Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 23:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
woof alpha1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [66 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 07:52    Post subject:  woof alpha1  

I'm having a go with Woof Alpha 1 as I write this.

I tried a debian build actually running in Lenny. The 0setup script script completed but with a warning that xorg-common_ doesn't exist and suggested that I alter the package list. Is it a matter of simply deleting this entry in the package list or should I try to find it somewhere in a repository and leave the package listing alone?

I then tried switching to an Ubuntu build and using Puppy 4.1.2Retro as the environment. 0setup completed OK and also the 1download script seemed to complete OK as well.

I'm running the 2createpackages script just now. It is giving a warning that the strip command cannot be found. Is this bad news?

I'll post a forum message later if I succeed with building an ISO

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 08:59    Post subject:  

OK just completed the build as per the last post.

The ISO built ok as an Ubuntu-based system - 102MB

Unfortunately X would not start. So I can't see whats going on.

I'm just about to download Debian 5 Lenny final that has just been released.

I'll have another go soon - maybe with an Arch or Slackware build. I think it's going in the right direction though. Needs a few things sorting out - it's only an Alpha 1!

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 09:21    Post subject:  

Ok, I'm halfway or more thru '1download'... using arch, was default (for you Tronkel too?) but that is what I wanted anyway... keep you posted

EDIT: the packages are HUGE in arch! 28M for printing????

EDIT 2: right now 'gutenprint' is 18M, so far 46M on printing!!!!! Sheesh! (1 min after my first edit)

EDIT 3: So far my 'woof' dir is 147 M, I assume it is uncompressing as it goes, hope so! (5 min later)

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1104
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 09:33    Post subject:  

01Micko wrote:

Quote:
Ok, I'm halfway or more thru '1download'... using arch, was default (for you Tronkel too?)


Yes, Arch seems to be the default in this version. I think Arch is the most recent build that Barry has been working on, so he has probably just left it as the default.

Please post a forum message as to how your build went.

If Woof turns out to be successful, I reckon it could obsolete all previous Puppy versions. It will also go even higher up the Distrowatch ratings as well. Puppy is sitting at no 11 today, and Debian is at no 5. Maybe Puppy will end up around 5th or 6th quite soon.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 09:36    Post subject:  

Yes I'll post results within 24hrs

I believe in woof!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 09:45    Post subject:  

hmm tried an Arch build myself but got a long list of failures in 0setup. Did you have to go back and fix a lot in your arch build or did it work out first time?
if the former how did you resolve?

thanks

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 09:49    Post subject:  

Yeah about 10 failures, I did the WRONG thing and carried on, hoping to install .pets or other over the failures... we'll see if it is wrong.
_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 12:13    Post subject:  

after a bit of investigation it seems like those things with a numerical suffix were the problem e.g.
Code:
atk-1
 binutils-2
 cairo-1
 coreutils-6
 cvs-1
 dialog-1
 gcc-4
 gettext-0
 groff-1
 gtk2-2
 libao-0
 man-1
 perl-5
 perl-5
 poppler-0
 python-2
 xorg-server-1

I edited DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-arch removing the suffix for those entries, leaving only the hyphen. 0setup seemed to like this.
Whether this was the correct thing to do, time will tell as 1download is nearly finished
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 16:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
after a bit of investigation


OK Paul gonna try that Smile
. . . nope the package is physically missing

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 22:23    Post subject:  

paulh177 wrote:
after a bit of investigation it seems like those things with a numerical suffix were the problem e.g.
Code:
atk-1
 binutils-2
 cairo-1
 coreutils-6
 cvs-1
 dialog-1
 gcc-4
 gettext-0
 groff-1
 gtk2-2
 libao-0
 man-1
 perl-5
 perl-5
 poppler-0
 python-2
 xorg-server-1

I edited DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-arch removing the suffix for those entries, leaving only the hyphen. 0setup seemed to like this.
Whether this was the correct thing to do, time will tell as 1download is nearly finished

The reason for the number on the end is it prevents Woof from downloading and using a whole lot of extra Arch packages. In the case of Python, I only wanted the main Python package which is named something like 'python-1.2.3-i686.pkg.tar.gz', but there if you look in the Archo repo you will also find an enormous number of packages named like this: 'python-<modulename>-5.6.7-i686.pkg.tar.gz'.

I made lots of changes to the scripts in the last few days, but only did a complete build test for Slackware.

Something must be broken in 1download when the "part-filename" has a number on the end. It did work before, so I have done something that has messed it up.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 22:30    Post subject:  

I'll checkout this problem of "part-name" packages with a number on the end, for example 'atk-1', not getting downloaded.

I'll get onto it tonight and upload the fixed script(s).

Note, don't "fix" it by taking off those numbers in DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-arch, otherwise you'll get an enormous number of extra packages downloaded, plus bigger live-CD and devx.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 22:42    Post subject:  

Until I upload the fixed scripts, for anyone testing Woof right now, edit the variable in DISTRO_SPECS file and change "arch" to "slackware".

After making a whole heap of changes to the scripts, the Slackware build was the only one I tested before uploading alpha1.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 15 Feb 2009, 23:20    Post subject:  

Quote:
change "arch" to "slackware".


OK going for that Smile
The previous Arch download directory I have deleted (not much HD space) but I suppose for the future it might have been worth keeping if intending to create an Arch Woof . . .

This time got:

Quote:
ERROR: packages-tgz/acl-* does not exist.
Please find a package that matches, place it in packages-tgz,
then press ENTER key to try again:


So will try the download again and hopefully the missing file will be picked up/downloaded

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 16 Feb 2009, 01:43    Post subject:  

OK, I ran "1download" using arch and the packages on the list are missing. Can I download them manually? Can I use .pets? Is the version number important? I didn't remove the trailing digits.

Obviosly I can't run "2createpackages" or I'll end up with a broken woof.

Guess I'll go hunt the packages on Arch, and Paul, you 500M download! Glad I didn't edit those entrys in the file, almost did!

Hmmmm Tronkel. xorg-server? On the list! No sorry you are not using "arch"

Ok, got the packages from arch repo, edited PKGS_SPECS_TABLE in DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS by removing all -1 or-2 pr whatever in the "list", ran "0setup", no complaints, skipped "1download", I already got everything, (nothing missed, I hope), am running "2createpackages" right now. I got a 1.8GHz athlon with 512 ram and started at 16:49 uc+10. I expect it to take around for hours going by Barry. See you some time after 9pm Wink

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 16 Feb 2009, 08:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Mon 16 Feb 2009, 03:36    Post subject:  

Barry:

Just to be clear, it was 0setup that complained about the list of packages I quoted.

btw, I started running 2createpackages but had to stop partway through -- tried a restart to see if it would pick up where it left off but it seemed to start over from the beginning. Might be worth seeing if it can be done in a future release?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [66 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1234s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0422s) ][ GZIP on ]