his Puppy Web Desktop. Thats not going to be the homepage is it? Come On, we don't need another heated debate again do we, really it a dam web application, not a browser homepage, actually it could be a quick launch on the taskbar next puppy forum and puppy.ca. But theres no way that everytime you open a browser you need to look at that by default, Google is what I use and most of planet uses also. a
link on the Personal Toolbar is all we need. Or better yet what would be even way better just have a new desktop icon and have it open with /usr/local/bin/gtkmoz thats a better browser for it due to you'll have more screen viewing.
Please don't make that a default homepage. Its useless to anyone who compiles. Or anyone who actually just wants to surf the net. Its more of application then a browser homepage. Its bad enough we had to put up with Puppy's old default homepage. What about people running live? They are forced to see that every time you boot up.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=287039#287039

If you want I'll repackage it with gtmoz as backend, with menu links, I'll even go as far as to making a patch for seamonkey so it will be in the Quick launch personal toolbar. But please once again don't make it default homepage.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 01:53    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

straypup wrote:
Thanks to ttuuxxx for the blinky-freememapp. Works great on my setup even when i make mistakes (I AM trying to learn ),
Two questions,,
Is there a way to revert back to originan drop down menu for shut down?
I was just beginning to get a grip pn how to use xarchive, noe I have to learn the differencies in xarchiver. Is there a tutorial avalible anywhere.
Thanks Smile stray


Hey WhoDo Here's the Proof That my version of Blinky+Freememory is more stable on older pc's Smile
ttuuxxx
and looks nice and clean to boot Smile
blinky.png
 Description   
 Filesize   57.75 KB
 Viewed   946 Time(s)

blinky.png


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 02:01    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

ttuuxxx wrote:

Hey WhoDo Here's the Proof That my version of Blinky+Freememory is more stable on older pc's Smile
ttuuxxx
and looks nice and clean to boot Smile


Looks better..

Another thing is that I noticed that jwm themes mostly using outlined windows? (except Deepthougth theme) ..it's very easy & more beatiful if we change that in my opinion (just a thought)..

/root/.jwm/themes/blabla-jwmrc:

<WindowStyle>
<Font>DejaVu Sans-12</Font>
<Width>3</Width>
<Height>22</Height>
<Active>
<Text>black</Text>
<Title>#FFFFFF:#CE9E84</Title>
<Corner>#9C794A</Corner>
<Outline>#bbbbbb</Outline>
</Active>
<Inactive>
<Text>black</Text>
<Title>#FFFFFF:#EED2B4</Title>
<Corner>#F7CEB5</Corner>
<Outline>white</Outline>
</Inactive>
</WindowStyle>

well maybe not all grey & white for each theme..should try which color suits best

Thanks
jwm_outline.pet
Description  if anybody wants it (my color style that is)
pet

 Download 
Filename  jwm_outline.pet 
Filesize  1.73 KB 
Downloaded  347 Time(s) 
outline_original.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   7.77 KB
 Viewed   936 Time(s)

outline_original.jpg

outline_grey&white.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.84 KB
 Viewed   932 Time(s)

outline_grey&white.jpg


_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 03:56    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

libsndfile needs an update. The latest version is 1.0.19 (March 2, 2009):

changelog wrote:

1.0.19: HUGE number of minor fixes


http://www.mega-nerd.com/libsndfile/

Last edited by panzerpuppy on Mon 23 Mar 2009, 04:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Mon 23 Mar 2009, 04:23    Post subject: Re: Thanks  

ttuuxxx wrote:

...and looks nice and clean to boot Smile


@ttuuxxx: Your 'enhanced' blinky looks like Toys 'R Us and freememapplet is beyond ugly Smile
The original icons looked way better.

@trio: The windows look much better with that color tweak

Last edited by panzerpuppy on Mon 23 Mar 2009, 04:31; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 30 [449 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, ..., 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1154s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]