Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 06:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Anyone Tried Woof Yet?
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2008, 18:16    Post subject:  Anyone Tried Woof Yet?  

Has anyone tried Woof yet? Or is it too soon to download it to see what it looks like?

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3269
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2008, 20:18    Post subject:  

Yes.
Boots like Puppy but I typed

woof pfix=ram

Puppy type menus.

Plain background.

Seamonkey works fine....actualy pretty quick.

I can mount the drives....but read only.
I forget how you change this in Ubuntu.

This has to be a definite Must Do fix from BK.....please.

Playing MP3 seems to be an issue for me,
but Youtube worked fine.

Overall....extremely fast.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 196
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2008, 20:30    Post subject: Woof  

Per Barry's Blog, Woof is still in the pre-developent stage.

He has requested that if you down load it and find a problem you can wait until the offical release and try it or you can find a way to fix the problem and let him know what it took to do the fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue 30 Dec 2008, 20:33    Post subject:  

I just tried Woof. Worked just like a typical Puppy except for Xfce and its menus.
_________________
Macpup - The beauty of linux | Pritlog - Simple blog app
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2008, 04:05    Post subject:  

Smile Didn't recognise my Nvidia Geforce 7050M video card and no fall back to vesa (hooray)* So it did not run despite running xorgwizard and editing and tweaking etc

*Vesa not possible if using xfce

Should I try it on another machine?
m m m [pondering cructacean] . . .
OK will try on a laptop and report back

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LaneLester

Joined: 14 Sep 2008
Posts: 209
Location: Rural Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Dec 2008, 21:57    Post subject:  

I'm posting this reply from Woof with Firefox 3 (sorry, I just don't like Seamonkey). I also have OpenOffice 3 running from the .sfs that someone posted on here. My outdoor weather station software is running just fine.

Puppy user dinky prepared a .pet of the nVidia 173 driver that my old Geforce 5500 uses. So I'm not having any of the crashes that the lack of that driver used to cause me in other Puppies.

Overall, an excellent alpha.

A couple of tips: Barry mentions somewhere that the XFCE shutdown isn't set up yet. So you have to use Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to exit X and then enter either "reboot" or "poweroff."

If you enter "wallpaper" in the terminal you'll get the program that gives you a large choice of wallpapers.

Lane
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 05:59    Post subject:  

Quote:
you have to use Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to exit X and then enter either "reboot" or "poweroff."


This is not always true. I reported earlier that, on some chipsets (eg SiS), CTRL-ALT-BACKSPACE will immediately shut down all power to the board. This is curious indeed, because these are the same boards for which the conventional shutdown procedures also fails, leaving one at a prompt.

BK showed absolutely no interest in these fairly significant features which I would rank as requiring priority attention since they do not occur with any other distros (apart from those based on Puppy). Great opportunity for one of the coding gurus (like Dougal, tempo or pakt?) to grasp this nettle, perhaps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davec51

Joined: 13 Apr 2006
Posts: 480
Location: Virginia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 10:41    Post subject: Some Experiences with Woof
Subject description: Short List
 

I tried Woof on two machines: A newer HP with 1G RAM and my old Gateway (400mhtz, 256 RAM). The HP booted up fine, went to the internet in a flash, and generally performed well, EXCEPT
1. Mouse wheel didn't work for scrolling
2. NTFS HD was read only.
The older Gateway missed the lack of VESA. I finally got a screen at 800/600 resolution, not really satisfactory.
I like many things about this distro, but I'd better wait for the beta.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 758
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 11:08    Post subject:  

I'm glad to see that someone has started a thread on Woof. It works fine for me and I have added Opera 10. Smile I have also added Bitstream-Vera fonts which look good in Opera.

The only minor problem I have is that my network connection is not saved between sessions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 01 Jan 2009, 11:49    Post subject: Woof  

Did a full install in an empty partition.
gxine doesnt run from desktop icon or menu.
gparted doesnt run beyond initial dialog box
wvdial responds with failed to connect /usr/bin/pupdial line 528 wvdial command not found.
I`m sure there are a lot more but havn`t looked as I couldnt get on the net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4134

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2009, 00:47    Post subject:  

I fixed part of gxine...
go to /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.11/
right click on libmozjs.so
>File 'libmozjs.so'
Link...

change
/usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.11/libmozjs.so <--the file it has
to
/usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.11/libmozjs.so.0d <---the file its looking for

you can solve these errors by running programs from the command line and the using pfind to find the first part of the file... it is a really common problem

still getting errors though - I may need to manually create some blank files that it is looking for in /root

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2009, 04:01    Post subject: gxine  

Thanks technosaurus the fix in gxine worked, but when i clicked off - without testing any music or video it came up with segmentation fault.
I tried pfind, it worked after I changed permissions - reinitialised. I found many instances of pfind files in /tmp, I suppose thats normal.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2009, 08:41    Post subject:  

Yes, I've been playing with woof... and Pwidgets Twisted Evil
woodrast.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   35.52 KB
 Viewed   1262 Time(s)

woodrast.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Last edited by 01micko on Mon 05 Jan 2009, 02:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 562
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jan 2009, 09:58    Post subject:  

Did a manual frugal install to my Armada 3500 (P300, 192mb), but couldn't get past Xorgwizard - 'Test' kept throwing me back to the same screen again. Not had any problems with xorg (1024x768 LCD) on this machine with any other Puppies from series 2,3 or 4.
I noted that keyboard and locale selection seemed quite sluggish for some reason.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3269
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jan 2009, 05:44    Post subject:  

I can mount the drives....but read only.

How do you change this in Ubuntu.

I've read it somewhere on Whirlpool....but yawn ...yawn...
BK did everything for me in Puppy before.

Well Barry...3 days into 2009 and I'm unhappy already.

Might hop on a plane to Melbourne and give my
2 cents of ungratefulness....Ah! feeling better already.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Misc
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0772s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0132s) ][ GZIP on ]