Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 23:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Menu Entry
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 11:45    Post subject:  Menu Entry  

Hi everybody,

When I prepare a pet package (with “tgz2pet” in a console window) like Mobility or Simutrans starting from a .tgz package I think there are problems with dependencies. I try to install it and at the end of the installation Puppy correctly informs there is no menu entry. I scan the system and I find “buttons” Simutrans and Start_Mobility both in “/” and in “/initrd/pup_rw”, but clicking on them the software does not start. Any suggestion? How can I create a proper .pet package with the menu entry as well?Or how can I modify the menu for including new software?

Thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bugman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 2131
Location: buffalo commons

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 18:22    Post subject:  

i am not sure, but possibly the inclusion of a .desktop file would do it?

they go in /usr/share/applications

hopefully someone more qualified than me will have an answer . . .

[edited to note that i was only addressing the menu issue]

Last edited by bugman on Mon 12 Jan 2009, 19:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3355
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 18:39    Post subject:  

Have you tried moving to the directory where the application installed, opening a terminal there and typing the application name?
If the application is missing some dependencies more information should display in the terminal window as to what the application cannot find.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0477s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]