Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 03:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
PupFlux, PupFluxLite & now PupFlux421
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 11 of 13 [192 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
omskates


Joined: 03 Sep 2009
Posts: 257
Location: TriCities, WA

PostPosted: Sun 22 Nov 2009, 20:51    Post subject:  

Rupp wrote:

I just posted this http://pastebin.ca/1682424 for someone in irc. Thats the pupflux menu. I know what you wanna do but I prefer to edit by hand anyway. To me its easier and it actually helped me learn more.
Thankyou, and yes I do too but my editing was not familiar with this. I'll read through for comprehension, comparison, and make a backup of original file. Thankyou Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 18:03    Post subject:  

I might have missed it but my PupFlux won't shut down the normal way. It just sits there with a black screen. Could be my laptop but i don't know. My Puppy 4.2.1 works without a single hitch.

If I go to "restart" in the flux menu I can type "poweroff" and it shuts down. What can I do to fix it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Feb 2010, 18:06    Post subject:  

walter90 wrote:
I might have missed it but my PupFlux won't shut down the normal way. It just sits there with a black screen. Could be my laptop but i don't know. My Puppy 4.2.1 works without a single hitch.

If I go to "restart" in the flux menu I can type "poweroff" and it shuts down. What can I do to fix it?


I am finding that 4.3.1 is having issues with some of my 'puters in that regard. I've found that typing from terminal "wmpoweroff" frequently will shut it down. In other words, I think it is the Puppy version that the more recent Pupflux is based on relative to the hard ware...

I'm open to suggestions from the masses on that one...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Rupp

Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 08:40    Post subject:  

n/t
Last edited by Rupp on Mon 05 Apr 2010, 03:57; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 10:00    Post subject:  

Rupp wrote:


I tried to make my own PupFLux 4.31 right after it came out and I had the same problem so I gave up. I thought it was just me having the problem.


Rupp


Nope, not just you, and not just Pupflux. For example, I got a P4 laptop from someone recently, ran the latest MacPup on it (based on 4.3.1) and it has the same issue: it will shut everything down, but not turn the computer totally off. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2686
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 10:10    Post subject:  

Ah that, yeah try booting with acpi=off
Or just push the power button when it says "System halted"

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 17:52    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Ah that, yeah try booting with acpi=off
Or just push the power button when it says "System halted"


Mine doesn't say "system halted". It just is black. Will it do any harm to press the power switch in that case?

And yes, my MacPup Foxy does something similar so it must be Puppy 4.3 at the root of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2686
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 04 Feb 2010, 18:08    Post subject:  

not sure if it's safe if it shows black screen.
try "wmpoweroff" command from console or exit X with ctrl-alt-backspace then type poweroff

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Feb 2010, 15:40    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
not sure if it's safe if it shows black screen.
try "wmpoweroff" command from console or exit X with ctrl-alt-backspace then type poweroff


Ok. Thanks a lot! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
walter90


Joined: 25 Aug 2009
Posts: 278
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Feb 2010, 15:40    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
not sure if it's safe if it shows black screen.
try "wmpoweroff" command from console or exit X with ctrl-alt-backspace then type poweroff


Ok. Thanks Very Happy

edit: Sorry, Can someone please delete this post?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Thu 18 Feb 2010, 09:35    Post subject:  

walter90 wrote:
I might have missed it but my PupFlux won't shut down the normal way.

I'm not using Pupflux, but have that same problem with other puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Tue 02 Mar 2010, 15:59    Post subject:  

The illustrious CatDude just sent me this pm about mirrors for Pupflux and Pupfluxlite:

Hello steve

I hope you don't mind, but i took the liberty creating a directory steve_s in the members section at asia,
and put a copy of pupflux421.iso into it.

The directory shows at both
http://puppylinux.asia/members/steve_s/
http://puppylinux.ca/members/steve_s/

I am sure that you already know the Username & Password.

...

P.S
I have also moved the location of your pupfluxlite.iso
so you may wish to edit this post
to point at the new location:
http://puppylinux.asia/members/steve_s/PupFluxlite/pupfluxlite.iso
http://puppylinux.ca/members/steve_s/PupFluxlite/pupfluxlite.iso
.

Thanks, CatDude! Cool I'll edit that post later but wanted to get this posted asap... Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1301

PostPosted: Tue 02 Mar 2010, 16:16    Post subject: acpi=force?  

Shep wrote:
walter90 wrote:
I might have missed it but my PupFlux won't shut down the normal way.

I'm not using Pupflux, but have that same problem with other puppies.
Have either of you tried adding the kernel boot parameter "acpi=force" to either isolinux.cfg, syslinux.cfg or the grub menu.lst kernel line, as appropriate for your method of booting? You can probably test this by pressing F2 at boot to get a chance to enter "puppy acpi=force" when booting from the CD. If it works, you can use isomaster to edit the appropriate file and create a new iso image you can burn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rupp

Joined: 29 Aug 2009
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu 04 Mar 2010, 09:19    Post subject: Re: acpi=force?  

n/t
Last edited by Rupp on Mon 05 Apr 2010, 03:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Fri 05 Mar 2010, 01:41    Post subject: Re: acpi=force?  

prehistoric wrote:
Shep wrote:
walter90 wrote:
I might have missed it but my PupFlux won't shut down the normal way.

I'm not using Pupflux, but have that same problem with other puppies.
Have either of you tried adding the kernel boot parameter "acpi=force" to either isolinux.cfg, syslinux.cfg or the grub menu.lst kernel line, as appropriate for your method of booting? You can probably test this by pressing F2 at boot to get a chance to enter "puppy acpi=force" when booting from the CD. If it works, you can use isomaster to edit the appropriate file and create a new iso image you can burn.

I have tried all combinations acpi=force/on/off (simply because I
have no idea what these are about Rolling Eyes ) and none made any
difference. I happen to be using using Dpup477 on a PIII.
Everything seems to shut down except the PSU and leds. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 11 of 13 [192 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0153s) ][ GZIP on ]