PupFlux, PupFluxLite & now PupFlux421

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#166 Post by aragon »

guys, afaik the shutdown problems are due to a code-change in wmpoweroff, wmreboot,...

not on puppy right now but will try to post a workaround later.

aragon

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#167 Post by aragon »

so here we are again. test this

1. open /usr/bin/wmpoweroff in a text editor.
2. edit line 30 ff

Code: Select all

#w003
CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
to this

Code: Select all

#w003
#CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
#kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
killall X
sleep 1
exec killall -9 X
3. Save the file
4. Test poweroff

If this works, apply the patch also to wmreboot and wmexit.

aragon

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#168 Post by steve_s »

aragon wrote:so here we are again. test this

1. open /usr/bin/wmpoweroff in a text editor.
2. edit line 30 ff

Code: Select all

#w003
CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
to this

Code: Select all

#w003
#CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
#kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
killall X
sleep 1
exec killall -9 X
3. Save the file
4. Test poweroff

If this works, apply the patch also to wmreboot and wmexit.

aragon
Thanks, Aragon! I'll give this a run....

User avatar
`f00
Posts: 807
Joined: Thu 06 Nov 2008, 19:13
Location: the Western Reserve

#169 Post by `f00 »

mmhm..

As a wm dilettante, I'd find that I needed to ungracefully 'kick' my mod of plogout with ctrl+alt+bs (and then I rediscovered the 'endlines' thing for wmpoweroff, wmreboot and startwm with recent pups) - it's even nicer if there is a wmexit file as well ..

.. keep on a-rockin' me, baby …

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

#170 Post by Shep »

aragon wrote:so here we are again. test this

Code: Select all

#CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
#kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
killall X
sleep 1
exec killall -9 X
Those 5 lines were already present, though the first two
were not commented out. So I commented them out,
but it made no difference. Still didn't poweroff.

I'm using dpup477 on a PIII

Thanks for trying. :wink:

aragon
Posts: 1698
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:18
Location: Germany

#171 Post by aragon »

Shep wrote:
aragon wrote:so here we are again. test this

Code: Select all

#CURRENTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
#kill -9 `pidof $CURRENTWM`
killall X
sleep 1
exec killall -9 X
Those 5 lines were already present, though the first two
were not commented out. So I commented them out,
but it made no difference. Still didn't poweroff.

I'm using dpup477 on a PIII

Thanks for trying. :wink:
shep,

yes the lines are allready present, but it was lighter to display it in that way...

to be a little clearer on what issue 'could' be solved with my workaround:

a) could be solved
you use poweroff (reboot,...) from the menu and nothing happens, because X doesn't close. if you shutdown from cli, everything works as expected.

b) could NOT be solved
your pc shuts down except last step. often a problem with acpi...

aragon

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#172 Post by steve_s »

aragon wrote:
Shep wrote: yes the lines are allready present, but it was lighter to display it in that way...

to be a little clearer on what issue 'could' be solved with my workaround:

a) could be solved
you use poweroff (reboot,...) from the menu and nothing happens, because X doesn't close. if you shutdown from cli, everything works as expected.

b) could NOT be solved
your pc shuts down except last step. often a problem with acpi...

aragon
Ah; yeah, when I try (without your changes) from cli it shuts down but doesn't turn off...so this wouldn't fix that, hmmm...I still need to test it though...

Shep
Posts: 878
Joined: Sat 08 Nov 2008, 07:55
Location: Australia

#173 Post by Shep »

Shep wrote: I'm using dpup477 on a PIII

Code: Select all

# ls -l /proc/apm /proc/acpi 
ls: cannot access /proc/acpi: No such file or directory
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 0 2010-03-11 17:26 /proc/apm
:?

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#174 Post by steve_s »

If anyone cares :D I'm hacking on Lupu 5.1.1 and have fluxbox running on it. It will take a while if it is at all possible to strip and clean, etc., but just wanted to mention that I'm playing with it right now.

If I can pull it off I'll start another thread...

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#175 Post by James C »

I'm still running a PupFluxLite install........ ready to try out a new version. :)

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#176 Post by dejan555 »

Hey Steve, if you want fluxbox on lupu try my packake I made for dpup. it already has menu generator for puppy "Refresh menus" and option to change wallpaper from menu + fluxconf: fluxbox-1.1.1-i486-dpup.pet
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#177 Post by steve_s »

See, I knew I was behind on the game... :D Nice, dejan! I'll get that one going as it looks more stable...

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#178 Post by steve_s »

Oh, dejan you rock! Man that looks good!

Forgot how easy it is to add stuff to the menu...added Hide or Show desktop icons courtesy of forum member "seeker," from here.

Thanks to dejan's work it greatly expedites things. I'm going to play with the menu and strip out jwm and all I can and change a couple of things then I'll post an iso...hopefully in a week or sooner... 8)
Attachments
fluxbox-screenie1.jpg
(53.73 KiB) Downloaded 995 times

User avatar
dejan555
Posts: 2798
Joined: Sun 30 Nov 2008, 11:57
Location: Montenegro
Contact:

#179 Post by dejan555 »

Glad it worked Steve 8)
BTW, here's a pet with some choosen styles that I packed also few of them that I made and Azenis theme for puppy:

10FluxStyles.pet
puppy.b0x.me stuff mirrored [url=https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_Mb589v0iCXNnhSZWRwd3R2UWs]HERE[/url] or [url=http://archive.org/details/Puppy_Linux_puppy.b0x.me_mirror]HERE[/url]

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#180 Post by steve_s »

dejan555 wrote:Glad it worked Steve 8)
BTW, here's a pet with some choosen styles that I packed also few of them that I made and Azenis theme for puppy:

10FluxStyles.pet
Nice! 8) Thanks!

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#181 Post by steve_s »

Well, I'm really close...custom boot image, hacked away on the menu, themes, images, looks great, very fast, etc...then the pc I was using today: complete hard drive crash! Awesome...today was spent being data recovery guy... :? Almost got it totally back, though...

Anyway, have had some issues getting it to start in fluxbox...at first, had to make sure /etc/windowmanager wasn't getting changed...xwin fluxbox is the only thing that will start it...I'm going to try modifying /root/.xinitrc to exec xwin fluxbox...any suggestions/comments on that would be helpful.

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#182 Post by steve_s »

Gotta have /etc/windowmanager and /root/.xinitrc both set with startfluxbox, that fixed it.

But now wmexit, wmreboot, restartwm and wmpoweroff all give me this weird message and don't work...ugh...something about kill then giving options for that...something in the script. I'll try and figure that out and/or post back the error message...

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#183 Post by steve_s »

Pupflux 5.1.1 is here.

User avatar
James C
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu 26 Mar 2009, 05:12
Location: Kentucky

#184 Post by James C »

steve_s wrote:Pupflux 5.1.1 is here.
Grabbed it and posting from it now........live pfix=ram.Just from a brief live run so far everything looks good. I'll run it a while and report back.Great so far though. :)

User avatar
steve_s
Posts: 1595
Joined: Mon 26 May 2008, 13:29
Location: Austin, TX, USA
Contact:

#185 Post by steve_s »

James C wrote:
steve_s wrote:Pupflux 5.1.1 is here.
Grabbed it and posting from it now........live pfix=ram.Just from a brief live run so far everything looks good. I'll run it a while and report back.Great so far though. :)
Sweet! Great, James, and get that other thread goin' by postin' on there once you have more of an opinion on it...thanks!

Post Reply