Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 12:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
sfs files and a Full install...how to??
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Author Message
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2009, 09:24    Post subject:  sfs files and a Full install...how to??  

Not sure whether this belongs in "Additional Software" or "Beginners Help"...but here goes..

I have a Full install of 412 which I want to keep and not go to frugal.
But..am trying to use some sfs files.

I have seen on this forum that with 2xx it wasn't possible to unionise these sfs files. But also I have seen that others have done this with 4XX.

Always worth experimenting so....

First I downloaded OpenOffice-3.0.sfs and placed it in /mnt/home.
It didn't show up when I went to System>BootManager>Load SFS files and gave the message:

...no SFS files in /mnt/home or wrong _nnn.sfs number....

but then I was not too surprised in a Full install.

Note that the orig file didn't have any version number affixed to it but I still got the message when I changed the file name to

OpenOffice-3.0_412.sfs.

Okay so I then found a script attributed to Dougal:



Code:
modprobe squashfs
mount -o loop filename.sfs /mnt/data
cd /mnt/data
cp -a * /
cd /
umount /mnt/data


Tried it with "filename.sfs changed to
Quote:
OpenOffice-3.0.sfs"


as well as
Quote:
/mnt/home/OpenOffice-3.0.sfs


and also with _412.sfs appended
but after the second line (mount -o .....) I get
" no such file."

As others seem to have done this, at least with Picassa.sfs, can anyone offer some help as it does seem that there is a way.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5032
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2009, 23:07    Post subject:  

Hi davesurrey; Your code shows a " character at the end (don't know if you typed it that way).
Code:
OpenOffice-3.0.sfs"

Also Dougal's script mounts the SFS file at: /mnt/data not: /mnt/home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mr. Maxwell


Joined: 30 Aug 2008
Posts: 215
Location: Nebraska, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jan 2009, 23:07    Post subject:  

Try this thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37113

Near the bottom of the first page you should find the download for sfsinstaller_full-HD.tar.gz. Download it and run it, should work. Be warned however that it DOES NOT uninstall .sfs files.

Hope the helps.

_________________
Super amazing game!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2009, 07:35    Post subject:  

@sunburnt:
The " character in my script is a typo in the thread only. The code was okay (didn't have the " in it) when I tried it in Puppy.

I think I did try putting the sfs in /mnt/data as well as /mnt/home but it's worth trying that again. Thanks.

@Mr. Maxwell:
Thanks for the link. I'll give it a go tonight and report back if successful.
I'm using an experimental install for this so no worries if I goof it up.

Thanks for the help both of you.
Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9145
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2009, 11:55    Post subject:  

When you open a console and type a command, you need to be in the same folder as the .sfs file. Use the "ls" command to verify that you are in the right place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2009, 12:25    Post subject:  

Try creating /mnt/OO3 first, and specify filesystemtype in mount, and flush the buffers with sync before unmounting:
Code:
rm -Rf /mnt/data ##earlier, erroneously typed rmdir /mnt/data
modprobe squashfs
mkdir /mnt/OO3
mount -o loop -t squashfs /mnt/home/OpenOffice-3.0.sfs /mnt/OO3
cd /mnt/OO3
cp -a * /
sync
cd /  ## earlier, erroneously omitted
umount /mnt/OO3
rm -Rf /mnt/OO3 ## earlier, erroneously typed rmdir /mnt/OO3

Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Sat 10 Jan 2009, 00:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2009, 16:19    Post subject:  

@rcrsn51
thanks but I was aware of that.

@SHS
I tried your script. I guess you meant
Code:
rm -Rf
rather than
Code:
rmdir
as the later won't delete /mnt/data unless it's empty.

All worked up to and including sync and the app (I used picasa2.7_400.sfs) loaded fine . But I couldn't unmount either using "umount" from the term or by clicking the file. Had to reboot.

Then tried the same with openoffice-2.2.0.sfs and OpenOffice-3.0.sfs

Same issues as above but both files install by ripping the ar** out of my desktop so much that I can't get it back to default.

Strange as this didn't happen when I used the same sfs files with a frugal install. They could have got corrupted (both of them though??) and I can't find the md5 to check them anymore. You don't have a link for them do you?? Anyone?? Google didn't come up with anything useful.

In general using sfs files with a full install seems much trickier and flakier than I would have hoped for.

SHS , grateful for your help but can you see where the umount may be failing and why it seems to affect the desktop so much when it doesn't in frugal.

Thanks
Dave[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 10 Jan 2009, 00:16    Post subject:  

davesurrey wrote:
...But I couldn't unmount either using "umount" from the term or by clicking the file...

Woops you're right, rm -Rf not rmdir...and, ah, dummie me twice...you can't rm a subdir which you are currently in, as the rxvt window makes it remain in use, therefore not unmountable...see the revised version, above, of my code snippet. Change dir out of /mnt/OO3 into / before you umount /mnt/OO3 Embarassed Rolling Eyes Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 05:10    Post subject: Running OpenOffice from an .sfs file  

For some reason, the boot manager (Puppy 4.2) does not install OpenOffice-3.1.sfs (at least not if it is third in line behind devxx and wine).

There is an easy work around using ROX:

In ROX, go to /mnt/home, click on OpenOffice-3.1.sfs. This automatically makes a subdirectory and unpacks the code. Go to the subdirectory "+mnt+home+OpenOffice-3.1.sfs" and click through to /opt/openoffice.org3/program".

In ROX, drag the icon soffice.bin to the desk top along with any of the icons for individual programs you might wish to start directly (e.g., swrite).

You can now start openoffice by clicking on the dest-top icon.

When you reboot, the icons will display the warning triangle (because the sfs file is not mounted). Simply navigate to /mnt/home in ROX and click on the OpenOffice-3.1.sfs icon and your desk-top icons will come to life (when you pass the mouse pointer over them). You are in business.

Should you wish to unmount openoffice before rebooting, just close the application and click on the OpenOffice-3.1.sfs icon in /mnt/home again.

[Update!]
As I have noted elsewhere,
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=42744&start=15

It is essential to install OpenOffice-3.1.sfs in a directory other than /mnt/home. Otherwise, CUPS will not function.

Last edited by drblock2 on Sat 06 Jun 2009, 09:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2664
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 05:44    Post subject:  

I've made a SFS install script also, it doesn't uninstall files neither, it's simple to use, just right click on sfs file-> "install"

Here's the topic:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40779

there's yet another sfs installer atached there which does uninstall files:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=298284#298284

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 04 Jun 2009, 13:13    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
I've made a SFS install script also, it doesn't uninstall files neither, it's simple to use, just right click on sfs file-> "install"

Here's the topic:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=40779

there's yet another sfs installer atached there which does uninstall files:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=298284#298284


dejan555 when writing these scripts:

Uses his 'noggin;
Knowing what is doing;
Knowing why he is doing it.

================

As for the continuing perpetuation if this advice:

cp -a * /

There is no discussion WHAT the command does, it is
obvious!

Yet, who will step up to the plate and explain WHY?

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peterw

Joined: 19 Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 11:27    Post subject: openoffice sfs versus pet
Subject description: location of a pet package for openoffice3
 

Hi

This may be useful to you.

I to have had problems loading .sfs files for a full install and once I found a script that did it fine but unfortunately, have misplaced it. However, I have located a pet package for openoffice 3 that works fine with puppy 4.2 and puts the start commands in the menu ie In Calculate you get OpenOffice- Calc spreadsheet. You can also drag icons onto the desktop.
The address of the site is http://www.leprichaunproductions.com/evil20071/pet_packages/puppy_4/

It installed fine even though it complained about a lot of missing dependencies. And so far I can't see anything wrong with it. In the past I have used a openoffice 2.4 pet that complained about missing dependencies and that was always ok. Of course you have the ability to uninstall it.

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2009, 20:23    Post subject: Re: openoffice sfs versus pet
Subject description: location of a pet package for openoffice3
 

peterw wrote:


It installed fine even though it complained about a lot of
missing dependencies. And so far I can't see anything
wrong with it. In the past I have used a openoffice 2.4 pet
that complained about missing dependencies and that was
always ok.

Of course you have the ability to uninstall it.



How's that work? The friendly packager didn't test his
work, and uploaded it as a 'job well done'

This isn't the first Puppy package that didn't cut the
muster.

The .pet extension is the only requisite for knowing the
package is faithful?

Do the packagers put their name or handle in the
package? It this even recommended in the packaging
instructions.

How about the possibility that a .pet was package made on
a modified Puppy which already some dependency files
installed earlier?

Is the packager a careful and considerate enough worker
to test his gift on a clean pup_save file to see if it works?

Is this final step even recommended?

If packagers were required to sign the packages, at least
we could learn who's doing it to you and who's doing it for
you.

Bruce

_________________
New! Puppy Linux Links Page
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [13 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0872s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]