Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 07:45
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Newyearspup 02 Micro, Mini, Midi, and Maxi RC10
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 29 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 30 May 2009, 17:45    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Béèm wrote:
But the real show-stopper is, that altho I selected the Belgian azerty keyboard, I am not in it, but have some qwerty keyboard.
How can this be solved?


Do the german/french one work for you?
You can activate them in the "settings" menu.
(keymap DE, keymap FR).
Mark
No the German doesn't work.
The french does work except the dead keys, which are proper to the Belgian keyboard.
I am typing in NYP now, so as long as I don't have to type some special characters, it's ok.

So the show-stopper remains.
I installed the mini and it's nice.

Hope the keymap for the Belgian keyboard can be available for selection on boot.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch

Last edited by Béèm on Mon 23 May 2011, 04:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 01:04    Post subject:  

Accented characters occur in a wide range of languages. No surprise that there are companies wanting to sell font packs for the devil's OS. However, for those who understand these things (not me!) it really shouldn't be so difficult to work out a key combination once the ASCII look-up code is known. A useful list is given in :
http://tlt.its.psu.edu/suggestions/international/bylanguage/welsh.html#winalt
In principal, any key can be (re)defined to show any symbol or character, then it just needs one of the universal drivers which were originally all based on Unix. It was so much easier in 8-bit. It always surprises me how few Brits know that CTRL-ALT-4 produces the euro symbol, even in W95 and even in the UK where the £sterling still reigns supreme! (Well almost, at least it did till ~1900).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 01:27    Post subject:  

Bernard,
do you get an error when you type:
setxkbmap -layout be

That keymap is
/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be

Your selected keymap is stored in the file:
/etc/keymap
It should be "be.map".

The keymap is loaded from /root/.xinitrc, with the command:
Code:
#wow: (custom 4.11 puplet)fix keyboard layout (Xorg 7.4)
setxkbmap -layout `cat /etc/keymap | cut -f1 -d.`


So somewhere here must be the error.
Just to be sure: you use xorg, not xvesa?

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 02:50    Post subject:  

OK, Mark - hopefully one problem solved for Béèm. Now some folks will be calling for the circumflexed 'y' and 'w' -ŷ and ŵ, which, of course can have vowel sounds in all languages, {apart from those pronouncing 'w' as 'v' (German(!) and others more directly linked to our mutual Sanskit heritage)}.
In this case, we are asking for ASCII 0373 & 0375.
How to do it?

Interestingly, these characters can be copied over from the above link, as well as accented Béèm from his posting.
Haven't czech-ed (sorry about that irresistible pun) the Czech hooked characters, but I guess the little circle-over ones work in Opera, at least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 04:59    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
Bernard,
do you get an error when you type:
setxkbmap -layout be

That keymap is
/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be

Your selected keymap is stored in the file:
/etc/keymap
It should be "be.map".

The keymap is loaded from /root/.xinitrc, with the command:
Code:
#wow: (custom 4.11 puplet)fix keyboard layout (Xorg 7.4)
setxkbmap -layout `cat /etc/keymap | cut -f1 -d.`


So somewhere here must be the error.
Just to be sure: you use xorg, not xvesa?

Mark

Thank Mark for your attention.
I am in Xorg, sure of it.
keymap says: be-latin1.map (as selected on first boot)
But I am still in some qwerty layout
setxkbmap -layout be doesn't give an error.
Now I am in a Belgian layout but without dead-key support. So I can't make a o umlaut.
So it's more comfortable.

As the alpha6 be-latin1 works, I copied the be map to NYP but when doing the setxkbmap cmd I get a loading error.
In NYP pup_ro2 I found a be-latin1.map, but I am not sure where to put it.
I copied it to /usr/X11R7/lib/X11/xkb/symbols/be and issued the command setxkbmap -layout be-latin1, but got a load error also.

So the dead-key issue remains.

Other then that, after the session with NYP I powered down. But the PC doen't power off, probably due to the acpi=off parameter on boot.
Annoying, but workable.
However, I wonder what I will discover of other functionality not workin due to acpi=off.

Bernard

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1693
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sun 31 May 2009, 13:53    Post subject: No Sound  

I have a saved version of RC7....and the soundcard is detected, and alsa mixer works fine

I wanted to burn a new LiveCD, and the alsa wizard no longer works.

If I type alsamixer from the prompt I get. snd_ctl_open failed for default: no such file or directory


Was there a fix or work around for this? I can't seem to find it.

Thanks
Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 01 Jun 2009, 03:28    Post subject: gxmessage window popping up  

At intervals I have a gxmessage window popping up with no text and a black background.

Any reason for this?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1693
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 09 Jun 2009, 18:58    Post subject: Audio  

Apparently the alsa wizard doesn't work with some/all of the desktops in RC10.

I have it working on my home PC...and I'd appreciate some hints on how to detect the audio card on other systems.

Thanks
Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wilson

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 15 Jun 2009, 22:40    Post subject: heavily encrypted save files
Subject description: working on NYP but not Unnamed
 

I have experienced an issue regarding heavily encrypted save files. While they work without error on Newyearspup 02 Midi RC10, I found that they do not _load_ with Wow's Unnamed puplet 1.1. I am hoping that maybe Mark or someone else may know why it works on one and not the other, as they are from my understanding similar puplets.

I tried saving from Unnamed 1.1 as a heavily encrypted save, but found it would not load completely after reboot. The system loads to the point of requesting the password, but after I enter the password it indicates "Can't mount file, press Enter key to try again, or any other char then Enter for f.s. check...". After a couple more tries I attempted the f.s. check and it indicates "The superblock could not be read or does not describe a correct ext2 filesystem." and then goes on to suggest using "e2fsck -b 8193 <device>".

I first tried this on a SD card as a USB install, but after reaching the error started using frugal installs on an IDE drive on another computer because they are easier to set up and test with. I got the same error trying a heavily encrypted save file with Unnamed 1.1 on a frugal IDE install.

I loaded a vanilla pup 4.1 frugal install and ran the e2fsck -b 8193 on the Unnamed pup_save_crypta.2fs save file. I got the response "Attept to read block from filesystem resulted in short read while trying to open pup_save_crypta-x1.2fs. Could this be a zero-length partition?"

I then tried saving from Newyearspup 02 Midi RC10 on a frugal IDE install as a heavily encrypted save, which loaded successfully after entering the password during reboot. I copied the Newyearspup 02 Midi RC10 pup_save_crypta.2fs file to the Unnamed 1.1 folder and rebooted to Unnamed, but got the same (original) error after entering the password.

I then tried taking the original pup_save_crypta.2fs file from Unnamed 1.1 and copied it to the Newyearspup 02 Midi RC10 folder, and rebooted to Newyearspup. The encrypted save file (all save files named differently) from Unnamed 1.1 loaded successfully to Newyearspup 02 Midi RC10 without error after entering the password.

This lead me to believe that Unnamed is saving the heavily encrypted save file successfully, but is having trouble when trying to load any heavily encrypted save files.

As a curiosity, I ran the e2fsck -b 8193 on the Newyearspup heavily encrypted save file. It also returned the "Attept to read block from filesystem resulted in short read while trying to open pup_save_crypta-x2.2fs. Could this be a zero-length partition?"

So my question is, does anyone know why Unnamed 1.1 would have an issue with loading a heavily encrypted save file, or do you think there was a problem with my testing? If the testing seems correct, is there anything I could do that would allow this functionality with Unnamed 1.1?

-thanks-
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jun 2009, 20:20    Post subject:  

wilson,
I am not certain - you could try to use initrd.gz from newyearspup, if you use a frugal installation. So you would overwrite that from ultrapup (backup first)..
I made some very slight changes, but do not remember, if I added one or two kernelmodules.
Maybe my changes to the startup script cause, that the drive, where your savefile is located, is found.

To check the filesystem of a encrypted file:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=41918

Mark

_________________
my recommended links
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
wilson

Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 17 Jun 2009, 23:10    Post subject:  

Mark, copying the Initrd.gz file from NewYearsPup did the trick. I now have a functioning heavily encrypted save file on my SD card that loads with Ultrapup. Thanks for your help, and thanks for all the wonderful work you have done for the community.

Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sailorbrand

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 346
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 15:37    Post subject:  

ich suche fürs nyp ein sfs oder so, von vbox.

Hab schon viel gesucht aber nix gefunden.

I search for a sfs-file of vbox for my new-year-pup.

help anyone?

_________________
Gruß Michael

Acer Aspire 5730ZG, 4GB Ram, 320 GiG HD, 2,0 Ghz Intel DualCore
nvidia Geforce 9300M GS TurboCache, Puppys & Ubuntu. Vista gelöscht!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 09:18    Post subject: newyearspup 02
Subject description: vbox sfs
 

hi sailorbrand. Try Dingo's site at http://dokupuppylinux.co.cc/programs:emulators
He has vbox 1.5.2 sfs listed there.
Hope it helps Very Happy
elraven
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wow

Joined: 29 Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Location: Peru

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 13:10    Post subject:  

@sailorbrand: pet and sfs http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=285289#285289
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vtpup


Joined: 15 Oct 2008
Posts: 1117
Location: Republic of Vermont

PostPosted: Sun 22 May 2011, 23:43    Post subject:  

Well, This may become my main pup on the Thinkpad T43.

It is basically the latest kernel Puppy that will run ATI Catalyst 9.3, which is the last driver set that ATI produced to cover legacy Radeon boards. Later kernels and later ATI Catalyst versions will not work with a large number of IBM Thinkpads, or probably a lot of other laptops as well.

In fact many earlier versions of the Catalyst driver ALSO don't work with these boards. Apparently some time around version 9.3, ATI decided to support legacy graphics chips, and then abandoned them again.

The T43 and many other Thinkpads used these boards as standard. The Thinkpads in the past therefore have had great difficulty with hardware graphics acceleration in Puppy Linux. This was an impossible problem when running Wine graphic intensive apps like CADs,, games, and simulations. Basically most graphic accelerated stuff crashed on these Thinkpads. Frustrating because that stuff all works on the same computer in Windows XP if you dual boot.

But I finally came across this ATI driver package this week, and MU's New Years Puppy which supports it very well. This puplet is a real life saver for this laptop, and I bet a lot of others using ATI boards. Though I bet most owners don't realize it and put up with a limited graphics capability.

Anyway this pup works great on the T43, and I can now run several CADs, and Google Sketchup (which see) in wine.

I happen to be a meat and potatoes Bary Kauler Puppy Linux user, with no interest in eye candy so I initially had a hard time with this admittedly good looking desktop. But for me everything worked differently, was in a different place than I was used , etc, and that made it feel clumsy and frustrating. I probably wouldn't have felt that way if I'd come to it fresh. But 3 years of using standard puppies made for inflexible habits.

However once I discovered how to restore JWM through the shutdown dialog MU has created, and get drive icons back on the desktop, add Seamonkey, and get ROX back as the main file manager, etc. I started to feel right at home again, and my working speed picked back up. I did keep the wallpaper and a few things, so it still looks new to me.

I had slow download capabilities, and I wanted a pretty stripped down version to build back up with only the things I use. I've had good luck so far. But a couple thngs aren't working well.

I can't find a gtkam/gphoto .pet, and I haven't been able to get a couple different mplayers to work.

I'd appreciate any help in finding .pets for these that will work with this puplet on the Thinkpad.

Thanks again MU for this puplet. I think it should be better known. Looks like it is the best (and only) possible choice for a Thinkpad of this era.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 29 of 30 [441 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 27, 28, 29, 30 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1171s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0239s) ][ GZIP on ]