Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 12 Dec 2018, 10:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Puppy 4..2alpha "Deepthought" Bug Reports and Fixes
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 21 [310 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8683
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 05:44    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote
Quote:
Just unpack the file into a new folder called Guttenprint-5.2.3 and then use dir2pet to pack it again.

Is it really that simple?

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8683
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 06:19    Post subject:  

Hmmmmmmmm,

Made a pet that way WhoDo, didn't work, I didn't think it would. Evil or Very Mad

Now, if you meant extract, configure, make clean, make, (without make install) would that work?

Guess I'll go and see then... if that's what you meant... Wink

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8683
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 07:01    Post subject:  

OK, made a pet after I compliled. Booted pfix=ram. Installed cups (ttuuxxx version), installed the shiny new gutenprint-5.2.3.pet, uh oh, dependency list, 10 as in ten gimp libraries needed. Crying or Very sad
Ok, took the easy way out and installed gimp from the repo, no cigar. Cups doesn't see the driver. Guess I need that tut. Cause I can get it to work if I compile from source. Confused

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 26 Jan 2009, 07:33; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 07:32    Post subject:  

I've been working on icewm plus the shutdown script.
Here's what it looks like, tell me what you think?
ttuuxxx
shutdown.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.59 KB
 Viewed   1118 Time(s)

shutdown.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Mon 26 Jan 2009, 11:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8683
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 07:35    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
I've been working on icewm plus the shutdown script.
Here's what it looks like, tell me what you think?
ttuuxxx

That looks awesome! Very nice work. Smile

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 10:24    Post subject:  

Ok Guys here ya gooooooooooooo
Finally I'm finished with the IceWm package with the new Shutdown menu, parcellite, a wack of scripts, 6 themes, Volume control on the taskbar, pretty much the most tweaked out version of icewm I've ever seen, lol
try it on a version of puppy that doesn't have icewm, like 4.1 and lesser.
Also I'm including another theme, its the Silver xp theme, That I got from freshmeat and then I modded it a bit Smile
ttuuxxx
just install it and restart Xserver
newicewm.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  newicewm.jpg 
Filesize  123.12 KB 
Downloaded  651 Time(s) 
icewm-SilverX.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  icewm-SilverX.pet 
Filesize  52.29 KB 
Downloaded  574 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Last edited by ttuuxxx on Tue 27 Jan 2009, 09:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 22:00    Post subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
I've been working on icewm plus the shutdown script.
Here's what it looks like, tell me what you think?
ttuuxxx


I think it has too many options especially for the newbie. If the plan is to stick with all of those options I would prefer to see it organised into two columns/tabs. The main column/tab would have the standard exit, restart, shutdown, lock and the other column/tab would have everything else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 22:12    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
I've been working on icewm plus the shutdown script.
Here's what it looks like, tell me what you think?
ttuuxxx


I think it has too many options especially for the newbie. If the plan is to stick with all of those options I would prefer to see it organised into two columns/tabs. The main column/tab would have the standard exit, restart, shutdown, lock and the other column/tab would have everything else.


Well yes that's a nice idea, but at this point in time, I'm the furthest thing from being a coder, I did manage to get this working well.Smile If you want to take it to the next step, your more than welcomed to Wink
ttuuxxx

Ps 2 columns would be ok, but tabs are extra mouse clicks and kind of a pain for 9 options when 5 of the 9 options are defaults

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 23:32    Post subject:  

jcoder24 wrote:
I think it has too many options especially for the newbie.
I concur.

Any visual separation will help.

Maybe one row with the real shutdown options and another row with the WM options.

But really, how frequently a normal user flip flop from WMs? Developers I agree, we need to test, but normal users? I think that WM switching should be a configuration option, not a shut down option.

Other than that, looks good with the icons.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2009, 23:54    Post subject:  

Wow guys and I figured that looked perfect and only took about 20hrs to get it working right, LOL ok I'll try to do something. It might take sometime, Since I don't have a clue how to do it, but I'll read up somewhere and see what I can figure out. I figured I was off the hook and could go back to building a browser, oh well
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2009, 03:22    Post subject:  

Ok guys hows about having one called
"Shutdown" with 4 items
-Shutdown
-Reboot
-Exit to Prompt
-Lock System

And another called
Advanced System
-Fixmenus
-Restart Icewm
-Restart with JWM
-Restart X-Server
-Manage Process


ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
growler


Joined: 24 Mar 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Kapiti - New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2009, 04:48    Post subject: Hiawatha and PPLOG not working  

As noted in an earlier post hiawatha doesn't run and therefore PPLOG is also dead in 4.2 alpha 1.

I have been trying to get hiawatha going in 4.2 alpha 1 - I am not sure if WhoDo has decided to ditch it or keep it - for 100k its extraordinary value - if it can be made to work!! The issue appears to be a permissions thing.

hiawatha runs as the user nobody - but curiously making the files and directories under /root/httpd/hiawatha readable and executable by the nobody user still doesn't give nobody the right to read/execute these files. I have all files below /root/httpd/ owned by nobody and in the nobody group. I even chmod -R 7777 /root/httpd

drwxrwxrwx 8 nobody nobody 1024 2008-07-13 11:27 blog
-rwxrwxrwx 1 nobody nobody 37557 2008-07-12 19:02 hiawatha.htm
-rwxrwxrwx 1 nobody nobody 1926 2009-01-27 10:49 index.html

I asked a couple of questions on the hiawatha forum and Hugo's response was:

Quote:

Hugo Leisink
27 January 2009, 09:19
Somehow, the OS is not allowing Hiawatha to read the file. Are you using a security patch on your kernel like grSecurity, AppArmor or SELinux? The message "access denied via filesystem" indicates that the OS is not allowing access. It's not a Hiawatha configuration issue. If you switch to user nobody, can you read the requested file via 'cat'?


If I su to nobody - then indeed I can't read these files??
The kernel is the same as 4.1.2 ... so what gives here?

Sorry guys ... tried to help but stuck. Not sure if this issue will affect other stuff?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2946
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2009, 07:05    Post subject:  

try this (needs a proper cancel button)

your icewm pet includes a lot of extras

my dialog removes the need for your fixmenus2, fixmenus is launched in a console with hold directly from the dialog

There is not really any need to have separate files for icewm2jwm/windowmanager
and jwm2icewm/windowmanager you can simply echo the relevant text directly into /etc/windowmanager from gtkdialog (you can have multiple action elements for a button).

I see you have included the original absvolume as absvolume2. I presume that one works properly with your soundcard. Really I should stop releasing my mods as absvolume and call it something else.
shutdown.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  shutdown.gz 
Filesize  621 Bytes 
Downloaded  574 Time(s) 
shutdown-dialog.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.27 KB
 Viewed   1047 Time(s)

shutdown-dialog.png


_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2009, 07:23    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
try this (needs a proper cancel button)

your icewm pet includes a lot of extras

my dialog removes the need for your fixmenus2, fixmenus is launched in a console with hold directly from the dialog

There is not really any need to have separate files for icewm2jwm/windowmanager
and jwm2icewm/windowmanager you can simply echo the relevant text directly into /etc/windowmanager from gtkdialog (you can have multiple action elements for a button).

I see you have included the original absvolume as absvolume2. I presume that one works properly with your soundcard. Really I should stop releasing my mods as absvolume and call it something else.


Thanks for the help Hairy, I really like it when someone lends a hand:)
The reason why I included that absvolume and called it absvolume2 is because the one that came with puppy 4.2 works on JWM but on icewm it didn't swallow to the taskbar nicely. So I included one that worked in the past Smile No volume control ever works on my motherboards, but I figure it should work on others:)
I'll try your script out and see how it works. Looks nice:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15239
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2009, 07:35    Post subject:  

good work guys - a small point the power down (shutoff button should go at the bottom)

I recently had to close down Puppy from an unusual screen viewing angle
Top or bottom would have been more logical . . .

a very minor point
Basically this is excellent work

Many of us are watching how you developer guys are working and collaborating together

Inspiring Very Happy

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 21 [310 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects » Next Puppy Development » 4.x
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1424s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0363s) ][ GZIP on ]