Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 21:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Puppy locks up
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 08:21    Post subject:  Puppy locks up  

Hi. I've had a problem recently with Puppy locking up for no obvious reason, accompanied by both the Caps Lock and Scroll Lock lights flashing and a whirring sound which usually (i.e. in other distros I've used) means that the CPU is working at 100% capacity.

When this happens, nothing works including the keyboard and the only answer is to turn the machine off and start again (I keep a spare copy of the Puppy save file in case this happens but it's still inconvenient). It doesn't appear to be self-correcting either.

Anyone got any ideas about why this is happening and what I can do about it? I'm using Puppy Dingo but I've seen it happen in Puppy 2.17 as well.

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyluvr


Joined: 06 Jan 2008
Posts: 3186
Location: Chickasha Oklahoma

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2009, 03:01    Post subject:  

Very Happy Hello,
Its not a Puppy thing, or even a Linux thing...See these...
http://www.google.com/search?client=opera&rls=en&q=caps+lock+and+scroll+lock+lights+flashing&sourceid=opera&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8
Over 30,000 returns...LOL... thats a big bug.....

_________________
Close the Windows, and open your eyes, to a whole new world
http://puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/puppyluvr/
Puppy Linux Users Group on Facebook

Puppy since 2.15CE...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2009, 03:48    Post subject:  

I was about to say it looks like a Colonel Panic. But after Puppyluvr post, it seems better to ask:

Well are you using Opera?

I've seen similiar problems when devices fall out and come back, or don't come back, such as controller issues. I've seen similiar problems on older DMA which can be corrected by turning DMA off in the BIOS setup and on the kernel command line.

If none have other ideas, I guess the ball is back in your court.

Thoughts?

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Wed 18 Feb 2009, 04:17    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll look into it. For the moment I've gone back to an older version of Puppy (2.0) and given it a large swapfile to work with, and it seems to be OK for the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Fri 20 Feb 2009, 14:27    Post subject:  

I'm a bit nervous about mucking about in the BIOS btw, apart from setting the order of priority of various devices at bootup (CD, floppy etc.); I think it'd be easy to set something you don't mean to and have all sorts of problems.

Anyway, so far so good. With a 620 MB swapfile Puppy 2.17 is working well.

Er, it was; it locked up again when I had four windows open. Oh well, a good reason to keep a spare savefile about the place (it only takes up 512 MB).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Sun 22 Feb 2009, 19:07    Post subject:  

I've actually tried to lock it up now, opening every application I can think of until, Conky showed 176 MB of Ram and 63 MB of swap - and still no lockup. On the other hand, I've seen lockups at around 95 MB of Ram and 50 MB of swap. I suspect it's more to do with CPU activity than memory but that's harder to control unless I turn off some useless processes like klogd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0493s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]