Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 16:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Problems in installing packages
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 11:44    Post_subject:  Problems in installing packages  

Hi,

I use version 4.1.1, and cannot install packages directly. Whenever I click on a .pet package for installing it, Puppy copies it into “/.packages”, but still “packed” in its pet-box and without installing it. For a proper installation I have to go into “/.packages” and click on the pet package again. Then everything goes on smoothly.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 13:17    Post_subject:  

If you look in the menu, an entry for the package is likely to be
there, unless it says otherwise when you installed it.

Have to restart jwm? or x? for it to be there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Mon 12 Jan 2009, 14:08    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
If you look in the menu, an entry for the package is likely to be
there, unless it says otherwise when you installed it.

Have to restart jwm? or x? for it to be there.


Thanks for your answer. Sadly enough there is no trace of any installation, apart from the .pet packages shifted (or copied) to "/.packages"...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 25 May 2010, 06:04    Post_subject:  

Gurglin wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:
If you look in the menu, an entry for the package is likely to be
there, unless it says otherwise when you installed it.

Have to restart jwm? or x? for it to be there.


Thanks for your answer. Sadly enough there is no trace of any installation, apart from the .pet packages shifted (or copied) to "/.packages"...


I manage to install the package only going to "/.packages" and clicking on it... In other words what it should be the "normal" installation process, in my laptop is a mere copying process of the package to "/.packages"... weird...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Tue 25 May 2010, 07:33    Post_subject:  

G'day Gurglin,
You haven't said how you boot Puppy (CD, HDD, USB Stick ?) or anything about your computer system specs.

In any case, I would be running a filesystem check and thinking seriously about re-formatting the Drive and re-installing Puppy. My best guess is that some of your Puppy system files are missing or corrupted.

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Tue 25 May 2010, 16:53    Post_subject:  

Hi looseSCREWorTWO,

Thanks for your answer.

I have Puppy installed on a partition of my 10-year-old Compaq Presario 14XL250. The machine has a Celeron 600MHz chip, 184M RAM + 8 RAM for the Video (64 original + 128 added), Trident Cyberblade video card, Chipset VIA PLE133.

I will follow your advice as soon as puppy 4.3.2 will be available, will test the installation of .pet packages again and will post here the outcome.

Thanks again

_________________
Open Letter to the Open Source Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 09:07    Post_subject:  

G'day,
with those specs you need to create a Linux-Swap partition of about 400mb, which Puppy will use as extra "virtual RAM". Lack of RAM might explain some of your PC's odd behaviour. I would also suggest you try Puppy 421 and 421 Retro, booting from CD in the first instance, to see if one of them works better. I've fixed up a few old PC's lately and found those 2 are very reliable on older hardware.

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-4.2.1-k2.6.25.16-seamonkey.iso

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/puppylinux/puppy-4.2.1retro-k2.6.21.7-seamonkey.iso

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 26 May 2010, 17:14    Post_subject:  

Gurglin wrote:
I will follow your advice as soon as puppy 4.3.2 will be available.
I am finding 432v3 stable. Though there are some more updates for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0639s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0111s) ][ GZIP on ]