Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Oct 2014, 05:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
fbpanel 4.3 (Task-Bar with Puppy-menue)
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 16 Nov 2005, 06:49    Post_subject:  fbpanel 4.3 (Task-Bar with Puppy-menue)  

This is a Task-Bar for Windowmanagers without one like oroborus.

Start it from the Dotpups-menue, or add "puppy-fbpanel&" to /root/.xinitrc

Homepage:
http://fbpanel.sourceforge.net/

Screenshot on Puppy:
http://noforum.de/pics/fbpanel.jpg

This is a new version, that includes an automatic menue-generation based on the Program jwm2fbpanel-menu from Rarsa.

If you want to edit the preferences, look in the folder /root/.fbpanel/
Do NOT edit "default", as it will be automatically overwritten.
Instead, use "default-personal" and "default-personal2".

New update:
A new bottom panel with the pager and easy to custimize Quick-launch-buttons now can be shown/hidden by a click on the "gears"-icon.
The Quicklaunch-icons use a configurationfile like this:
Code:
image = /usr/local/fbpanel/resource/mini-sh.xpm
tooltip = Rxvt terminal emulator
action = rxvt


If you want to use the expose-icon, install this dotpup, too: http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2369
fbpanel.pup
Description 
pup

 Download 
Filename  fbpanel.pup 
Filesize  123.13 KB 
Downloaded  939 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 12:33    Post_subject: no  

When I implied that I would use fbpanel with oberous wm,
I meant that if the menu-structure was simplified. Maybe ther is a way for the fbpanel to call on puppy's menu ?
Anybody know a way for this to work ?

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 15:31    Post_subject:  

This is my suggestion
some one with c experience needs to change the menu code in fbpanel to handle jwmrc.
rarsa has already worked with jwm menu and created the jwm2xdg convertor. I have seen joes site the maker of jwm his xdg converter has now been integrated into jwm 1.0.
may be he can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 16:07    Post_subject:  

I haven't had a chance to check on fbpanel.

fbpanel may already have that functionality.

If it does not, of course we could have a look at the code and see how difficult it would be to add a plugin with the XDG menu functionality.

I just checked the project page and there is no reference to how to create plugins. Again, the code may give us the answer.

In any case, Generating the fbpanel menu from the XDG structure should be quite easy.

It would have been easier if the configuration file was XML, I wonder why they decided a C like syntax for the configuration that requires ad-hoc parsing.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Thu 17 Nov 2005, 23:38    Post_subject: great  

Great Job rarsa tell us when you need tester's & question's of course.
_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 02:37    Post_subject:  

OK, here it is.

I'm posting a puppy1.0.6 standard configuration file. It must go to /root/.fbpanel/default to be the default panel.

If you want to name differently, you will need to start fbpanel with the -p option.


I created a small utility to convert a JWM menu to an fbpanel menu.

the only glitch right now is that fbpanel seems to require the full path for the icons. I haven't added that inteligence to the utility so I just added the path manually.

Here is the program (in case you want to try it). The program is not necessary to use the menu, just to regenerate it if you need.
fbpanel-default-config.tar.gz
Description  Extract with:
tar -xvzPf fbpanel-default-config.tar.gz
gz

 Download 
Filename  fbpanel-default-config.tar.gz 
Filesize  5.38 KB 
Downloaded  715 Time(s) 
jwm2fbpanel-menu-src.tar.gz
Description  Extract to an empty folder with
tar -xvzf jwm2fbpanel-menu-src.tar.gz
cd jwm2fbpanel-menu
make
make install
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwm2fbpanel-menu-src.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.17 KB 
Downloaded  681 Time(s) 

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 03:25    Post_subject: ok  

Okay I tried it it works. But it looks as if you edited the fbpanel-menu ?
Unless I am wrong ? Is this your xdg menu thingy ?

Is there a way that people will not have to "make" & "make install"
Or you were just helping out ? If so And I like it I will gladly after errors are solved try and make a fbpanel puppy complete & orboruswm dotpup. Try.

Thanks rarsa.

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 09:37    Post_subject:  

I updated the dotpup.
Now it includes Rarsas new program.
I also added a puppybasic-script, that sets the Paths for the icons and adds a "Restart fbpanel" -Menueentry.

If you want to add it to .xinitrc, use "puppy-fbpanel", not "fbpanel".

Many thanks to Rarsa for his excellent program Exclamation Exclamation
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 10:27    Post_subject: Re: ok  

klhrevolutionist wrote:
Unless I am wrong ? Is this your xdg menu thingy ?
No It is not my xdg menu thingy. I looked at the fbpanel code and it does not have either the xdg functionality or a way to include the output from an external program (as icewm and now jwm do)

klhrevolutionist wrote:
Is there a way that people will not have to "make" & "make install"
Yes, don't do it. I just posted the program as FYI, so you can see how I created the menu. You would not normally need the application, so 99% of the users won't need the program, Actually, I just put it so MU could use it if he wanted to create a different menu for fbpanel.

klhrevolutionist wrote:
If so And I like it I will gladly after errors are solved try and make a fbpanel puppy complete & orboruswm dotpup.
Good.

Note: One of the reasons why I posted the code is because I'm trying to set more time aside to continue with the Network connection wizard. Maybe someone wants to take a look at it and modify it accordingly to use whenever a menu needs to be generated for another wm or panel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 10:39    Post_subject:  

I had a bug in the "Restart fbpanel".

Please install the dotpup again.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 11:12    Post_subject: question ?  

rarsa is there a way to get rid of these virtual desktops ?
I only need the one I am using. I can understand why people need more than the one they are staring at though. Thanks.
Also gonna have to find something better than oroborus it is small but limited compared to others.

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 12:24    Post_subject: Re: question ?  

klhrevolutionist wrote:
rarsa is there a way to get rid of these virtual desktops ?
Just open the /root/.fbpanel/default file with a text editor and remove (or comment out with #) the pager plugin section


Plugin {
type = pager
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 14:15    Post_subject:  

klh, what do you miss with oroborus?

It can be customized by editing /root/.oroborusrc-personal

It is also 100% compliant with my Window-Control:
http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=2592

oroborus has no grafical tools, so they must be added seperately by 3rd-party-developpers.
But it has excellent support of the NetWM/EWMH-specifications from http://freedesktop.org
So you can easily develop tools, especially PuppyBasic is prepared for this.

If you miss something, tell me, and I will try to add it.

Greets, Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 14:23    Post_subject: error  

The first thing I noticed is resizing. I can maximize & minimize
windows and what have you. But can't manually resize windows.
And it might be me but it seems slow. It looks nice with the windows feel and rarsa made magig with fbpanel. One question about fbpanel rarsa. And I migh have already asked. But did you manually edit the menu or use your xdg menu thingy ?

MU will keep looking for other "issues". I am glad to hear that it has extras available by third party dev. So far so good, looks slow, responds nicely has an okay feel to it. Thanks.

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 18 Nov 2005, 14:25    Post_subject:  

you can resize Windows by dragging the corners.
If not, which theme do you use?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0787s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0050s) ][ GZIP on ]