Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 17:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Can't delete print job: Error: client-error-forbidden
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2009, 04:06    Post subject:  Can't delete print job: Error: client-error-forbidden  

A couple of other people have reported this problem, but I haven't seen a solution. When I try to delete a print job using the cups web interface, I get the message
Code:
Error:
client-error-forbidden


I know they can be deleted other ways, but can anyone using the standard CUPS in Puppy 4.x actually successfully delete a print job using the CUPS web interface?
If so, is there anyone using hplip who can?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1828
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2009, 17:48    Post subject:  

disciple,

I haven't manage to get this to work in CUPS either but this works.

To delete all print jobs from the console type "lprm -"

Not sure if this does though.

To delete a particular job type "cancel(1) for job number 1.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 19 Feb 2009, 00:31    Post subject:  

So it looks like a bug...
The CUPS dotpup package that we used to use by Pakt or someone worked fine Sad

I wonder if this patch would fix it http://adam.rosi-kessel.org/weblog/2004/12/31/linux

Or maybe it is this. I'm not at home ATM, so I can't check if that section is in the config file...

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 20 Feb 2009, 21:57    Post subject:  

Yes, that's the problem - stupid design Smile
You can cancel jobs if you add
Code:
AuthClass User
to the <Location /printers> section of /etc/cups/cupsd.conf, although it means you have to login Sad I wonder if it is possible to somehow login automatically...

Pakt's dotput didn't have this problem, so maybe it had that patch applied.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 03:12    Post subject:  

Darn - no, leafpad doesn't seem to be able to print now... what's wrong with these CUPS people?
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 21:16    Post subject:  

Yup, wrestling with the same problem here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 22:33    Post subject:  

Disciple, what do you think about this:

Quote:
User
Examples

User lp
User guest

Description

The User directive specifies the UNIX user that filter and CGI programs run as. The default user is _lp.

Note:

You may not use user root, as that would expose the system to unacceptable security risks. The scheduler will automatically choose user nobody if you specify a user whose ID is 0.


There's a User root at the top of cupsd.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 22:51    Post subject:  

Yes, I did notice that, but I don't think it is connected with our problem.

The old cups dotpup worked perfectly, and had the same cupsd.conf as in Puppy 4.x, so I'm guessing it had that patch applied to fix this.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10821
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 21 Feb 2009, 23:17    Post subject:  

try this
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=15331
Just install it, then in the menu you'll have 2 new frontends for cups, One will allow you to monitor jobs, cancel current, cancel all jobs etc.

Menu/System/GTKLP
Menu/System/GTKLPQ
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 00:46    Post subject:  

I patched cups-1.1.23 to fix that. A pet package is here:

http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/kirk/cups-1.1.23p.pet

Try it booting up ram only and installing it. Just in case your dog explodes or something else horrible happens Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 01:04    Post subject:  

Thanks for the help, both of you. But I'm always curious about why something is wrong before just applying a patch. Can you tell me?

Obviously it is trying to authenticate when it shouldn't. I've tried AuthType=None, and AuthClass=Anonymous in every Location, each alone, and both together, with no effect. I've also tried to add location /jobs and used both, again with no effect. every time I try something new I just get in Cups error log:

Code:
E [21/Feb/2009:23:54:31 -0500] Unable to open /etc/cups/passwd.md5 - No such file or directory
E [21/Feb/2009:23:54:31 -0500] cancel_job: "" not authorized to delete job id 1 owned by "root"!


I do stop and restart CUPS with every change, and even reboot to make sure.

Nothing affects its behavior.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 01:16    Post subject:  

Well, here's a workaround that seems simpler than the web interface.

If you want to cancel job number 1, just type:

Code:
cancel 1


in the console.

Not too hard to remember that one. Confused

EDIT: I now see smokey mentioned that one early on Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 03:11    Post subject:  

Quote:
But I'm always curious about why something is wrong before just applying a patch. Can you tell me?

Read about it in one of the links I posted at the top - basically the CUPS people decided it was too insecure to be able to delete jobs anonymously... rather than putting the onus on network administrators to configure things securely if they want security, they just made it impossible to make it insecure Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1141
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 13:38    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reference, Disciple, I see it now, under the "here" in your post which is a bug report.

Actually the report was closed because the bug was supposedly fixed in Cups 1.20.

But we seem to have it here in a later version, so I'm wondering if they did solve it, but inadvertently re-enabled it in this version? What version in the dotpup worked?

Unfortunately, because the issue is closed, no further comments can be added to this particular issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6447
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 22:53    Post subject:  

That was a debian bug report - the way I read it the bug was fixed in Debian's Cups package, not in the upstream CUPS.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [26 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]